Ms. Irene M. Johnson, Acting Manager Nuclear Regulatory Services Commonwealth Edison Company Executive Towers West III 1400 Opus Place, Suite 500 Downers Grove, IL 60515

SUBJECT: EXEMPTION FROM REQUIREMENTS OF 10 CFR 50.60, "ACCEPTANCE CRITERIA FOR FRACTURE PREVENTION MEASURES FOR LIGHTWATER NUCLEAR POWER REACTORS FOR NORMAL OPERATION" - BYRON STATION, UNITS 1 AND 2 (TAC NOS. M95493 AND M95494)

Dear Ms. Johnson:

In response to your request of March 14, 1996, the Commission has issued the enclosed exemption from the requirements of 10 CFR 50.60, "Acceptance Criteria for Fracture Prevention Measures for Lightwater Nuclear Power Reactors for Normal Operation." This exemption permits using the safety margins recommended in the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Boiler and Pressure Vessel Code (Code) Case N-514, "Low Temperature Overpressure Protection," in lieu of the safety margins required by 10 CFR Part 50, Appendix G.

A copy of this Exemption has been forwarded to the Office of the Federal Register for publication.

Sincerely.

15/

George F. Dick, Jr., Project Manager Project Directorate III-2 Division of Reactor Projects - III/IV Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

PDIII-2 R/F

DMatthews

GDick

WRE FILE CENTER COPY

Docket Nos. STN 50-454, STN 50-455

Enclosure: Exemption

cc w/encl: See next page

Distribution:

Docket File PUBLIC

JRoe, JWR EAdensam, EGA1 RCapra CMoore

GHill (4), T5C3 OGC, 015B18 MBoyle, 014-E4 ACRS, T2E26 MDapas, RIII KWichman, 07D03

BMcCabe, 017G21

COCUMENT NAME: BY95493.EXE

To receive a copy of this document, indicate in the box: "C" = Copy without enclosures "E" = Copy with enclosures "N" = No copy

OFFICE	PM: PD3-2	E	OGCHHYPLO	(A) BC ; EMCB	(A)D:NRR
NAME	GDICK: av1	16	Myseing	KWITCHMAN	FMIRAGLIA
DATE	10/21/96	7	10/7/96	19/20/96	10/29/96

9612160008 961 ADOCK 050 OFFICIAL RECORD COP



I. Johnson Commonwealth Edison Company

cc:

Michael I. Miller, Esquire Sidley and Austin One First National Plaza Chicago, Illinois 60603

Regional Administrator, Region III U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 801 Warrenville Road Lisle, Illinois 60532-4351

Illinois Department of Nuclear Safety Office of Nuclear Facility Safety 1035 Outer Park Drive Springfield, Illinois 62704

Document Control Desk-Licensing Commonwealth Edison Company 1400 Opus Place, Suite 400 Downers Grove, Illinois 60515

Mr. William P. Poirier, Director Westinghouse Electric Corporation Energy Systems Business Unit Post Office Box 355, Bay 236 West Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15230

Joseph Gallo Gallo & Ross 1250 Eye St., N.W. Suite 302 Washington, DC 20005

Howard A. Learner
Environmental law and Policy
Center of the Midwest
203 North LaSalle Street
Suite 1390
Chicago, Illinois 60601

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Byron Resident Inspectors Office 4448 North German Church Road Byron, Illinois 61010-9750

Ms. Lorraine Creek Rt. 1, Box 182 Manteno, Illinois 60950 Byron Station Unit Nos. 1 and 2

Chairman, Ogle County Board Post Office Box 357 Oregon, Illinois 61061

Mrs. Phillip B. Johnson 1907 Stratford Lane Rockford, Illinois 61107

Attorney General 500 South Second Street Springfield, Illinois 62701

EIS Review Coordinator
U.S. Environmental Protection Agency
77 W. Jackson Blvd.
Chicago, Illinois 60604-3590

Commonwealth Edison Company Byron Station Manager 4450 North German Church Road Byron, Illinois 61010

Kenneth Graesser, Site Vice President Byron Station Commonwealth Edison Station 4450 N. German Church Road Byron, Illinois 61010