Docket No. 50-443

Mr. Ted C. Feigenbaum Senior Vice President and Chief Operating Officer North Atlantic Energy Service Corporation Post Office Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Dear Mr. Feigenbaum:

SUBJECT: SEABROOK INSPECTION 92-15

This refers to the safety inspection findings of the resident staff at Seabrook Station for the period July 28 - September 7, 1992. The inspection results are described in the enclosed report and were discussed with Mr. W. DiProfile of your staff.

Overall, this inspection found that activities were coaducted safely. Overall performance was generally excellent, although a reactor trip from low power may have been avoided by better coordination between operators while shutting down the reactor on September 7th.

Your cooperation with us is appreciated.

Sincerely,

ORKGINAL SIGNED BY: Relly

James C. Linville, Chief Projects Branch No. 3 Division of Reactor Projects

Enclosure: NRC Region I Inspection Report 50-443/92-15

9210010016 920924 PDR ADDCK 05000443 0 PDR

1001

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

.2

Mr. Ted C. Feigenbaum

cc w/encl:

· . .

B. L. Drawbridge, Executive Director of Nuclear Production

W. DiProfio, Station Manager

R. Hallisey, Director, Dept. of Public Health, Commonwealth of Massachusetts

S. Woodhouse, Legislative Assistant

T. Rapone, Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety

D. Tefft, Administrator, Bureau of Radiological Health, State of New Hampshire Public Document Room (PDR)

Local Public Document Room (LPDR)

Nuclear Safety Information Center (NSIC)

K. Abraham, PAO (2 copies)

NRC Resident Inspector

State of New Hampshire, SLO

Commonwealth of Massachusetts, SLO Designee

Seabrook Service List

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

Mr. Ted C. Feigenbaum

1.

bcc w/encl: Region I Docket Room (with concurrences and IFS Forms) DRS/EB SALP Coordinator W. Lazarus, DRP J. Liuville, DRP N. Dudley, SRI - Scabrook (w/concurrences and IFS Forms) R. Lobel, OEDO G. Edison, NRK W. Butler, NRR

3

bec w/Letter and Executive Summary Only: T. Martin, RA W Kane, DRA C. Hehl, DRP J. Wiggins, DRP R. Cooper, DRSS W. Hodges, DRS W. Lanning, DRS C. Anderson, DRS L. Bettenhausen, DRS J. Joyner, DESS D. Huled, ED

RL:DRP

azarus

1142

D. Holody, EO

RI:DRP

Dudley/meo 9/15/92

RI:DR

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY A:SB9215.MEO

SEABROOK SERVICE LIST

Thomas Dignan, Esquire John A. Ritscher, Esquire Ropes and Gray One International Place Boston, Massachusetts 02110-2624

. 9

1.1.1

Mr. J. F. Opeka Northeast Utilities P. O. Box 270 Hartford, Connecticut 06141-0270

Mr. A. David Rodham, Director
 Massachusetts Emergency Management Agency
 400 Worchester Road, Box 1496
 Framingham, Massachusetts 01701-0134
 ATTN: Mr. James B. Muckerheide
 State Nuclear Engineer

Robert Backus, Esquire Backus, Meyer and Solomon 116 Lowell Street Manchester, New Hampshire 03106

Mr. Peter Brann Assistant Attorney General State House, Station #6 Augusta, Maine 04333

Mr. T. J. Harrister N th Atlautic Energy Service Corporation Fost Office Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Seacoest Anti-Pollution League 5 Market Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Mr. David W. Graham
Fuel Supply Planning Manager
Massachusetts Municipal Wholesale
Electric Company
P. O. Box 426
Ladlow, Massachusetts 01056

Diane Curran, Esquire Harmon and Weiss 2001 S Street, N.W. Suite 430 Washington, D.C. 20009

Regional Administrator, Region I U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 475 Allendale Road King of Prussia, Pennsylvania 19406

Barbara J. Saint Andres, Esquire
Kopel & Paige, P.C.
Counsel for Amesbury, Newburyport, and Salisbury
101 Arch Street
Boston, Massachusetts 02110

Ashod N. Amirian, Esquire 145 South Main Street P.O. Box 38 Bradford, Massachusetts 01830

Mr Alfred Sargent Chairman Board of Selectmen Salisbury, Massachusetts 01950

Office of the Attorney General One Ashburton Place 20th Floor Boston, Massachusetts 02108

Chairman, Board of Selectmen RFD 2 South Hampton, New Hampshire 03827

Stephen G. Burns, Director
Office of Commission Appellate
Adjudication
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

Seabrook Service List

Gerald Garfield, Esquire Day, Berry and Howard City Place Hartford, Connecticut 06103-3499

Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Jeabrook Nuclear Fower Station Post Office Box 1149 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Mr. R. M. Kacich Northeast Utilities Service Company P. O. Box 270 Hartford, Connecticut 06141-0270

Jane Spector Federal Energy Regulatory Commission 825 North Capital Street, N.E. Room 8105 Washington, D.C. 20426

Mr. George L. Iverson, Director
New Hampshire Office of Emergency Management
State Office Park South
107 Pleasant Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

John P. Arnold, Attorney General G. Dana Bisbee, Associate Attorney General Attorney General's Office 25 Capitol Street Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, New Hampshire 03823 Board of Selectmen Town of Amesbury Town Hall Amesbury, Massachusetts 01913

R. Scott Hill-Whilton, Esquire
Lagoulis, Clark, Hill-Whilton and Rotondi
79 State Street
Newburyport, Massachusetts 01950

Mr. Rob Sweeney Three Metro Center Suite 610 Bethesda, Maryland 20814

Adjudicatory File (2)
Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Docket
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Mr. Jack Dolan
Federal Emergency Management Agency
Region I
J.W. McCormack Post Office and
Courthouse Building, Room 442
Boston, Massachusetts 02109

Congressinan Nicholas Mavroules U.S. House of Representatives 70 Washington Street Salem, Massachusetts 01970

Mr. J. M. PeschelNorth Atlantic Energy ServiceCorporationP. O. Box 300Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

OFFICIAL RECORD COFY