MAR 1 4 1988

Docket No. 50-456 Docket No. 50-457

Commonwealth Edison Company ATTN: Mr. Cordell Reed Senior Vice President Post Office Box 767 Chicago, IL 60690

Gentlemen:

This letter is to correct our previous confirmation of plans discussed on March 23, 1988, between Mr. R. Querio of your office and Mr. J. M. Hinds, Jr. of this office to meet with representatives of Commonwealth Edison Company on April 5, 1988. The meeting time is 2:00 p.m., our letter dated March 25, 1988 was incorrect.

The purpose of this meeting is to present the report of our Systematic Assessment of Licensee Performance (SALP) for Braidwood Station. We agreed that the presentation could be made at your training facility at the Braidwood site outside the security area.

While this meeting is considered a presentation and discussion forum between the Commonwealth Edison Company and the NRC, the meeting will be opened to any other interested parties as observers.

We hope this meeting will benefit your organization and provide you with a meaningful characterization of the overall safety performance for the Braidwood Station.

Sincerely,

ORIGINAL SIGNED BY E. G. GREENMAN

Edward G. Greenman, Director Division of Reactor Projects

See Attached Distribution

RIII em Lerch/caa

8804060083 880329 PDR ADOCK 05000458

RIII RIII

PDR

BLOCH Hinds

RIII 1125 Formey RIII Greenman

Distribution

cc: T. J. Maiman, Vice President, PWR Operations D. Butterfield, Nuclear Licensing Manager M. Wallace, Manager of Projects M. Lohmann, Project Construction and Startup Superintendent W. Vahle, Construction Superintendent R. E. Querio, Station Manager P. L. Barnes, Regulatory Assurance Supervisor DCD/DCB (RIDS) Licensing Fee Management Branch Resident Inspector, RIII Braidwood Resident Inspector, RIII Byron D. W. Cassel, Jr., Esq. Richard Hubbard J. W. McCaffrey, Chief, Public Utilities Division H. S. Taylor, Quality Assurance Division E. Chan, OGC G. Berry, OGC Stephen P. Sands, NRR The Honorable A. Dixon Callihan, ASLB The Honorable Richard F. Cole, ASLB The Honorable Ivan W. Smith, ASLB The Honorable Gary J. Edles, ASLAP

The Honorable Dr. W. Reed Johnson, ASLAP The Honorable Christine N. Kohl, ASLAP