

Public Service of New Hampshire

New Hampshire Yankee Division

January 14, 1985 SBN-750 T.F. B4.2.8

United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of Inspection and Enforcement Region I 631 Park Avenue King of Prussia, PA 19406

Attention:

Mr. Richard W. Starostecki, Director Division of Project and Resident Programs

References:

- (a) Construction Permits CPPR-135 and CPPR-136, Docket Nos. 50-443 and 50-444
- (b) USNRC Letter, dated January 4, 1985, regarding Welding of Pressurizer Surge Line, Richard W. Starostecki to Mr. Harrison

Dear Sir:

Reference (b) identified a potential concern with the amount of cold pull used for alignment of the pressurizer surge line and requested that, within ten days, we respond with plans and schedule for review of this issue. The following is provided as our initial response to this issue.

We plan to thoroughly review the validity of this concern using the Allegation Resolution Program recently initiated at Seabrook Station. Concurrently, we will be investigating the pressurizer surge line to determine if it should have been included in our final 10CFR50.55(e) report regarding Cold Pulling of Pipe, dated June 11, 1984.

We will provide the results of our review by February 22, 1985.

John Rements

John DeVincentis, Director Engineering and Licensing

DAM/jgh

cc: Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Service List

Director, Office of Inspection and Enforcement U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

8502110486 850114 PDR ADOCK 05000443 PDR ADOCK 05000 PDR William S. Jordan, III
Diane Curran
Harmon, Weiss & Jordan
20001 S Street N.W.
Suite 430
Washington, D.C. 20009

Robert G. Perlis Office of the Executive Legal Director U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Robert A. Backus, Esquire 116 Lowell Street P.O. Box 516 Mancehster, NH 03105

Philip Ahrens, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Department of the Attorney General Augusta, ME 04333

Mr. John B. Tanzer
Designated Representative of
the Town of Hampton
5 Morningside Drive
Hampton, NH 03842

Roberta C. Pevear Designated Representative of the Town of Hampton Falls Drinkwater Road Hampton Falls, NH 03844

Mrs. Sandra Gavutis
Designated Representative of
the Town of Kensington
RFD 1
East Kingston, NH 03827

Jo Ann Shotwell, Esquire
Assistant Attorney General
Environmental Protection Bureau
Department of the Attorney General
One Ashburton Place, 19th Floor
Boston, MA 02108

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510 (Attn: Tom Burack)

Diana P. Randall 70 Collins Street SEabrook, NH 03874

Donald E. Chick Town Manager Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, NH 03833 Brentwood Board of Selectmen RED Dalton Road Brentwood, New Hampshire 03833

Edward F. Meany Designated Representative of the Town of Rye 155 Washington Road Rye, NH 03870

Calvin A. Canney City Manager City Hall 126 Daniel Street Portsmouth, NH 03801

Dana Bisbee, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Office of the Attorney General 208 State House Annex Concord, NH 03301

Anne Verge, Chairperson Board of Selectmen Town Hall South Hampton, NH 03842

Patrick J. McKeon Selectmen's Office 10 Central Road Rye, NH 03870

Carole F. Kagan, Esq.
Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Fanel
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Mr. Angie Machiros Chairman of the Board of Selectmen Town of Newbury Newbury, MA 01950

Town Manager's Office Town Hall - Friend Street Amesbury, Ma. 01913

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey 1 Pillsbury Street Concord, NH 03301 (Attn: Herb Boynton)

Richard E. Sullivan, Mayor City Hall Newburyport, MA 01950