



CLINTON POWER STATION, P.O. BOX 678. CLINTON, ILLINOIS 61727

February 13, 1985

Mr. Harold R. Denton, Director Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C.

Mr. James G. Keppler Regional Administrator Region III U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 799 Roosevelt Road 60137 Glen Ellyn, IL

Dear Gentlemen:

Enclosed is a report of the "Results of Quality Programs for Construction of Clinton Power Station" which has been prepared by Illinois Power Company. This report is being submitted for your information and to provide you with an additional basis for licensing and regulatory decisions involving Clinton Power Station.

The purpose of this report is to demonstrate that there is reasonable assurance that, as built, Clinton Power Station can and will be operated without endangering the public health and safety. To this end, the report contains a description and a summary of the results of several quality-related programs and activities at Clinton Power Station, including the quality assurance program, the recovery programs, programmatic improvements, the Overinspection Program, the Record Verification Program, and general assessment and corrective action activities.

If there are any questions or comments concerning this report please contact me or Mr. Steve Perry, Manager - Nuclear Program Coordination.

Sincerely yours,

P. Hall Vice President

DPH/jb

Enclosure

cc: See Attached List

Emels To: 3 Ulcl Rea Files POR LPOR

NSIE

QAB-2045

Reactor Construction Congrams Branch

ACRS-3

PM- (Advanced)

cc: B. L. Siegel
Clinton Licensing Project Manager
Mail Code 416
U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

H. H. Livermore
Mail Code V-690
NRC Resident Office
Clinton Power Station
R. R. #3, Box 228
Clinton, Illinois 61727

Dr. T. Lash Director, Illinois Department of Nuclear Safety 1035 Outer Park Drive Springfield, Illinois 62704

James M. Taylor, Director
Office of Inspection and Enforcement
U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Hugh Thompson, Director-Designate Division of Licensing Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Darrell Eisenhut, Director
Division of Licensing
Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation
U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555