League of Townsprod. & UTIL FAC. 50- 443 444 - OL

P.O. Box 2120 Hampton, New Hampshire 03842 603-926-0536

DOCKETED

0502

88 FEB 19 A9 46 February 5, 1988

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

. 5630

Sandra Cavutis 603/394-7847 Kensington NH Bill Lord 617/388-1748 Amesbury NA Chairman Lando Zech, and the Commissioners of theoCKETING A DEVICE BRANCH BRANCH SERVED FEB 1 9 1988

InRe: Seabrook Nuclear Power Plant Operating License

Dear Mr. Zech:

J.P. Nadeau 603/436-2288 Rye NH

.

Dean Merchant 603/778-7817 Stratham NH

Roberta Pevear 603/926-6230 Hampton Falls NH

> 8802240042 880205 PDR AD0CK 0500044

> > .

The League of Towns consisting of representatives of Towns and citizen groups within the 10-mile area of Seabrook station, wishes to inform you that it supports those Towns who have not prepared evacuation plans since they have come to the conclusion that the public cannot be protected from a nuclear accident. Those towns who do not and will not participate in the evacuation planning are Hampton, Hampton Falls, Kensington, Rye, North Hampton and South Hampton.

Governor John Sununu, the N.H. Civil Defense Agency and Public Service Co. of N.H. have submitted plans "for these towns" to you, with the intent of taking over the police powers and the authority of the Towns, stating they can act in place of town officials.

We, the League of Towns, reject this takeover of our rights, and we reject the theory that our town officials and citizens can be conscripted in this manner for the use of a private utility.

The League calls on the NRC and the Licensing Board to rule on the side of safety in the Seabrook hearings, in support of the above towns, as the Licensing Board has in the Shoreham case.

cc:	Licensing Board	Very truly yours,
	Washington Delegation	1 × 1 × P ×
Texe	Boxere a Hallow The	Sompton Hought talk
RU	Dean Mexhant	Strathan Cheenland
Deep		
(Kep	Pernand Slenest	Manchester

Towns within the 10 mile Emergency Planning Zone - Seabrook Nuclear Reactor

Amesbury Brentwood East Kingston Exete: Greenland Hampton Hampton Falls Kensington Kingston Merrimac Newbury Newburyport Newfields Newcastle Newton North Hampton Portsmouth Rye Salisbury Seabrook South Hampton Stratham West Newbury

P.O. Box 2120

2/5/88 Hampton, New Hampshire 03842 Page 2. 603-926-0536

Chairman Lando Zech, and the Commissioners of the NRC:

Sandra Cavutia SEABROOK EVACUATION PLANNING BECAUSE PUBLIC CANNOT BE PRO-603/394-7847 TECTED FROM A NUCLEAR ACCIDENT. Kansington NH

Bill Lord 617/388-1748 Amesbury 11A

Dean Merchant 603/778-7817 Strathan NH

J.P. Nadeau 603/436-2288 Rye NH

Roberta Pevear 603/926-6230 Hampton Falls NH

Seclaroch Verauste: 61 PEP B 104 KEI Martins an Gund Mudde Ham N TRI S 14 Laine NH 2 mar 04 allate as SOUTH HAMPTON Towa LLL MARAD 0100 24 ignate Stister nester, als 20 aund 2 anderen N ROCE Lit Sel. Lon

Towns within the 10 mile Emergency Planning Zone - Seabrook Nuclear Reactor Amesbury Brentwood East Kingston Exeter Greenland Hampton Hampton Falls Kensington Kingston Merrimac Newbury Newburyport Newfields Newcastle Newton North Hampton Portsmouth Rye Salisbury Seabrook South Hampton Stratham West Newbury

P.O. Box 2120 Hampton, New Hampshire 03842 603-926-0536

THE LEAGUE OF TOWNS SUPPORT OF TOWNS NOT PARTICIPATING IN

2/5/88

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Sandra Cavutia Chairman Lando Zech, and the Commissioners of the NRC 603/394-7847

603/394-7847 Kensington NH

Bill Lord 617/388-1748 Amesbury MA

Dean Merchant 603/778-7817 Stratham NH

J.P. Nadeau 603/436-2288 Rye NH

Roberta Pevear 603/926-6230 Hampton Falls NH

SEABROOK EVACUATION CLANNING BECAUSE PUBLIC CANNOT BE PRO-TECTED FROM A NUCLEAR ACCIDENT. run, Mar 10 NOIN 11 116 arner monno ew 0 upper Rep tan cla 20 P NH 10 2 NEP 11 NH 03833 57 Westride Exeter loves NA ater 5 NUT Exter, Puturod owell 7 03832

