

Wendell P. Johnson Vice President

June 10, 1985

SBN- 816 T.F. Q2.2.2

Public Service of New Hampshire

NEW HAMPSHIRE YANKEE DIVISION

United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Region I 631 Park Avenue King of Prussia, PA 19406

- Attention: Mr. Richard W. Starostecki, Director Division of Resident and Project Inspection
- Reference: (a) Construction Permits CPPR-135 and CPPR-136, Docket Nos. 50-443 and 50-444
  - (b) PSNH Letter, dated July 1, 1983, "Interim 10CFR50.55(e) Report; Solid State Protection System Power Surge", J. DeVincentis to R. JW. Starostecki
  - (c) PSNH Letter, dated January 4, 1984, "Interim 10CFR50.55(e) Report; Solid State Protection System Power Surge", J. DeVincentis to R. W. Starostecki
- Subject; Final 10CFR50.55(e) Report; Solid State Protection System (CDR 84-00-08)

Dear Sir:

In Reference (b) and (c), we filed interim 10CFR50.55(e) Reports regarding power surges in the Solid State Protection System which may disable a protection circuit. As described in Reference (b), Westinghouse developed permanent hardware modifications to provide detectability of a potential failure in the output relay test circuitry of the Solid State Protection System. The hardware changes have been made at the constrution site.

This is our final report on this item.

Very truly yours,

W. P. Johnson

Vice President

8506240405 850610 ADOCK 05000443

cc: Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Service List

Director, Office of Inspection and Enforcement U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

P.O. Box 700 · Seabrook, NH 03874 · Telephone (603) 474-9521

William S. Jordan, III Diane Curran Harmon, Weiss & Jordan 20001 S. Street, N.W. Suite 430 Washington, D.C. 20009

Robert G. Perlis Office of the Executive Legal Director U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Robert A. Backus, Esquire 116 Lowell Street P.O. Box 516 Manchester, NH 03105

Philip Ahrens, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Augusta, ME 04333

Mr. John B. Tanzer Designated Representative of the Town of Hampton 5 Morningside Drive Hampton, NH 03842

Roberta C. Pevear Designated Representative of the Town of Hampton Falls Drinkwater Road Hampton Falls, NH 03844

Mrs. Sandra Gavutis Designated Representative of the Town of Kensington RFD 1 East Kingston, NH 03827

Jo Ann Shotwell, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Environmental Protection Bureau Department of the Attorney General One Ashburton Place, 19th Floor Boston, MA 02108

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510 (ATTN: Tom Burack)

Diana P. Randall 70 Collins Street Seabrook, NH 03874 Donald E. Chick Town Manager Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, NH 03833

Brentwood Board of Selectmen RED Dalton Road Brentwood, NH 03833

Richard E. Sullivan, Mayor City Hall Newburyport, MA 01950

Calvin A. Canney City Manager City Hall 126 Daniel Street Portsmouth, NH 03801

Dana Bisbee, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Office of the Attorney General 208 State House Annex Concord, NH 03301

Anne Verge, Chairperson Board of Selectmen Town Hall South Hampton, NH 03827

Patrick J. McKeon Selectmen's Office 10 Central Road Rye, NH 03870

Carole F. Kagan, Esquire Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Mr. Angi Machiros Chairman of the Board of Selectmen Town of Newbury Newbury, MA 01950

Town Manager's Office Town Hall - Friend Street Amesbury, MA 01913

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey 1 Pillsbury Street Concord, NH 03301 (ATTN: Herb Boynton)