

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D. C. 20555

NOV 2 9 1978

Docket Nos. STN 50-566 and STN 50-567

> Mr. N. B. Hughes Manager of Power Tennessee Valley Authority 830 Power Building Chattanooga, Tennessee 37201

Dear Mr. Hughes:

SUBJECT: ISSUANCE OF CONSTRUCTION PERMITS FOR YELLOW CREEK NUCLEAR PLANT, UNITS 1 AND 2

Pursuant to the Partial Initial Decision, dated February 3, 1978, and the Initial Decision, dated November 24, 1978, issued by the Atomic Safety and Licensing Board, the Nuclear Regulatory Commission has issued Construction Permits CPPR-172 and CPPR-173. These permits are issued to the Tennessee Valley Authority for the Yellow Creek Nuclear Plant, Units 1 and 2 to be located on a site in Tishomingo County, Mississippi.

A copy of Construction Permits CPPR-172 and CPPR-173 and a related notice, which has been forwarded to the Office of the Federal Register for publication are enclosed.

Sincerely,

Roger S. Boad, Director

Division of Project Management Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Enclosures:

 Construction Permits CPPR-172 and CPPR-173

2. Federal Register Notice

cc w/enclosures: See next page cc: Herbert S. Sanger, Jr., Esq. General Counsel
Tennessee Valley Authority
400 Commerce Avenue
E 11B 33
Knoxville, Tennessee 37902

Mr. M. J. Burzynski, Licensing Engineer Tennessee Valley Authority 470-401 Building Chattanooga, Tennessee 37401

Mr. C. S. Walker Tennessee Valley Authority W9D 199 Knoxville, Tennessee 37902

Mr. R. L. Lumpkin, Jr. CE Power Systems Combustion Engineering, Inc. 1000 Prospect Hill Road Windsor, Connecticut 06095

Ivan W. Smith, Esq., Chairman Atomic Safety and Licensing Board U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D. C. 20555

Mr. Lester Kornblith
Atomic Safety and Licensing Boartd
U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D. C. 20555

Dr. Uscar H. Paris
Atomic Safety and Licensing Board
U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D. C. 20555

Office of the Governor State of Mississippi Jackson, Mississippi 39201

Attorney General
Gartin Building
Jackson, Mississippi 39205

Coordinator Suite 400, Watkins Building 510 George Street Jackson, Mississippi 39201

Director, Office of Urban & Federal Affairs 108 Parkway Towers 404 James Robertson Way Nashville, Tennessee 37219

State Department of Public Health ATTN: State Health Officer State Office Building Montgomery, Alabama 36104

Mr. M. R. Whitehead, President Tishomingo County Board of Supervisors Tishomingo County Courthouse Iuka, Mississippi 38852

Director, Technical Assessment Division Office of Radiation Programs (AW-459) U. S. Environmental Protection Agency Crystal Mall #2 Arlington, Virginia 20460

Mr. John Hagen
U. S. Environmental Protection Agency
Region IV Office
345 Courtland Street, N.E.
Atlanta, Georgia 30308

Mr. Bruce Blanchard, Director Environmental Projects Review Department of the Interior Room 4256 18th & C Streets, N.W. Washington, D. C. 20240

Defense Mapping Agency Aerospace Center (ADL)
St. Louis Air Force Station, Missouri 63118

- 3 - NOV 2 9 1978 Mr. N. B. Hughes cc: Attorney General
Supreme Court Building
Nashville, Tennessee 37219 Attorney General State Capital Montgomery, Alabama 36104 Chairman, Mississippi Public Service Commission 19th Floor, W. Sillers State Office Bldg. P. O. Box 1174 Jackson, Mississippi 39205