AND THE PROPERTY OF THE PARTY O

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

REGION IV

611 RYAN PLAZA DRIVE, SUITE 400 ARLINGTON, TEXAS 76011-8064

JAN 13 1993

Docket No. 50-298 License No. DPR-46

Nebraska Public Power District ATTN: Guy R. Horn, Nuclear Power Group Manager P.O. Box 499 Columbus, Nebraska 68602-0499

SUBJECT: COOPER NUCLEAR STATION EMERGENCY PLAN, REVISION 19

We have received your letter dated December 22, 1992, which transmitted Revision 19 to the Cooper Nuclear Station Emergency Plan. The plan revision was submitted pursuant to 10 CFR 50.54(q) and involved recent title changes to certain emergency response organization positions, system changes to the telephone private branch exchange, and updates of certain letters of agreement. We have also received your letter dated December 22, 1992, transmitting your evaluation performed pursuant to 10 CFR 50.54(q) of Revision 19 to the Plan.

We have revieed the changes and have determined that they are acceptable and do not degrad the effectiveness of your emergency planning at the Cooper Nuclear Station. We note that the expected life of the back-up battery power supply for the PBX has been revised from 10 to 6 hours. We find this expected battery life to be acceptable and that your emergency communications system continues to meet the requirements of 10 CFR Part 50, Appendix E.IV.E.9 and NUREG-0654.

Should you have any questions concerning this letter, please contact Dr. D. Blair Spitzberg at (817) 860-8191.

Sincerely,

L. J. Callan, Director

Division of Radiation Safety

and Safeguards

cc:

Nebraska Public Power District ATTN: G. D. Watson, General Counsel P.O. Box 499

Columbus, Nebraska 68602-0499

7301210192 930113 PDR ADDCK 05000298 F JE35 1/0

Nebraska Public Power District -2-

Cooper Nuclear Station ATTN: John M. Meacham, Site Manager P.O. Box 98 Brownville, Nebraska 68321

Nebraska Department of Environmental Control ATTN: Randolph Wood, Director P.O. Box 98922 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-8922

Nemaha County Board of Commissioners ATTN: Richard Moody, Chairman Nemaha County Courthouse 1824 N Street Auburn, Nebraska 68305

Nebraska Department of Health ATTN: Harold Borchert, Director Division of Radiological Health 301 Centennial Mall, South P.O. Box 95007 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-5007

Kansas Radiation Control Program Director

Program Manager FEMA Region 7 911 Walnut Street, Room 200 Kansas City, Missouri 64106

Director Nebraska Civil Defense Agency 1300 Military Road Lincoln, Nebraska 68508

bcc: DMB (A045) J. L. Milhoan, RA Resident Inspector, Cooper Nuclear Station Leah Tremper, LFDCB (MS 4503) FIPS FILE Section Chief, DRP/C MIS System RIV File DRP RITS Coordinator DRS L. J. Callan, DRSS J. P. Jaudon, DRSS B. Murray, FIPS D. B. Spitzberg, FIPS G. Bates Project Engineer, DRP/C H. Rood, NRR Project Manager (MS 13 E16) R. Erickson, NRR (MS 9 H15)

			SI	uy	E-92-1
RIV: FIPS TWO	C:FIPS TWO	D:DRSS)		D:DRP	
DBSpitzberg:nh	BMurray	LJCallan	Y	ABBeach	
1 /2/93	1/12/93	1/17/93	V	L/11/93	

R. Erickson, NRR (MS 9 H15)

bcc: DMB (AD45) J. t. Milhoan, RA Resident Inspector, Cooper Nuclear Station Leah Tremper, LFDCB (MS 4503) FIPS FILE Section Chief, DRP/C MIS System RIV File DRP RITS Coordinator DRS L. J. Callan, DRSS J. P. Jaudon, DRSS B. Murray, FIPS D. B. Spitzberg, FIPS G. Bates Project Engineer, DRP/C H. Rood, NRR Project Manager (MS 13 E16)

E-92-18 ANT D: DRSS) RIV: FIPS C:FIPS D: DRP LJCallan BMurray ABBeach DBSpitzberg:nh 1 /2/93 1/12/93 1/17/93 1 /11/93