## THIS MEETING RESCHEDULED TO OCTOBER 15, 1998

MEMORANDUM TO:

Cecil O. Thomas, Director

Project Directorate I-3

Division of Reactor Projects - I/II
Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

FROM:

Alan B. Wang, Project Manager Original signed by

Project Directorate I-3

Division of Reactor Projects - I/II
Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

SUBJECT:

FORTHCOMING MEETING WITH REPRESENTATIVE OF

BOSTON EDISON COMPANY (BECo) REGARDING PILGRIM

CORE SPRAY PIPING

DATE & TIME:

October 8, 1998

10:00 a.m. - 11:30 a.m.

LOCATION:

Two White Flint North

Room T-03-C-1 11545 Rockville Pike

Rockville, MD

PURPOSE:

Working level meeting to discuss the core spray piping integrity.

PARTICIPANTS:\*

NRC

BECo

A. Wang

J. Gerety

K. Wichman

S. Roberts

W. Koo

C. Garrow

R. Hermann

S. Brunion

CHECENTER COP

Docket No. 50-293

cc: See next page

CONTACT: Alan B. Wang, NRR

(301) 415-1445

\*Meetings between NRC technical staff and applicants or licensees are open for interested members of the public, petitioners, intervenors, or other parties to attend as observers pursuant to "Commission Policy Statement on Staff Meetings Open to the Public" 59 Federal Register 48340, 9/20/94.

DISTRIBUTION:

See next page

DOCUMENT NAME: G:\PILGRIM\1006TG.NOT

To receive a copy of this document, indicate in the box: "C" = Copy without attachment/enclosure "E" = Copy with attachment/enclosure "N" = No copy

 OFFICE
 LA/PDI-3
 PM/PDI-3
 D/PDI-3

 NAME
 TClark
 AWang
 CThomas

 DATE
 10/02/98
 10/02/98
 10/02/98

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

9810130204 981002 PDR ADOCK 05000293 PDR Boston Edison Company cc:

Mr. Leon J. Olivier
Vice President - Nuclear/Station
Director
Boston Edison Company
Pilgrim Nuclear Power Station
600 Rocky Hill Road
Plymouth, MA 02360-5599

Resident Inspector
U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Pilgrim Nuclear Power Station
Post Office Box 867
Plymouth, MA 02360

Chairman, Board of Selectmen 11 Lincoln Street Plymouth, MA 02360

Chairman, Duxbury Board of Selectmen Town Hall 878 Tremont Street Duxbury, MA 02332

Office of the Commissioner Massachusetts Department of Environmental Protection One Winter Street Boston, MA 02108

Office of the Attorney General One Ashburton Place 20th Floor Boston, MA 02108

Mr. Robert M. Hallisey, Director Radiation Control Program Massachusetts Department of Public Health 305 South Street Boston, MA 02130

Regional Administrator, Region I U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 475 Allendale Road King of Prussia, PA 19406

Ms. Jane Fleming 8 Oceanwood Drive Duxbury, MA 0233

Mr. James Keene Acting Licensing Division Manager Boston Edison Company 600 Rocky Hill Road Plymouth, MA 02360-5599 Pilgrim Nuclear Power Station

Mr. Jack Alexander
Manager, Relations and Quality Assurance
Pilgrim Nuclear Power Station
RFD #1 Rocky Hill Road
Plymouth, MA 02360

Mr. David F. Tarantino Nuclear Information Manager Pilgrim Nuclear Power Station RFD #1, Rocky Hill Road Plymouth, MA 02360

Ms. Kathleen M. O'Toole Secretary of Public Safety Executive Office of Public Safety One Ashburton Place Boston, MA 02108

Mr. Peter LaPorte, Director Attn: James Muckerheide Massachusetts Emergency Management Agency 400 Worcester Road P.O. Box 1496 Framingham, MA 01701-0317

Chairman, Citizens Urging Responsible Energy P.O. Box 2621 Duxbury, MA 02331

Citizens at Risk P.O. Box 3803 Plymouth, MA 02361

W.S. Stowe, Esquire Boston Edison Company 800 Boylston St., 36th Floor Boston, MA 02199

Chairman Nuclear Matters Committee Town Hall 11 Lincoln Street Plymouth, MA 02360

Mr. William D. Meinert Nuclear Engineer Massachusetts Municipal Wholesale Electric Company P.O. Box 426 Ludlow, MA 01056-0426 Mr. Ron Ledgett
Executive Vice President
Boston Edison Co.
800 Boyleston Street
Boston, MA 02199

## DISTRIBUTION for Maeting Notice dated October 2, 1998

## DISTRIBUTION:

HARD COPY

Docket

PUBLIC

PDI-3 Rdg.

OGC

ACRS

Receptionist (OWFN and TWFN)

## E-Mail

- S. Collins (SJC1)
- F. Miraglia (FJM)
- B. Boger (BAB2)
- J. Zwolinski (JAZ)
- T. Clark (TLC1)
- T. Martin (e-mail to SLM3)

OPA (e-mail to OPA)

- K. Wichman (KRW)
- W. Koo (WHK)
- R. Hermann (RAH)
- A. Wang (ABW)
- C. Hehl (CWH)
- B. McCabe (BCM)
- D. Screnci (DPS), Region I

PMNS (Meeting Announcement Coordinator)