# NRC PUBLIC DOCTAMENTA ROOM NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

BEFORE THE ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

In the Matter of
HOUSTON LIGHTING & POWER COMPANY
(Allens Creek Nuclear Generating Station, Unit 1)

Docket No. 50-466



## NRC STAFF RESPONSE TO VARIOUS SUBMISSIONS RECEIVED PURSUANT TO THE BOARD'S CORRECTED NOTICE OF INTERVENTION PROCEDURES

At this Board's direction, a "Corrected Notice of Intervention Procedures" was published in the Federal Register on September 11, 1978 (43 FR 40328). Pursuant to that notice, submissions requesting the opportunity to participate in this proceeding were received from the following individuals and groups:

Mr. D. Michael McCaughan
Ms. Shirley Caldwell
Mr. Robert S. Framson
Carro Hinderstein
Ms. Ann Wharton
Mr. Emanuel Baskir
Mrs. R. M. Bevis
Mr. F. H. Potthoff, III
Brenda A. McCorkle
Steven Gilbert, Esq.
Mr. Jean-Claude De Bremaecker
Mr. Brent Miller
Mr. Allen D. Clark

D. Marrack Mr. John R. Schreffler Dr. Joe C. Yelderman
Ms. Kathryn Hooker
Ms. Patricia L. Day
Mr. David Marke
Ms. Madeline Bass Framson
Charles L. Michulka
Gregory Kainer
Ms. Lois H. Anderson
Mr. John V. Anderson
Mr. John Renaud, Jr.
Mr. George Broze
National Lawyers Guild
Edgar Crane
Mr. Lee Loe

The Commission's Rules of Practice provide for two methods of participation in Commission proceedings. Under 10 CFR §2.714, individuals or groups may petition for leave to intervene as full parties to the case,

with all the rights and responsibilities attendant thereto. Under 10 CFR §2.715, persons may participate by making a "limited appearance statement," usually on the first day of the evidentiary hearing, in which they set forth their concerns with regard to the proposed facility. They may also raise questions which they would like answered, and the Board, if it deems the questions relevant to the proceeding, may order the Applicant and Staff to respond to them.

With regard to all of the above submissions, except those of Mr. David

Marke and the National Lawyers Guild, it is unclear whether the petitioners

desire full party status pursuant to 10 CFR §2.714 or the opportunity to

make a limited appearance statement pursuant to 10 CFR §2.715.

The Staff's general impression from studying the petitions, and from

telephone conversations with certain of the petitioners, is that many

of the petitioners may prefer the latter alternative.

The Staff, therefore, urges the Board to seek immediate clarification from the above individuals with regard to their intended form of participation in this proceeding. In any event, should any of these petitioners file contentions within the time limits specified in 10 CFR §2.714 (15 days before the special prehearing conference), the Staff will then address both standing and contentions. We will assume that those

petitioner's who do not file contentions within the prescribed time period intend to make a limited appearance statement.

The Staff, therefore, believes that the Board should defer ruling on the newly received petitions (except for those of Mr. Marke and the National Lawyers Guild) until the intentions of the respective petitioners are clarified. The petitions of Mr. Marke and the Guild will be addressed in separate pleadings.

Respectfully submitted,

Stephen M. Sohinki Counsel for NRC Staff

Ellen Silberstein Friedell
Counsel for NRC Staff

Dated at Bethesda, Maryland this 25th day of October, 1978

#### UNITED STATES OF AMERICA NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

### BEFORE THE ATOMIC SAFETY AND LICENSING BOARD

In the Matter of

HOUSTON LIGHTING & POWER COMPANY

(Allens Creek Nuclear Generating Station, Unit 1)

Docket No. 50-466

#### CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that copies of "NRC STAFF RESPONSE TO VARIOUS SUBMISSIONS RECEIVED PURSUANT TO THE BOARD'S CORRECTED NOTICE OF INTERVENTION PROCEDURES" in the above-captioned proceeding have been served on the following by deposit in the United States mail, first class, or, as indicated by an asterisk, through deposit in the Nuclear Regulatory Commission's internal mail system, this 25th day of October, 1978:

