

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D. C. 20555

RC

N 005

QCT 2 6 1984

Docket Nos.: 50-445 and 50-446

> MEMORANDUM FOR: The Atomic Safety and Licensing Board for Comanche Peak, Units 1 and 2 (P. Bloch, W. Jordan, K. McCollom)

FROM: Darrell G. Eisenhut, Director Division of Licensing Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

SUBJECT: BOARD NOTIFICATION - SUMMARY OF MEETING BETWEEN THE NRC TECHNICAL REVIEW TEAM AND TEXAS UTILITIES (BOARD NOTIFICATION NO. 84-174)

This Notification is provided in accordance with NRC Procedures regarding Board Notifications.

This Notification is a followup of Board Notification No. 84-160, dated September 21, 1984. On Friday, October 19, 1984, the NRC staff met with Texas Utilities to discuss the applicant's plan, submitted by letter dated October 8, 1984 (Mr. Spence to Mr. Eisenhut), for resolution of requests for additional information from the Comanche Peak Technical Review Team effort described in a September 18, 1984 letter and meeting relating to:

- (1) Electrical and Instrumentation
- (2) Civil/Structural, and
- (3) Test Programs.

Because of a time constraint, the applicant was only able to complete the presentation of their program in the electrical and instrumentation area. A meeting to complete the two remaining areas was scheduled for Tuesday, October 23, 1984. (A transcript of the Tuesday meeting will be provided when it becomes available.)

A copy of the meeting summary and transcript from the Friday meeting is provided for your information.

The parties to the proceeding are being notified by copy of this memorandum.

Frank Miraglia Darrell G. Elsenhut, Otrector Division of Licensing Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Enclosure: As stated

cc: EDO

ACRS (10) Parties to the Proceeding See next page

DISTRIBUTION LIST FOR BOARD NOTIFICATION

Comanche Peak Units 1&2 Docket Nos. 50-445/446

Peter B. Bloch, Esq. Mr. James E. Cummins Mrs. Juanita Ellis Billie Pirner Garde Ellen Ginsberg, Esq. Herbert Grossman, Esq. Renea Hicks, Esq. Dr. W. Reed Johnson Dr. Walter H. Jordan Robert D. Martin, Esq. Dr. Kenneth A. McCollom Thomas S. Moore, Esq. Nicholas S. Reynolds, Esq. Anthony Z. Roisman, Esq. Alan S. Rosenthal, Esq. Mr. Lanny Alan Sinkin Mr. Michael D. Spence Robert A. Wooldridge, Esq. Mr. Homer C. Schmidt Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Panel Docketing and Service Section Document Management Branch Mr. H. R. Rock Mr. A. T. Parker William A. Burchette, Esq. Mr. David R. Pigott, Esq. Mrs. Nancy H. Williams Mr. Dennis Kelley Mr. John W. Beck Mr. Jack Redding Mr. John T. Collins B. R. Clements