Towns within the 10 mile Emergency Planning Zone - Seabrook Nuclear Reactor Amesbury Brentwood East Kingston Exeter Greenland Hampton Hampton Falls Xensington Kingston Merrimac Newbury Newburyport Newfields Newcastle Newton North Hampton Portsmouth Rye Salisbury Seabrook South Hampton Stratham West Newbury

P.O. Box 2120

Page 2. Hampton, New Hampshire 03842 2/5/88 603-926-0536 Chairman Lanc, Zech, and the Commissioners of the NRC:

* 'RD OF DIRECTORS THE LEAGUE OF TOWNS SUPPORTS TOWNS NOT PARTICIPATING IN Sandra Cavutis 503/394-7847 SEABROOK EVACUATION PLANNING BECAUSE PUBLIC CANNOT BE PRO-Censington NH TECTED FROM A NUCLEAR ACCIDENT.

3111 Lord 13833 Brei 4 10 17/388-1748 mesbury MA 29 Jean Herchant .03/778-7817 cratham NH 20 03 8 .P. Nadeau 03/:35-2288 ye NH 52 30 oberts Pevear RD 231 SOUTH 03/920-5230 FENSINGTON, NH 3521 ampton Falls 102 とかいつ TVE (gre REPARAND د

Towns within the 10 mile Emergency Planning Zone - Seabrook Nuclear Reactor Amesbury Brentwood East Kingston Exeter Greenland Hampton Hampton Falls Kensington Kingston

Merrimac Newbury Newburyport Newfields Newcastle Newton North Hampton Portsmouth Rye Salisbury Seabrook South Hampton Stratham West Newbury

P.O. Box 2120 Hampton, New Hampshire 03842 603-926-0536

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

February 5, 1988

BOARD OF DIRECTORS

Sandra Cavutis 603/394-7847 Kensington NH

8111 Lord 617/388-1748 Amesbury HA

Dean Herchant 603/778-7817 Stratham NH

J.P. Nadeau 603/436-2288 Rye NH

Roberta Pevear 603/926-6230 Hempton Falls NH The League of Towns, through N.H. State Representative Roberta C. Pevear (R-Hampton/Hampton Falls) praised the NRC licensing board for ruling on the side of public safety in the Shoreham nuclear plant decision. The board said Shoreham's evacuation plan is "fundamentally unsatisfactory" because it relies on utility workers, rather than police, to move people after an accident.

Pevear said, "Six of the Towns in N.H. within 10 miles of the Seabrook plant have come to the conclusion that the public cannot be protected from a nuclear accident, and, therefore, they will no longer participate in evacuation planning".

Public Service Co. and the N.H. Civil Defense Agency have submitted plans for these towns to the NRC, without the approval of these towns, and they maintain the State of N.H., taking over the police powers and authority of the Towns, can act in place of town officials.

"Governor Sununu would have the public believe that his plan has been endorsed by all the Towns in N.H., and that they can be carried out to protect the public in case of an accident at Seabrook," Pevear stated.

The League of Towns consists of representatives of Towns and citizen groups within the 10-mile area. The Towns which dispute the claims of the utility and the Governor are Hampton, Hampton Falls, Kensington, Rye, North Hampton and South Hampton.

Bruce Montville, the representative of Hampton in the League of Towns asked, "How can the Licensing Board in the Seabrook Hearings possibly believe Hampton with its beach population can be protected by outside workers and hirelings, when we say it cannot be done by our own elected officials and employees?".

Dean Merchant, State Democratic Representative, Stratham and Greenland, stated, "The League supports these Towns in their contentions that the public will not be adequately protected, and calls on the NRC to rule on the side of safety in the Seabrook hearings, as they have at Shoreham".

"Owns within the 10 mile Emergency Planning Zone - Seabrook Nuclear Reactor Amesbury Brentwood East Kingston Exeter Greenland Hampton Hampton Falls Kensington Kingston Merrimac Newbury Newburyport Newfie Newcastle Newton North Hamp Portsmouth Rye Salisbury Seabrook South Hampton Strucham West Newbury

