

Public Service of New Hampshire

NEW HAMPSHIRE YANKEE DIVISION

SEABROOK STATION
Engineering Office:
1671 Worcester Road
Framingham, Massochusetts 01701
[617] - 872 - 8100

October 17, 1984

SBN-721

United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D. C. 20555

Attention:

Mr. George W. Knighton, Chief

Licensing Branch No. 3 Division of Licensing

References:

- (a) Construction Permits CPPR-135 and CPPR-136, Docket Nos. 50-443 and 50-444
- (b) USNRC Letter, dated May 7, 1984, "Seabrook Station Probabilistic Risk Assessment", G. W. Knighton to R. J. Harrison
- (c) Letter, dated May 18, 1984, "Seabrool Station Probabilistic Safety Assessment", J. DeVincentis to G. W. Knighton

Subject:

Seabrook Station Probabilistic Safety Assessment (SSPSA)

Dear Sir:

In support of the NRC review of the Seabrook SSPSA, on August 29-31, 1984, we conducted site tours and demonstrated accident scenarios on the Seabrook simulator for several NRC and contractor people. We are responding to many questions that arose prior to and during these tours. Responses to the remaining questions can only be provided by the consultant who prepared the SSPSA for us. As noted in Reference (c), we have terminated our contract with this consultant and are, therefore, unable to provide further responses.

During the tour, Abel Garcia, LLNL, requested copies of the following documents:

SMA Fragility Data
Tornado Missile Report by Twisdale
Miscellaneous Drawings
Emergency Operating Procedures
HELB and MELB Reports
Technical Summaries of the PRA
SSPS, MS, ECCS Information

We have transmitted this information as requested directly to Mr. Garcia.

Reluctantly, we find it necessary to reiterate our previous position relative to additional support of the Seabrook (SSPSA) review.

The present construction schedule at Seabrook is based on a certain funding level imposed by the Joint Owners. This funding level does not allow us to support efforts that do not directly support either Construction or Licensing. The SSPSA was submitted for the Staff's information and use. Following Unit 1 commercial operation, we intend to update the model and will be able to support an NRC review. Consequently, we will be unable to respond to additional NRC requests in this area.

We trust you will understand our position on this matter.

Please feel free to contact us if you have further questions.

Jak Je Vannte

John DeVincentis, Director Engineering and Licensing

cc: Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Service List

William S. Jordan, III Diane Curran Harmon, Weiss & Jordan 20001 S Street N.W. Suite 430 Washington, D.C. 20009

Robert G. Perlis
Office of the Executive Legal Director
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, DC 20555

Robert A. Backus, Esquire 116 Lowell Street P.O. Box 516 Mancehster, NH 03105

Fhilip Ahrens, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Department of the Attorney General Augusta, MF. 04333

Mr. John B. Tanzer
Designated Representative of
the Town of Hampton
5 Morningside Drive
Hampton, NH 03842

Roberta C. Pevear Designated Representative of the Town of Hampton Falls Drinkwater Road Hampton Falls, NH 03844

Mrs. Sandra Gavutis
Designated Representative of
the Town of Kensington
RFD 1
East Kingston, NH 03827

Jo Ann Shotwell, Esquire
Assistant Attorney General
Environmental Protection Bureau
Department of the Attorney General
One Ashburton Place, 19th Floor
Boston, MA 02108

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510 (Attn: Tom Burack)

Diana P. Randall 70 Collins Street SEabrook, NH 03874

Donald E. Chick Town Manager Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, NH 03833 Brentwood Board of Selectmen RED Dalton Road Brentwood, New Hampshire 03833

Edward F. Meany Designated Representative of the Town of Rye 155 Washington Road Rye, NH 03870

Calvin A. Canney City Manager City Hall 126 Daniel Street Portsmouth, NH 03801

Dana Bisbee, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Office of the Attorney General 208 State House Annex Concord, NH 03301

Anne Verge, Chairperson Board of Selectmen Town Hall South Hampton, NH 03842

Patrick J. McKeon Selectmen's Office 10 Central Road Rye, NH 03870

Carole F. Kagan, Esq.
Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Mr. Angie Machiros Chairman of the Board of Selectmen Town of Newbury Newbury, MA 01950

Town Manager's Office Town Hall - Friend Street Amesbury, Ma. 01913

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey 1 Pillsbury Street Concord, NH 03301 (Attn: Herb Boynton)

Richard E. Sullivan, Mayor City Hall Newburyport, MA 01950