Docket Nos. 50-254/265

Mr. Dennis L. Farrar Director of Nuclear Licensing Commonwealth Edison Company Post Office Box 767 Chicago, Illinois 60690

Dear Mr. Farrar:

SUBJECT: RESPONSE TO NUREG-0737, ITEM II.K.3.18,

ADS MODIFICATION

Re: Quad Cities Nuclear Power Station, Units 1 and 2

By letter dated June 3, 1983, the NRC requested that the Commonwealth Edison Company (CECo) comply with the requirements of NUREG-0737, Item II.K.3.18 by choosing between alternative modifications that the staff has found acceptable.

As a result, CECo submitted letters dated July 18, 1983 and November 2, 1983 that commit the utility to modifying the ADS logic by eliminating the high drywell pressure permissive and adding manual inhibit switches. This modification was found acceptable by the staff and was stated as such in our June 3, 1983 letter to CECo.

Based on your July 18, 1983 commitment, we consider this issue to be closed.

Sincerely,

Original signed by/

Domenic B. Vassallo, Chief Operating Reactors Branch #2 Division of Licensing

cc: See next page

DISTRIBUTION:

Docket File OELD

SNorris

NRC PDR EJordan RBevan L PDR PMcKee Gray File

ORB#2 Rdg JPartlow DEisenhut ACRS-10

ORB#2:DL SNOTTIS 1/22/85 ORB#2:DL ABB RBevan/pn 1/24/85 086#2:DL DBVassallo 1/24/85

8502040341 850124 PDR ADDCK 05000254 Mr. Dennis L. Farrar Commonwealth Edison Company Ouad Cities Nuclear Power Station, Units 1 and 2

cc:

Mr. B. C. O'Brien President Iowa-Illinois Gas and Electric Company 206 East Second Avenue Davenport, Iowa 52801

Robert G. Fitzgibbons, Jr. Isham, Lincoln & Beale Three First National Plaza Suite 5200 Chicago, Illinois 60602

Mr. Nick Kalivianakis
Plant Superintendent
Ouad Cities Nuclear Power Station
22710 - 206th Avenue - North
Cordova, Illinois 61242

Resident Inspector
U. S. Nuclear Requiatory Commission
22712 206th Avenue North
Cordova, Illinois 61242

Chairman
Rock Island County Board
of Supervisors
Rock Island County Court House
Rock Island, Illinois 61201

James G. Keppler
Regional Administrator
Region III Office
U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
799 Roosevelt Road
Glen Ellyn, Illinois 60137

Susan N. Sekuler Assistant Attorney General Environmental Control Division 188 W. Randolph Street Suite 2315 Chicago, Illinois 60601

The Honorable Tom Corcoran United States House of Representatives Washington, D. C. 20515

Mr. Gary N. Wright
Nuclear Facility Safety
Illinois Department of
Nuclear Safety
1035 Outer Park Drive, 5th Floor
Springfield, Illinois 62704