Mr. Bruce Kenyon
President and Chief Executive Officer
Northeast Nuclear Energy Company
P.O. Box 128
Waterford, CT 06385-0128

Dear Mr. Kenyon:

This letter acknowledge receipt of the financial independence certifications from Parsons Power Group Inc. (Parsons) and Northeast Nuclear Energy Company (Licensee) that were required in our May 28, 1997, letter that provided conditional approval of Parsons as the contractor selected to conduct the Millstone Unit 2 Independent Corrective Action Verification Program (ICAVP). The completed financial independence certifications were received from the Licensee's corporate official and from Parsons on June 27, 1997, and June 24, 1997, respectively. The NRC staff has reviewed the certifications and finds them acceptable. With the receipt and acceptance of the financial independence certifications by the NRC staff, no conditions remain on the approval of Parsons as the Millstone Unit 2 ICAVP contractor. This letter provides final approval of Parsons as the ICAVP contractor for Millstone Unit 2.

Please contact Eugene Imbro at (301) 415-1490 if you need any additional information or have any questions or comments.

Sincerely,

William D. Travers, Director Special Projects Office

A P.mc Kee

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

cc: See next page

Distribution:

Docket Files (50-423, 50-245)

PUBLIC SPO R/F SCollins PMcKee DMcDonald

DMcDonald CMarco

To receive a copy of this document, indicate in the box "C" = Copy without attach/encl "E" = Copy with attach/encl "N" = No copy

OFFICE	ICAVP/SPO	С	LA A	C	ICAVP/SPO	ICAVP/SPO	SPØ)9/1
NAME	JANakoski 👌	M	LBerry	h	SReynolds 30-	EVImbro PET	workers for
DATE	7 128 197		7/28/18	7	713:197	811 197	8/1 /97

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

9708040093 970801 PDR ADOCK 05000336

THE FILE GENTER COPY

Northeast Nuclear Energy Company

CC:

Lillian M. Cuoco, Esquire Senior Nuclear Counsel Northeast Utilities Service Company P. O. Box 270 Hartford, CT 06141-0270

Mr. Kevin T. A. McCarthy, Director Monitoring and Radiation Division Department of Environmental Protection 79 Elm Street Hartford, CT 06106-5127

Mr. Allan Johanson, Assistant Director Office of Policy and Management Policy Development and Planning Division 450 Capitol Avenue - MS 52ERN P. O. Box 341441 Hartford, CT 06134-1441

Regional Administrator, Region I U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 475 Allendale Road King of Prussia, PA 19406

First Selectmen Town of Waterford Hall of Records 200 Boston Post Road Waterford, CT 06385

Mr. J. P. McElwain Millstone Unit No. 1 Nuclear Recovery Officer Northeast Nuclear Energy Company P. O. Box 128 Waterford, CT 06385

Deborah Katz, President Citizens Awareness Network P. O. Box 83 Shelburne Falls, MA 03170 Millstone Nuclear Power Station Units 1, 2, and 3

Mr. Wayne D. Lanning Deputy Director of Inspections Special Projects Office 475 Allendale Road King of Prussia, PA 19406-1415

Mr. F. C. Rothen Vice President - Nuclear Work Services Northeast Nuclear Energy Company P.O. Box 128 Waterford, CT 06385

Charles Brinkman, Manager Washington Nuclear Operations ABB Combustion Engineering 12300 Twinbrook Pkwy, Suite 330 Rockville, MD 20852

Mr. D. M. Goebel Vice President - Nuclear Oversight Northeast Nuclear Energy Company P. O. Box 128 Waterford, CT 06385

Mr. M. L. Bowling, Jr.
Millstone Unit No. 2 Nuclear
Recovery Officer
Northeast Nuclear Energy Company
P. O. Box 128
Waterford, CT 06385

Senior Resident Inspector Millstone Nuclear Power Station c/o U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission P. O. Box 513 Niantic, CT 06357

Mr. J. K. Thayer Recovery Officer - Nuclear Engineering and Support Northeast Nuclear Energy Company P. O. Box 128 Waterford, CT 06385

Northeast Nuclear Energy Company

CC:

Mr. M. H. Brothers Vice President - Millstone Unit 3 Northeast Nuclear Energy Company P. O. Box 128 Waterford, CT 06385

Burlington Electric Department c/o Robert E. Fletcher, Esq. 271 South Union Street Burlington, VT 05402

Mr. M. R. Scully, Executive Director Connecticut Municipal Electric Energy Cooperative 30 Stott Avenue Norwich, CT 06360

Mr. William D. Meinert Nuclear Engineer Massachusetts Municipal Wholesale Electric Company P. O. Box 426 Ludlow, MA 01056

Ernest C. Hadley, Esq. 1040 B Main Street P. O. Box 549 West Wareham, MA 02576

Joseph R. Egan, Esq. Egan & Associates, P.C. 2300 N Street, NW Washington, D.C. 20037

Citizens Regulatory Commission ATTN: Ms. Susan Perry Luxton 180 Great Neck Road Waterford, Connecticut 06385

The Honorable Terry Concannon Co-Chair Nuclear Energy Advisory Council Room 4035 Legislative Office Building Capitol Avenue Hartford, Connecticut 05106 Millstone Nuclear Power Station Units 1, 2, and 3

Mr. Evan Woolacott Co-Chair Nuclear Energy Advisory Council 128 Terrys Plain Road Simsbury, CT 06070

Ms. P. Loftus
Director - Regulatory Affairs for
Millstone Station
Northeast Nuclear Energy Company
P. O. Box 128
Waterford, CT 06385

Mr. N. S. Carns Senior Vice President and Chief Nuclear Officer Northeast Nuclear Energy Company P. O. Box 128 Waterford, CT 06385

Mr. Daniel L. Curry
Project Director
Millstone Project
Parsons Power Group Inc.
2675 Morgantown Road
Reading, PA 19607