Georgia Power Company Route 2, Box 299A Waynesboro, Georgia 30830 Telephone 404 554-9961, Ext. 3360 404 724-8114, Ext. 3360

General Manager Vogtle Project

D. O. Foster
Vice President and Project
General Manager



the southern electric system

February 12, 1985

United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of Inspection and Enforcement Region II - Suite 2900 101 Marietta Street, Northwest Atlanta, Georgia 30323

Reference: RII: JPO: 50-424, 50-425

File: X7BC24 Log: GN-524

Attention: Mr. James P. O'Reilly

In a letter of December 5, 1984 (X7BC24, GN-490), Georgia Power Company responded to I&E Bulletin 84-03, "Refueling Cavity Water Seal". We have recently been informed by our USNRC Resident Inspector staff that the evaluation described in that previous correspondence was performed on components other than those intended by the Bulletin. The components addressed in our initial evaluation are often called refueling cavity water seals, which is the terminology used in the Bulletin and the Vogtle refueling cavity seal ring assembly in no way resembles the water seal assembly shown in Figure 1 of Bulletin 84-03.

This letter is to inform you that Georgia Power Company has re-initiated its evaluation of I&E Bulletin 84-03 and expects to provide the USNRC with a report addressing the concerns of the Bulletin for the Vogtle refueling cavity seal ring assembly by March 15, 1985.

This letter contains no proprietary information and may be placed in the NRC Public Document Room.

Yours truly

D. O. Foster

REF/DOF/tdm

8503010266 850212 PDR ADOCK 05000424 Q PDR

· IEII

D. O. Foster states that he is the Vice President and Project General Manager of the Vogtle Electric Generating Plant and is authorized to execute this oath on behalf of Georgia Power Company and that to the best of his knowledge and belief the facts set forth in this letter are true.

Sworn and subscribed before me this Ath day of February, 1985.

Notary Public, State of Georgia at Large My Commission Expires: 4/11/88

xc: U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Document Control Desk Washington, D.C. 20555

> R. J. Kelly R. E. Conway R. A. Thomas
> D. E. Dutton
> D. I. Beckham
> D. R. Altman
> D. L. Victor D. E. Dutton
>
> W. F. Sanders (NRC)
>
> D. L. Kinnsch (BPC)
>
> J. L. Vota (W)
>
> R. H. Pinson
>
> L. T. Gucwa R. H. Pinson B. M. Guthrie E. D. Groover M. Malcom (BPC) R. W. McManus

J. A. Bailey O. Batum H. H. Gregory L. T. Gucwa C. E. Belflower

G. Bockhold P. D. Rice C. S. McCall (OPC) E. L. Blake, Jr. (Shaw, et. al.) J. E. Joiner (Troutman, et. al.) D. C. Teper (GANE) L. Fowler (LEAF) T. Johnson (ECPG)