JUL 0 7 1988

Docket No. 50-443

License No. CPF%-135

Public Service Company of New Hampshire ATTN: Mr. Robert J. Harrison President and Chief Executive Officer P. O. Box 330 Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Gentlemen:

Subject: Inspection No. 50-443/88-08

This refers to the special safety inspection conducted by Mr. C. Conklin of this office on June 1-2, 1988 at your Seabrook Nuclear Power Station, Seabrook, New Hampshire. Discussions of our findings were presented by Mr. Conklin to Mr. A. Callendrello and other members of your staff at the conclusion of the inspection.

The area examined during this inspection was limited to a review of your Vehicular Alert and Notification System (VANS) to be utilized as the public alert and notification system for the communities within the Commonwealth of Massachusetts as described in the NRC Region I Inspection Report which is enclosed with this letter. Within this area, the inspection consisted of selective examination of procedures and representative records, interviews with personnel, and observations by the inspector.

Within the scope of this inspection, no violations were identified. No reply to this letter is required. Your cooperation with us in this matter is appreciated.

Sincerely,
Original Signed By:
Renald R. Bellamy
Ronald R. Bellamy, Chief
Facilities Radiological Safety
and Safeguards Branch
Division of Radiation Safety
and Safeguards

Enclosures:
1. NRC Region I Inspection Report No. 50-443/88-08

8807200318 880707 PDR ADDCK 05000443 Q PNU

IE 35

cc w/encl:
T. C. Feigenbaum, Vice President, Engineering and Quality Programs W. J. Hall, Regulatory Services Manager
D. E. Moody, Station Manager
P. W. Agnes, Assistant Secretary of Public Safety, Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Employee's Legal Project
Public Document Room (PDR)
Local Public Document Room (LPDR)
Nuclear Safety Information Center (NSIC)
NRC Resident Inspector
State of New Hampshire
Commonwealth of Massachusetts
Seabrook Hearing Service List

bcc w/encl:
Region I Docket Room (with Concurrences)
Management Assistant, DRMA (w/o encl)
D. Haverkamp, Section Chief, DRP
J. Kaucher, Project Engineer, DRP
A. Cerne, SRI
V. Nerses, PM, NRR
W. Travers, NRR
Robert J. Bores, DRSS

Conklin Lazarus Bellamy
6/22/88 6/27/88 6/23/88

Official Record Copy

## Seabrook 1 Service Hearing List

Thomas Dignan, Esq John A. Ritscher, Esq. Rubes and Gray 225 Franklin Street Boston, Massachusetts 02110

Mr. Bruce Beckley, Project Manager New Hampshire Yankee P.O. Box 330 Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Dr. Murray Tye, President Sun Valley Association 209 Summer Street Haverhill, Massachusetts 08139

Robert A. Backus, Esquire Backus, Meyer and Solomon 116 Lowell Street P. O. Box 516 Manchester, New Hampshire 03106

Phillip Ahren, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Office of the Attorney General State House Station Fi Augusta, Maine 04333

Steven Oleskey, Esquire
Office of the Attorney General
One Asburton Place
P. O. Box 330
Boston, Massachusetts 02108

Ms. Diana P. Randall 70 Collins Street Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Richard Hampe, Esquire New Hampshire Civil Defense Agency 107 Pleasant Street Concord, New Hampshire 03874 E. Tupper Kinger, Esq. Assistant Attorney General Office of Attorney General 208 State House Annex Concord, New Hampshire 03301

George D. Bisbee, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Office of the Attorney General 25 Capitol Street Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Diane Curran, Esquire Harmon and Weiss 2001 S Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20009

D. Pierre G. Cameron, Jr., Esquire General Counsel Public Service Company of New Hampshire Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Mr. Alfred Sargent, Chairman Board of Selectmen Town of Salishury, MA 01950

Senator Gordon J. Humphrov ATTN: Mr. Thomas Burack U. S. Senate 531 Hart Senate Office Building Washington, D.C. 20510

Mr. Calvin A. Canney, City Manager City Hall 126 Daniel Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801 Board of Selectmen RFD Dalton Road Brentwood, New Hampshire 03833

