Dear Members of the Interagency Steering Committee on Radiation Standards:

I invite you to attend the next meeting of the Interagency Steering Committee on Radiation Standards (ISCORS) to be held on May 14, 1997, from 9:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. The meeting will be held at the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 501 3rd St., N.W., Washington, DC in the 6th floor conference room. This facility is located near the Judiciary Square Metro Station. The purpose of this meeting is to address subcommittee reports. An agenda is enclosed.

I look forward to meeting with you on May 14. If you have any questions about the meeting, please call me at (301) 415-7800 or Phyllis Sobel of my staff at (301) 415-6714.

Sincerely,

(ORIGINAL SIGNED BY) Malcolm R. Knapp, Deputy Director Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

> 97.93 WARE FALE GENTER GOEN, 407

Enclosure: Agenda

6. 4 . 1

cc: See attached list

DISTRIBUTION:	Central File	NMSS r/f	DWM r/f
VHolahan	HNewsome	MMalsch	FCameron
RNelson	KStablein	RMeck	MBell
JHolonich	JAustin	RBangart	NOrlando
FCardile	CDaily	CJones	RBangart
CMiller, NRR	ACNW		

DOCUMENT NAME: S:\DWM\LLDP\PAS\INVITE.M14

*SEE PREVIOUS CONCURRENCE

CP/PROOFED/APRIL 18, 1997

OFC	LLDP*	LLDP	LLDP	DWM	NMSS
NAME	PSobe1	RNelson*	JHickey*	MVFederline	MRKnapp
DATE	4/14/97	4/14/97	4/14/97	4/14/97	4/23/97
FFICIAL			Decen	istanu on	CE Only
VBLIC:	YES <u>x</u> YES <u>x</u>	NO Cat NO	egory: Propr	ietary or	CF Only
G :	YES		ete file afte	r distribution:	Yes No

9705140016 970423 PDR WASTE WM-3 PDR

INTERAGENCY STEERING COMMITTEE ON RADIATION STANDARDS AGENDA FOR MAY 14, 1997 MEETING

INTRODUCTION (9:30 - 9:45 am)

5 4. "

Introduce meeting attendees, confirm member distribution list and agency staff contacts - Ramona Trovato, EPA

Discuss status of Charter - Phyllis Sobel, NRC

TOPICS FOR DISCUSSION (9:45 - 10:15 am)

Federal Guidance Report 13 - Allan Richardson, EPA

MOU on dosimetric modeling and computation center at ORNL - Andy Wallo, DOE

SUBCOMMITTEE PROGRESS REPORTS (10:15 am - noon)

Cleanup Subcommittee - Cheryl Trottier, NRC

Mixed Waste Subcommittee - Andy Wallo, DOE

Sewage Sludge/Ash Subcommittee - Bob Bastian, EPA

Recycle Subcommittee - John Karnnak, EPA - Three vs one computer models

Risk Harmonization Subcommittee - Margaret Federline, NRC

- Symposium on institutional controls

- Resources working group - Dennis O'Connor, EPA

- Goals of the Comparative Risk Paper - Steve Galson, DOE

ACTION ITEMS/NEXT STEPS (12:00 - 12:30 pm)

Review of action items

Date/time/place of next meeting

Topics for next meeting

Enclosure

cc: List for letter dated:

2. 6. 10

Mary Clark, EPA/ORIA Larry Weinstock, EPA/ORIA Dennis O'Connor, EPA/ORIA Allan Richardson, EPA/ORIA Paula Goode, EPA/ORIA John Karhnak, EPA/ORIA Stephen Luftig, EPA/OERR Chuck Sands, EPA/OERR Bruce Means, EPA/OSWER/OERR Michael Shapiro, EPA/OSW Barry Breen, EPA/OFFE Cynthia Dougherty, EPA/OGWDW Michael B. Cook, EPA/OWWM Bob Bastian, EPA/OWWM Matt Hale, OSW Nancy Hunt, OSW Carl Paperiello, NRC/NMSS Donald Cool, NRC/NMSS Bill Morris, NRC/RES Cheryl Trottier, NRC/RES David Auton, DOD/DNA Muhammad Owais, DOD/DNA Colonel Robert Cherry, DOD/DNA Lewis D. Walker, DOD/Army Andy Wallo, DOE/EH-41 Harcld Peterson, EH-1 Steve Kowen/EM-30 Jill E. Lytle, DOE/EM-30 John E. Baublitz, DOE/EM-40 Jim Owendoff, DOE/EM-40 Raymond P. Berube, DOE/EH-4 Tara C'Toole, DOE/EH-1 Randal Scott, DOE/EM-20 Rick Jones, DOE Greg Duggan, DOE/EM-332 Caroline Freeman, DOL/OSHA Jeffrey Synder, DOL/OSHA Rick Boyle, DOT/Room 8422 Phil Frappaolo, FDA Kevin Neyland, OMB/Room 8026 Carrie Jelsma, OMB/Room 8026 Catherine Woteki, OSTP George Vermont, OSTP

