JUL 9 1992

Docket No. 50-443

Mr. T. C. Feigenbaum Senior Vice President and Chief Nuclear Officer North Atlantic Energy Service Corporation Post Office Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Dear Mr. Feigenbaum:

SUBJECT: INSPECTION REPORT NO. -50-271/92-12

This letter refers to the safety inspection conducted by Mr. P. Drysdale of this office from June 15 - 19, 1992, at the Seabrook Nuclear Power Station, in Seabrook, New Hampshire, of activities authorized by NRC License No. NPF-86 and to the discussions of our findings held by Mr. Drysdale with Mr. B. Drawbridge and other members of your staff at the conclusion of the inspection.

Areas examined during this inspection are described in the Inspection Report enclosed with this letter. Within these areas, the inspection consisted of selective examinations of procedures and representative records, interviews with personnel, and observations by the inspector.

This spection determined that the corrective actions that you have taken were adequate to seficiencies and program weaknesses identified during the special Maintenance Team Inspection conducted at Seabrook in early 1991.

No reply to this letter is required. Your cooperation with us in this matter is appreciated.

Sincerely,

Lee H. Bettenhausen, Chief

origina Degreet by

Operations Branch

Division of Reactor Safety

Enclosure: NRC Region I Inspection Report No.

50-271/92-12

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY G:SEAB9212.PDD

## ce w/encl:

- B. L. Drawbridge, Executive Director of Nuclear Production
- W. DiProfio, Station Manager
- R. Hallisey, Director, Dept. of Public Health, Commonwealth of Massachusetts
- S. Woodhouse, Legislative Assistant
- T. Rapone, Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety
- Public Document Room (PDR)
- Local Public Document Room (LPDR)
- Nuclear Safety Information Center (NSIC)
- K. Abraham, PAO (2)
- NRC Resident Inspector (w/SGI)
- State of New Hampshire, SLO
- Commonwealth of Massachusetts, SLO Designee
- Seabrook Service List

## bcc w/encl:

- Region I Docket Room (with concurrences and IFS Forms)
- DRS/EB SALP Coordinator
- DRSS SALP Coordinator
- L. Bettenhausen, DRS
- N. Blumberg, DRS
- P. Drysdale, DRS
- W. Lazarus, DRP
- N. Dudley, SRI Seabrook (w/concurrences and IFS Forms)
- R. Lobel, OEDO
- G. Edison, NRR
- W. Butler, NRP
- DRS File (1)

Drysdale/ajk/dmg

07/7/92

Blumberg

07/7/92

RI:DRS

Bettenhausen

## SEABROOK SERVICE LIST

Thomas Dignan, Esquire
John A. Ritscher, Esquire
Ropes and Gray
One International Place
Boston, Massachusetts 02110-2624

Mr. J. F. Opeka Northeast Utilities P. O. Box 270 Hartford, Connecticut 06141-0270

Mr. A. David Rodham, Director
Massachusetts Einergency Management Agency
400 Worchester Road, Box 1496
Framingham, Massachusetts 01701-0134
ATTN: Mr. James B. Muckerheide
State Nuclear Engineer

Robert Backus, Esquire
Backus, Meyer and Solomon
116 Lowell Street
Manchester, New Hampshire 03106

Mr. Peter Brann Assistant Attorney General State House, Station #6 Augusta, Maine 04333

Mr. T. L. Harpster North Atlantic Energy Service Corporation Post Office Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Seacoast Anti-Pollution League 5 Market Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, New Hampshire 03823 Diane Curran, Esquire Harmon and Weiss 2001 S Street, N.W. Suite 430 Washington, D.C. 20009

Regional Administrator, Region I U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 475 Allendale Road King of Prussia, Pennsylvania 19406

Barbara J. Saint Andres, Esquire Kopel & Paige, P.C. Counsel for Amesbury, Newburyport, and Salisbury 101 Arch Street Boston, Massachusetts 02110

Ashod N. Amirian, Esquire 145 South Main Street P.O. Box 38 Bradford, Massachusetts 01830

Mr. Alfred Sargent Chairman Board of Selectmen Salisbury, Massachusetts 01950

Office of the Attorney General One Ashburton Place 20th Floor Boston, Massachusetts 02108

Chairman, Board of Selectmen RFD 2 South Hampton, New Hampshire 03827

Stephen G. Burns, Director
Office of Commission Appellate
Adjudication
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Seabrook Service List

Gerald Garfield, Esquire Day, Berry and Howard City Place Hartford, Connecticut 06103-3499

Resident Inspector
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Seabrook Nuclear Power Station
Post Office Box 1149
Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Mr. R. M. Kacich Northeast Utilities Service Company P. O. Box 270 Hartford, Connecticut 06141-0270

Jane Spector
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
825 North Capital Street, N.E.
Room 8105
Washington, D.C. 20426

Mr. George L. Iverson, Director
New Hampshire Office of Emergency
Management
State Office Park South
107 Pleasant Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Atomic Safety and Licensing Board
Panel
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

John P. Arnold, Attorney General
G. Dana Bisbee, Associate Attorney
General
Attorney General's Office
25 Capitol Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Board of Selectmen Town of Amesbury Town Hall Amesbury, Massachusetts 01913

R. Scott Hill-Whilton, Esquire
Lagoulis, Clark, Hill-Whilton and
Rotondi
79 State Street
Newburyport, Massachusetts 01950

Mr. Rob Sweeney Three Metro Center Suite 610 Bethesda, Maryland 20814

Adjudicatory File (2)
Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel
Docket
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Vashington, D.C. 20555

Mir. Jack Dolan
Federal Emergency Management Agency
Region 1
J.W. McCormack Post Office and
Courthouse Building, Room 442
Boston, Massachusetts 02109

Congressman Nicholas Mavroules
U.S. House of Representatives
70 Washington Street
Salam, Massachusetts 01970

Mr. J. M. Peschel
North Atlantic Energy Service
Corporatior.
P. O. Box 300
Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874