

SEABROOK STATION Engineering Office

## Public Service of New Hampshire

January 7, 1985

**New Hampshire Yankee Division** 

SBN- 747 T.F. B4.2.99

United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D. C. 20555

Attention: Mr. George W. Knighton, Chief Licensing Branch No. 3 Division of Licensing

References:

- (a) Construction Permits CPPR-135 and CPPR-136, Docket Nos. 50-443 and 50-444
- (b) PSNH Letter SBN-677, dated June 29, 1984, "Revised Response to Generic Letter 83-28 (Position 4.3); Shunt Trip Automation", J. DeVincentis to G. W. Knighton
- Subject: Revised Response to Generic Letter 83-28 (Position 4.3); Shunt Trip Automation

## Dear Sir:

We indicated in Reference (b) that plant-specific information regarding the automatic actuation of the reactor trip breaker shunt trip attachments would be provided by December 31, 1984. Submittal of the plant-specific information was contingent upon receipt of certain Westinghouse supplied information and the completion of plant-specific test procedures.

As required by the August 6, 1984 generic Safety Evaluation Report on the shunt trip automation design, Westinghouse supplied qualification documentation for the equipment has yet to be received. In addition, Westinghouse recommended test procedures for the reactor trip breakers have yet to be written into plant-specific test procedures.

Some of the plant-specific information requested by the August 6, 1984 generic Safety Evaluation Report could be provided at this time. We have elected to respond fully subsequent to the receipt of all outstanding information and completion of test procedure writing. We expect that a full response will be made by June 30, 1985.

Very truly yours, John Re Jenentes John DeVincentis, Director

Engineering and Licensing

cc: Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Service List

8501090170 850107 PDR ADOCK 05000443 A PDR

P.O. Box 300 · Seabrook, NH 03874 · Telephone (603) 474-9521

William S. Jordan, 111 Diane Curran Harmon, Weiss & Jordan 20001 S Street N.W. Suite 430 Washington, D.C. 20009

4

Robert G. Perlis Office of the Executive Legal Director U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Robert A. Backus, Esquire 116 Lowell Street P.O. Box 516 Mancehster, NH 03105

Philip Ahrens, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Department of the Attorney General Augusta, ME 04333

Mr. John B. Tanzer Designated Representative of the Town of Hampton 5 Morningside Drive Hampton, NH 03842

Roberta C. Pevear Designated Representative of the Town of Hampton Falls Drinkwater Road Hampton Falls, NH 03844

Mrs. Sandra Gavutis Designated Representative of the Town of Kensington RFD 1 East Kingston, NH 03827

Jo Ann Shotwell, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Environmental Protection Bureau Department of the Attorney General One Ashburton Place, 19th Floor Boston, MA 02108

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510 (Attn: Tom Burack)

Diana P. Randall 70 Collins Street SEabrook, NH 03874

Donald E. Chick Town Manager Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, NH 03833 Brentwood Board of Selectmen RED Dalton Road Brentwood, New Hampshire 03833

Edward F. Meany Designated Representative of the Town of Rye 155 Washington Road Rye, NH 03870

Calvin A. Canney City Manager City Hall 126 Daniel Street Portsmouth, NH 03801

Dana Bisbee, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Office of the Attorney General 208 State House Annex Concord, NH 03301

Anne Verge, Chairperson Board of Selectmen Town Hall South Hampton, NH 03842

Patrick J. McKeon Selectmen's Office 10 Central Road Rye, NH 03870

Carole F. Kagan, Esq. Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Mr. Angie Machiros Chairman of the Board of Selectmen Town of Newbury Newbury, MA 01950

Town Manager's Office Town Hall - Friend Street Amesbury, Ma. 01913

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey 1 Pillsbury Street Concord, NH 03301 (Attn: Herb Boynton)

Richard E. Sullivan, Mayor City Hall Newburyport, MA 01950