

PROD. & UTIL FAC. 50-269/270/287-LR

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

September 24, 1998

DOCKETED

'98 SEP 24 A8:45

Orr

ADUL

OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY

Boards and Parties

35 5 1 SEP 2 4 1998

MEMORANDUM TO:

SUBJECT:

FILINGS TRANSMITTED BY E-MAIL TO THE SECRETARY

Recently, the Office of the Secretary experienced problems with its dedicated e-mail address <u>SECY@NRC.GOV</u>. In an effort to maintain an electronic mailbox for parties filing by e-mail or submitting courtesy copies of filings by e-mail to the Secretary, an alternate mailbox has been created specifically for adjudicatory proceedings. Parties are requested to send electronic submissions intended for the Secretary to the following internet e-mail address: <u>HEARINGDOCKET@NRC.GOV</u>. Although service by e-mail on the Secretary is not expressly required by the 10 CFR Part 2 rules of practice, service on the Secretary in the same manner as service on an Atomic Safety and License Board or Presiding Officer is required under 10 CFR 2.712(d). Parties are reminded, however, that at present any service whether by fax or e-mail on the Secretary should be followed with an original and two conforming copies of the service by regular mail in accordance with 10 CFR 2.708(d).

In addition, the Secretary would appreciate receiving electronic copies of Licensing Board orders routinely provided by e-mail or fax to parties. The Secretary intends to build a collection of filings in electronic form in anticipation of the establishment of an electronic hearing docket for all adjudicatory cases in 1999. The collection will be a reference tool for the Office of the Secretary until the electronic hearing docket is established. Thus, it will not be publically available until that event occurs. Furthermore, the collection will neither replace nor supplement the official docket currently maintained by the Secretary in paper form.

Lorde I. Julian

D502

Emile L. Julian Assistant for Rulemakings And Adjudications

cc: Service lists in the following proceedings:

Hydro Resources	40-8986-ML
Private Fuel Storage	72-22-ISFSI
Yankee Nuclear	50-029-LA
Millstone	50-423-LA & LA-2

9809280092 980924 PDR ADDCK 05000269 G PDR
 Zion
 50-295/304-LA & LA-2

 Seabrook
 50-443-LA & LA-2

 Atlas
 40-3453-MLA-2

 International Uranium 40-8681-MLA-4
 (USA)

 Calvert Cliffs
 50-317/318-LR

 Oconee
 50-269/270/287-LR

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

In the Matter of

DUKE ENERGY CORPORATION

Docket No.(s) 50-269/270/287-LR

(Oconee Nuclear Station, Units 1, 2, and 3)

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that copies of the foregoing JULIAN MEMO TO B&P RE E-MAIL have been served upon the following persons by U.S. mail, first class, except as otherwise noted and in accordance with the requirements of 10 CFR Sec. 2.712.

Office of Commission Appellate	B. Paul Cotter, Jr., Chairman
Adjudication U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission	Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Mail Stop - T-3 F23
Washington, DC 20555	U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Administrative Judge	Administrative Judge
Richard F. Cole	Peter S. Lam
Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel	Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel
Mail Stop - T-3 F23	Mail Stop - T-3 F23
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission	U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, DC 20555	Washington, DC 20555

Lawrence J. Chandler, Esquire Office of the General Counsel Mail Stop - 0-15 B18 U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555 Paul R. Newton, Esquire Duke Energy Corporation 422 South Church Street Charlotte, NC 28201

Administration Suda

J. MichaelMcGarry, III, EsquireWinston & StrawnNorman1400 L Street, N.W.190 Mountain Cove Rd.Washington, DC20005Mountain Rest, SC29664

Docket No.(s)50-269/270/287-LR JULIAN MEMO TO BAP RE E-MAIL

William "Butch" Clay P.O. Box 53 Long Creek, SC 29658

.

W. S. Lesan P.O. Box 66 Long Creek, SC 29658

Chattooga River Watershed Coalition P.O. Box 2006 Clayton, GA 30525

Dated at Rockville, Md. this 24 day of September 1998

Office of the Secretary of the Commission