

SEABROOK STATION Engineering Office

December 6, 1984

SBN- 736 T.F. Q2.2.2

## Public Service of New Hampshire

## **New Hampshire Yankee Division**

United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Region I 631 Park Avenue King of Prussia, PA 19406

Attention:

Mr. Richard W. Starostecki, Director Division of Project and Resident Programs

References:

- (a) Construction Permits CPPR-135 and CPPR-136, Docket Nos. 50-443 and 50-444
- (b) Telecon of August 20, 1984, A.L. Legendre, Jr. (YAEC) to J. Grant (Region I)
- (c) PSNH letter dated September 26, 1984, "Interim 10CFR 50.55(e) Report; CRDM Shroud" J. DeVincentis to R.W. Starostecki

Subject:

Interim 10 CFR50.55(e) Report: CRDM Shroud

Dear Sir:

We previously reported in reference (b) a potential 10CFR50.55(e) item to Region I regarding the seismic qualification of the Control Rod Drive Mechanism (CRDM) shroud.

We are currently working with Westinghouse to seismically qualify the CRDM shroud for its intended use as an intervening structural supporting element for the Class 1 Reactor Vessel Level Instrumentation System Piping and Class 1 Reactor Vessel Head Vent Piping.

Additional reports regarding this matter, including the information required by 10CFR50.55(e) will be provided by February 1, 1985.

Very truly yours,

John DeVincentis, Director Engineering and Licensing

cc: Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Service List

Director, Office of Inspection and Enforcement U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

8412270205 841206 PDR ADOCK 05000443 PDR ADOCK 05000443

10

P.O. Box 300 • Seabrook, NH 03874 • Telephone (603) 474-9521

William S. Jordan, III Diane Curran Harmon, Weiss & Jordan 20001 S Street N.W. Suite 430 Washington, D.C. 20009

Robert G. Perlis

Robert G. Perlis
Office of the Executive Legal Director
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, DC 20555

Robert A. Backus, Esquire 116 Lowell Street P.O. Box 516 Mancehster, NH 03105

Philip Ahrens, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Department of the Attorney General Augusta, ME 04333

Mr. John B. Tanzer
Designated Representative of
the Town of Hampton
5 Morningside Drive
Hampton, NH 03842

Roberta C. Pevear Designated Representative of the Town of Hampton Falls Drinkwater Road Hampton Falls, NH 03844

Mrs. Sandra Gavutis
Designated Representative of
the Town of Kensington
RFD 1
East Kingston, NH 03827

Jo Ann Shotwell, Esquire
Assistant Attorney General
Environmental Protection Bureau
Department of the Attorney General
One Ashburton Place, 19th Floor
Boston, MA 02108

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510 (Attn: Tom Burack)

Diana P. Randall 70 Collins Street SEabrook, NH 03874

Donald E. Chick Town Manager Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, NH 03833 Brentwood Board of Selectmen RED Dalton Road Brentwood, New Hampshire 03833

Edward F. Meany
Designated Representative of
the Town of Rye
155 Washington Road
Rye, NH 03870

Calvin A. Canney City Manager City Hall 126 Daniel Street Portsmouth, NH 03801

Dana Bisbee, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Office of the Attorney General 208 State House Annex Concord, NH 03301

Anne Verge, Chairperson Board of Selectmen Town Hall South Hampton, NH 03842

Patrick J. McKeon Selectmen's Office 10 Central Road Rye, NH 03870

Carole F. Kagan, Esq.
Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Mr. Angie Machiros Chairman of the Board of Selectmen Town of Newbury Newbury, MA 01950

Town Manager's Office Town Hall - Friend Street Amesbury, Ma. 01913

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey 1 Pillsbury Street Concord, NH 03301 (Attn: Herb Boynton)

Richard E. Sullivan, Mayor City Hall Newburyport, MA 01950