Docket No. 50-443

Mr. Ted C. Feigenbaum President and Chief Executive Officer New Hampshire Yankee Division Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Dear Mr. Feigenbas:

SUBJECT:

SEABROOK STATION - STATION BLACKOUT ANALYSIS

(TAC NO. M68061) (MPA NO. A-22)

The purpose of this letter is to transmit the NRC staff's Supplemental Safety Evaluation (SSE) of your Station Blackout (SBO) analysis. We have completed our review and are closing this issue for the Seabrook Station.

Your initial responses on SBO were documented in NYN-89038, dated April 17, 1989; NYN-90083, dated March 30, 1990; and NYN-91141, dated September 6, 1991. The NRC staff's Safety Evaluation and request for additional information pertaining to your September 9, 1991 response to the SBO Rule, 10 CFR 50.63, was transmitted to you by letter dated February 11, 1992. Additional information was provided by you in NYN-92031, dated March 19, 1992. The staff's SSE, enclosed, responds to the most recent information submitted.

The staff finds your re ponse to be acceptable contingent upon implementation of your commitments. These commitments include: verification of adequate battery capacity, reanalysis of area heatup in the Control Building, and verification and/or necessary modification of procedures for opening control room cabinet doors. No further submittals are necessary.

Although we consider this issue closed, it is subject to future audit or inspection. Enclosed is our Supplemental Safety Evaluation. This action closes MPA No. A-22 and TAC No. M68061 for Seabrook.

Sincerely,
Original signed by
Gordon E. Edison, Senior Project Manager
Project Directorate I-3
Division of Reactor Projects - I/II
Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

OFC :PDI-3/LA :INTEN_PDI-3:PDI-3/PM :(A)D:PDI-3:	
NAME : MRushocok: KBattige : GEdison: mw: VNegaes :	1
DATE : 15/92 : 125/92 10 130/92 19/2 192 :	1

9207070252 920701 PDR ADOCK 05000443 HARC FILE CENTER COPY

D(01

cc:

Thomas Dignan, Esq.
John A. Ritsher, Esq.
Ropes and Gray
One International Place
Boston, Massachusetts 02110-2624

Barbara J. Saint Andres, Esquire Kopelman & Paige, P.C. Counsel for Amesbury, Newburyport & Salisbury 101 Arch Street Boston, Massachusetts 02110

Robert Backus, Esq.
Backus, Meyer and Solomon
116 Lowell Street
Manchester, New Hampshire 03106

Diane Curran, Esq. Harmon, Curran, Gallagher & Spielberg 2001 S Street, N.W. Suite 430 Washington, DC 20009

Mr. Peter Brann Assistant Attorney General State House, Station #6 Augusta, Maine 04333

Seacoast Anti-Pollution League 5 Market Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Resident Inspector
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Seabrook Nuclear Power Station
Post Office Box 1149
Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

North Atlantic Energy Corporation 1000 Elm Street Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

North Atlantic Energy Service Corporation Seabrook Station Route 1, Lafayette Road P.O. Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874 ATTN: Ted C. Feigenbaum Mr. T. L. Harpster Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, New Hampshire 03823

Gerald Garfield, Esq.
Day, Berry and Howard
City Place
Hartford, Connecticut 06103-3499

Mr. J. F. Opeka Northeast Utilities P.O. Box 270 Hartford, Connecticut 06141-0270

Mr. R. M. Kacich Northeast Utilities Service Company P. O. Box 270 Hartford, Connecticut 06141-0270

Jane Spector
Federal Energy Regulatory Comm.
825 North Capital Street, N.E.
Room 8105
Washington, D.C. 20426

Mr. Rob Sweeney Three Metro Center Suite 610 Bethesda, Maryland 20814

Mr. George L. Iverson, Director New Hampshire Office of Emergency Management State Office Park South 107 Pleasant Street Concord, New Hampshire 03301

North Atlantic Energy Corporation c/o Northeast Utilities Service Company P.O. Box 270 Hartford, Connecticut 06141-0270 ATTN: John F. Opeka, Executive Vice President Mr. Ted C. Feigenbaum

CC:

Regional Administrator, Region I U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 475 Allendale Road King of Prussia, Pennsylvania 19406

Ashod N. Amirian, Esq. 145 South Main Street P.O. Box 38 Bradford, Massachusetts 01830

Mr. Alfred Sargent Chairman Board of Selectmen Salisbury, Massachusetts 01950

Office of the Attorney General One Ashburton Place 20th Floor Boston, Massachusetts 02108

Durham Board of Selectmen Town of Durham Durham, New Hampshire 03824

Chairman, Board of Selectmen RFD 2 South Hampton, New Hampshire 03827

R. Scott Hill-Whilton, Esquire Lagoulis, Clark, Hill-Whilton & Rotond: 79 State Street Newburyport, Massachusetts 01950

Board of Selectmen Town of Amesbury Town Hall Amesbury, Massachusetts 01913

Mr. Leon Maglathlin
Public Service Company
of New Hampshire
1000 Elm Street
Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Seabrook.

Mr. Jack Dolan
Federal Emergency Management Agency
Region I
J.W. McCormack Post Office &
Courthouse Building, Room 442
Boston, Massachusetts 02109

Mr. J. M. Peschel Public Service Company of New Hampshire P.O. Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Mr. David Rodham, Director Massachusetts Civil Defense Agency 400 Worcester Road P.O.Box 1496 Framingham, Massachusetts 01701-0317 ATTN: James Muckerheide

John P. Arnold, Attorney General G. Dana Bisbee, Associate Attorney General Attorney General's Office 25 Capitol Street Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Congressman Nicholas Mavroules U. S. House of Representatives 70 Washington Street Salem, Massachusetts 01970

North Atlantic Energy Service
Corporation
c/o Northeast Utilities Service
Company
P.O. Box 270
Hartford, Connecticut 06141-0270
ATTN: John F. Opeka, Executive
Vice President