Sheldon J. Wolfe, Esq., Chairman \*
Atomic Safety and Licensing
Board Panel
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D. C. 20555

Dr. E. Leonard Cheatum Route 3, Box 350A Watkinsville, Georgia 30677

Mr. Glenn O. Bright\*
Atomic Safety and Licensing
Board Panel
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D. C. 20555

R. Gordon Gooch, Esq. Baker & Botts 1701 Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington, D. C. 20006

J. Gregory Copeland, Esq. Baker & Botts One Shell Plaza Houston, Texas 77002 Robert Lowenstein, Esq. Lowenstein, Reis, Newman & Axelrad 1025 Connecticut Avenue, N.W. Washington, D. C. 20037

Richard Lowerre, Esq.
Asst. Attorney General for the
State of Texas
P. O. Box 12548
Capitol Station
Austin, Texas 78711

Hon. Jerry Sliva, Mayor City of Wallis, Texas 77485

Hon. John R. Mikeska Austin County Judge P. O. Box 310 Bellville, Texas 77418

Atomic Safety and Licensing
Appeal Board\*
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D. C. 20555

Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel\* U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D. C. 20555

Mr. Wayne Rentfro P.O. Box 1335 Rosenberg, Texas 77471

Mr. John F. Doherty Armadillo Coalition of Texas, Houston Chapter 4438 1/2 Leeland Avenue Houston, Texas 77023

T. Paul Robbins 600 W. 28th #102 Austin, Texas 78705

Mr. D. Michael McCaughan Member The Environmental Task Force 3131 Timmons Ln. Apt. 254 Houston, Texas 77027

Mr. John R. Shreffler 5014 Braeburn Bellaire, Texas 77401

Ms. Shirley Caldwell 14501 Lillja Houston, Texas 77060

Mr. Robert S. Framson 4822 Waynesboro Drive Houston, Texas 77035

Carro Hinderstein 8739 Link Terrace Houston, Texas 77025

Ms. Ann Wharton 1424 Kipling Houston, Texas 77006 Docketing and Service Section\*
Office of the Secretary
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D. C. 20555

James Scott, Jr., Esq. Texas Public Interest Research Group, Inc. Box 237 UC University of Houston Houston, Texas 77004

Mr. Emanuel Baskir 5711 Warm Springs Road Houston, Texas 77035

Mrs. R. M. Bevis 7706 Brykerwoods Houston, Texas 77055

Mr. F. H. Potthoff, III 1814 Pine Village Houston, Texas 77080

Brenda A. McCorkle 6140 Darnell Houston, Texas 77074

Steven Gilbert, Esq. Van Slyke & Gilbert Attorneys at Law 500 Morton Street Richmond, Texas 77469

Mr. Jean-Claude De Bremaecker 2128 Addison Houston, Texas 77030

Mr. Brent Miller 4811 Tamarisk Lane Bellaire, Texas 77401

Mr. Allen D. Clark 5602 Rutherglenn Houston, Texas 77096 D. Marrack 420 Mulberry Lane Bellaire, Texas 77401

Dr. Joe C. Yelderman Box 303 Needville, Texas 77461

Ms. Kathryn Hooker 1424 Kipling Houston, Texas 77006

Ms. Patricia L. Day 2432 Nottingham Houston, Texas 77005

Mr. David Marke 3940 Warehouse Row Suite C Austin, Texas 78704

Ms. Madeline Bass Framson 4822 Waynesboro Drive Houston, Texas 77035

Charles L. Michulka Attorney at Law P.O. Box 882 Stafford, TX 77477

Gregory Kainer 11118 Wickwood Houston, TX 77024 Ms. Lois H. Anderson Mr. John V. Anderson 3626 Broadmead Houston, Texas 77025

Mr. Lee Loe 1844 Kipling Houston, Texas 77098

Mr. John Renaud, Jr. 4110 Yoakum Street Apt. 15 Houston, Texas 77006

Mr. George Broze 1823-A Marshall Street Houston, Texas

National Lawyers Guild Houston Chapter 4803 Montrose Blvd. Suite 11 Houston, TX 77006

Edgar Crane 13507 Kingsride Houston, TX 77079

Stephen/M. Sohinki Counsel for NRC Staff