

Public Service of New Hampshire

New Hampshire Yankee Division

February 24, 1986 SBN- 951 T.F. B7.1.2

United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, BC 20555

Attention:

Mr. Vincent S. Noonan, Preject Director

PWR Project Directorate No. 5

References:

(a) Construction Permits CPPR-135 and CPPR-136, Docket Nos. 50-443 and 50-444

(b) WCAP-10413, "Steam Generator Tub" Plugging Margin Analysis for the Seabrook Nos. 1 and 2 Nuclear Power Plants"

Subject:

Steam Generator Tube Plugging Analysis

Dear Sir:

In response to Request for Additional Information (RAI) 210.69, it was committed that Westinghouse will provide a report prior to commercial operation describing the tube plugging criteria which will be employed for Model F steam generators. Additionally, Westinghouse will review the current position in the Seabrook FSAR on Regulatory Guide 1.121, "Bases for Plugging Degraded PWR Steam Generator Tubes," to confirm its applicability to the Seabrook plant.

Westinghouse has performed the subject analysis (Reference (b)) in accordance with the recommendations of Regulatory Guide 1.121. Furthermore, it has been confirmed that the current discussion in FSAR Section 1.8 on Regulatory Guide 1.121 is correct and applicable to Seabrook Station.

Should you or your staff have any questions, please do not hesitate to contact us.

8603030118 860224 PDR ADOCK 05000443

J. DeVincentis, Director Engineering and Licensing

Very truly yours,

cc: Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Service List

Bool

William S. Jordan, III Diane Curran Harmon, Weiss & Jordan 20001 S. Street, N.W. Suite 430 Washington, D.C. 20009

Robert G. Perlis
Office of the Executive Legal Director
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, DC 20555

Robert A. Backus, Esquire 116 Lowell Street P.O. Box 516 Manchester, NH 03105

Philip Ahrens, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Augusta, ME 04333

Mr. John B. Tanzer
Designated Representative of
the Town of Hampton
5 Morningside Drive
Hampton, NH 03842

Roberta C. Pevear
Designated Representative of
the Town of Hampton Falls
Drinkwater Road
Hampton Falls, NH 03844

Mrs. Sandra Gavutis Designated Representative of the Town of Kensington RFD 1 East Kingston, NH 03827

Jo Ann Showell, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Environmental Protection Bureau Department of the Attorney General One Ashburton Place, 19th Floor Boston, MA 02108

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510 (ATTN: Tom Burack)

Diana P. Randall 70 Collins Street Seabrook, NH 03874

Richard A. Hampe Hampe and McNicholas 35 Pleasant Street Concord, NH 03301 Donald E. Chick Town Manager Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, NH 03833

Brentwood Board of Selectmen RED Dalton Road Brentwood, NH 03833

Richard E. Sullivan, Mayor City Hall Newburyport, MA 01950

Calvin A. Canney City Manager City Hall 126 Daniel Street Portsmouth, NH 03801

Stephen E. Merrill Attorney General Dana Bisbee, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Office of the Attorney General 25 Capitol Street Concord, NH 03301-6397

Anne Verge, Chairperson Board of Selectmen Town Hall South Hampton, NH 03827

Patrick J. McKeon Selectmen's Office 10 Central Road Rye, NH 03870

Carole F. Kagan, Esquire Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Mr. Angi Machiros Chairman of the Board of Selectmen Town of Newbury Newbury, MA 01950

Town Manager's Office Town Hall - Friend Street Amesbury, MA 01913

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey 1 Pillsbury Street Concord, NH 03301 (ATTN: Herb Boynton)

H. Joseph Flynn Office of General Counsel Federal Emergency Management Agency 500 C Street, SW Washington, DC 20472