

Public Service of New Hampshire

NEW HAMPSHIRE YANKEE DIVISION

SEABROOK STATION
Engineering Office:
1671 Worcester Road
Framingham, Massochusetts 01701
(617) - 872 - 8100

June 3, 1985 SBN-813

T.F. Q2.2.2

United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Region I 631 Park Avenue King of Prussia, PA 19406

Attention:

Mr. Richard W. Starostecki, Director

Division of Project and Resident Programs

References:

(a) Construction Permits CPPR-135 and CPPR-136, Docket Nos. 50-443 and 50-444

(b) Telecon of March 15, 1985, V. L. Killpack, Jr. (YAEC) to

J. Beall (Region I)

(c) PSNH Letter SBN-792, dated April 18, 1985, "Interim 10CFR50.55(e) Report, Limit Switch Brackets for Valves 1-SI-V-89, 90 and 93," J. DeVincentis to R. W. Starostecki

Subject:

Interim 10CFR50.55(e) Report, Limit Switch Brackets for Valves

1-SI-V-89, 90 and 93

Dear Sir:

In Reference (c), we reported a potential 10CFR50.55(e) item to Region I regarding the perceived uncertain structural integrity of the limit switch brackets on three Westinghouse valves.

The study by Westinghouse and Yankee Atomic Electric Company to determine the adequacy of the existing brackets and the safety significance, if any, is still ongoing.

We will provide an additional report on this item, including the information required by 10CFR50.55(e)(3) by July 31, 1985.

Very truly yours,

W. P. Johnson Vice President

DEG/cmc

cc: Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Service List

Director, Office of Inspection and Enforcement U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

1000 Elm St., P.O. Box 330, Manchester, NH 03105 • Telephone (603) 669-4000 • TWX 7102207595

William S. Jordan, III Diane Curran Harmon, Weiss & Jordan 20001 S. Street, N.W. Suite 430 Washington, D.C. 20009

Robert G. Perlis Office of the Executive Legal Director U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Robert A. Backus, Esquire 116 Lowell Street P.O. Box 516 Manchester, NH 03105

Philip Ahrens, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Augusta, ME 04333

Mr. John B. Tanzer
Designated Representative of
the Town of Hampton
5 Morningside Drive
Hampton, NH 03842

Roberta C. Pevear
Designated Representative of
the Town of Hampton Falls
Drinkwater Road
Hampton Falls, NH 03844

Mrs. Sandra Gavutis
Designated Representative of
the Town of Kensington
RFD 1
East Kingston, NH 03827

Jo Ann Shotwell, Esquire
Assistant Attorney General
Environmental Protection Bureau
Department of the Attorney General
One Ashburton Place, 19th Floor
Boston, MA 02108

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510 (ATTN: Tom Burack)

Diana P. Randall 70 Collins Street Seabrook, NH 03874 Donald E. Chick Town Manager Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, NH 03833

Brentwood Board of Selectmen RED Dalton Road Brentwood, NH 03833

Richard E. Sullivan, Mayor City Hall Newburyport, MA 01950

Calvin A. Canney City Manager City Hall 126 Daniel Street Portsmouth, NH 03801

Dana Bisbee, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Office of the Attorney General 208 State House Annex Concord, NH 03301

Anne Verge, Chairperson Board of Selectmen Town Hall South Hampton, NH 03827

Patrick J. McKeon Selectmen's Office 10 Central Road Rye, NH 03870

Carole F. Kagan, Esquire Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Mr. Angi Machiros Chairman of the Board of Selectmen Town of Newbury Newbury, MA 01950

Town Manager's Office Town Hall - Friend Street Amesbury, MA 01913

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey 1 Pillsbury Street Concord, NH 03301 (ATTN: Herb Boynton)