DISTRIBUTE TO:

Ms. Ramona Trovato, Director Office of Radiation and Indoor Air U.S. Environmental Protection Agency 401 M Street, S.W. Washington, DC 20460

Mr. Michael Schaeffer, Chairman Department of Defense Radiation Research and Policy Working Group Defense Nuclear Agency 6801 Telegraph Road Alexandria, VA 22310-3398

Dr. Steven K. Galson, Counselor to the Secretary for Science and Health and Chief Medical Officer Department of Energy Washington, DC 20585

Dr. Adam Finkel, Director Health Standards Program, N-3718 Occupational Safety and Health Administration 200 Constitution Avenue, N.W. Washington, DC 20210

Mr. Alan Roberts Associate Administrator for Hazardous Materials Safety Department of Transportation, Room 8422 400 Seventh Street, S.W. Washington, DC 20590

Dr. Bruce Wachholz, Chief Radiation Effects Branch National Cancer Institute Executive Plaza North, Suite 530 Bethesda, MD 20892

Dr. Marvin Rosenstein Center for Devices and Radiological Health Mail Code HFZ-60 Food and Drug Administration 16071 Industrial Drive Rockville, MD 20850

Mr. Ed Michlovich Office of Management and Budget Room 10202 New Executive Office Building Washington, DC 20503

Ms. Beverly Hartline Office of Science and Technology Policy 17th & Pennsylvania Avenue, N.W. Washington, DC 20500 Mr. William Dornsife Director, Bureau of Radiation Protection Department of Environmental Resources Commonwealth of Pennsylvania P.O. Box 2063 Harrisburg, PA 17120



UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D.C. 20565-0001

April 23, 1997

Dear Members of the Interagency Steering Committee on Radiation Standards:

I invite you to attend the next meeting of the Interagency Steering Committee on Radiation Standards (ISCORS) to be held on May 14, 1997, from 9:30 a.m. to 12:30 p.m. The meeting will be held at the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 501 3rd St., N.W., Washington. DC in the 6th floor conference room. This facility is located near the Judiciary Square Metro Station. The purpose of this meeting is to address subcommittee reports. An agenda is enclosed.

I look forward to meeting with you on May 14. If you have any questions about the meeting, please call me at (301) 415-7800 or Phyllis Sobel of my staff at (301) 415-6714.

Sincerely,

1 Chan,

Malcolm R. Knapp, Deputy Director Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Enclosure: Agenda

cc: See attached list

Dear Members of the Interagency Steering Committee on Radiation Standards:

I invite you to attend the next meeting of the Interagency Steering Committee on Radiation Standards (ISCORS) to be held on May 14, 1997, from 9:30 am to 12:30 pm. The meeting will be held at the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency, 501 3rd St., N.W., Washington, DC in the 6th floor conference room. This facility is located near the Judiciary Square Metro Station. The purpose of this meeting is to address subcommittee reports. An agenda is enclosed.

1 look forward to meeting with you on May 14. / If you have any questions about the meeting, please call me at (301) 415-7800 or Phyllis Sobel of my staff at (301) 415-6714.

Sincerely,

Malcolm Knapp, Deputy Director Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards

Enciosere: Agenda

cc: See attached list

DISTRIBUTION:
VHolahan
RNelson
JHolonich
FCardile
CMiller, NRR

YES

IG:

Central/File HNewsome KStablein JAustin CDaily ANN

NMSS r/f MMalsch RMeck RBangart CJones

DWM r/f FCameron MBell NOrlando RBangart

OFC	LLDP	LLDP M	LLOPE	DWM	NMSS
NAME	PSobel 32	RNelson	JHickey	FCA	
DATE	4/14/97	4/14/97	4////97	4/17/97	/ /97

NO x Delete file after distribution: Yes No x NO