Ms. Roberta C. Pevear Town of Hampton Falls Drinkwater Road Hampton Falls, New Hampshire 23844

Ms. Anne Verga Chairman, Board of Selectmen Town Hall South Hampton, New Hampshire 03827

Mr. Angie Machiros, Chairmin Board of Selectme: for the Town of Newbury 25 High Road Newbury, Massachus, tts 0:950

Ms. Rosemary Cashman, Chairman Board of Selectmen Town of Amesbury Town Hall Amesbury, Massachusetts 01913

Honorable Peter J. Matthews Mayor, City of Newburyport City Hall Newburyport, Massachusetts C1950

Administrative Judge
Alan S. Rosenthal, Chairman
Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal
Board
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Administrative Judge
Howard A. Wilber
Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal
Board
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Mr. Owen B. Durgin, Chairman Durham Board of Selectmen Town of Durham Durham, New Hampshire 03824

Administrative Judge Jerry Harbour Atomic Safety and Licensing Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Mr. Guy Chichester, Chairman Rye Nuclear Intervention Committee c/o Rye Town Hall 10 Central Road Rye, New Hampshire 03870

Jane Spector
Federal Energy Regulatory Comm.
825 North Capitol Street, N.E.
Room 8105
Washington, D.C. 20426

Mr. R. Sweeney
New Hampshire Yankee Division
Public Service Company of
New Hampshire
Suite 610, Three Metro Center
Bethesda, Maryland 20814

Mr. Donald E. Chick, Town Manager Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, New Hampshire 03823

Administrative Judge
Thomas S. Moore, Esquire
Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal
Board
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Administrative Judge Emmeth A. Luebke Atomic Safety and Licensing Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D. C. 20555 Edwin J. Reis, Esquire
Office of the General Counsel
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Edward A. Thomas
Federal Emergency Management Agency
442 J. W. McCormack (POCH)
Boston, Massachusetts 02109

Paul McEachern, Esq. Shaines and McEachern 25 Maplewood Avenue Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

J. P. Nadeau Board of Selectmen 10 Central Street Rye, New Hampshire 03870

William Armstrong Civil Defense Director Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, New Hampshire 03833

Anne Goodman, Chairman Board of Selectmen 13-15 Newmarket Road Durham, New Hampshire 03824

Michael Santosuosso, Chairman Board of Selectmen South Hampton, New Hampshire 03827

Stanley W. Knowles, Chairman Board of Selectmen P. O. Box 710 North Hampton, New Hampshire 03862

Norman C. Kantner Superintendent of Schools School Administrative Unit No. 21 Aluani Drive Hampton, New Hampshire 0384 H. Joseph Flynn, Esq. Assistant General Counsel Federal Emergency Management Agency 500 C. Street, S.W. Washington, D.C. 20472

Carol S. Sneider, Esq.
Assistant Attorney General
Office of the Attorney General
One Ashburton Place, 19th Floor
Boston, Massachusetts 02108

Richard A. Haaps, Esq Haaps and McNicholas 35 Pleasant Street Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Allen Lampert Civil Defense Director Town of Brentwood 20 Franklin Street Exeter, New Hampshire 03833

Sandra Gavutis, Chairman Board of Selectmen RFD #1, Box 1154 Kensington, New Hampshire 03827

William S. Lord Board of Selectmen Town Hall - Friend Street Amesbury, Massachusetts 01913

Jerard A. Croteau, Constable 82 Beach Road P. O. Box 5501 Salisbury, Massachusetts 01950

Judith H. Mitzner
Silverglate, Gertner, Baker, Fine,
Good, and Mitzner
88 Broad Street
Boston, Massachusetts 02110

Gary W. Holmes, Esq. Holmes and Ellis 47 Winnacunnet Road Hampton, New Hampshire 03842 Charles P. Graham, Esquire McKay, Murphy and Graham 100 Main Street Amesbury, Massachusetts 01913

Jane Doughty
Seacoast Anti-Pollution League
5 Market Street
Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Mr. Robert Carrigg, Chairman Board of Selectmen Town Office Atlantic Avenue North Hampton, New Hampshire 03870