

SEABROOK STATION Engineering Office: 1671 Worcester Road Framingham, Mossochusetts 01701 (617) - 872 - 8100

Public Service of New Hampshire

November 29, 1984

NEW HAMPSHIRE YANKEE DIVISION

SBN-735 T. F. B7.1.2

United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D. C. 20555

Mr. George W. Knighton, Chief Attention: Licensing Branch No. 3 Division of Licensing

- References:
- (a) Construction Permits CPPR-135 and CPPR-136, Docket Nos. 50443 and 50-444
 - (b) USNRC Letter, dated February 6, 1984, "Request tor Additional Information - Flow Measurement Uncertainties", G. W. Knighton to R. J. Harrison
 - (c) PSNH Letter SBN-502, dated April 25, 1983, "Response to SER Outstanding Issue #7 (SER Section 4.4.5.2, Core Performance Branch)", J. DeVincentis to G. W. Knighton
- Response to SER Outstanding Issue #7; RCS Flow Measurement Subject: Uncertainty (SER Section 4.4.5.2, Core Performance Branch)

Dear Sir:

Enclosed are:

- 1. Two (2) copies of our responses to NRC Requests for Additional Information 492.6-492.9 regarding Flow Measurement Uncertainty, (Westinghouse Proprietary Class 2).
- Two (2) copies of our responses to NRC Requests for Additional 2. Information 492.6-492.9 regarding Flow Measurement Uncertainty, (Westinghouse Non-Proprietary Class 3).

Also enclosed are:

- One (1) copy of Application for Withholding, CAW-84-84 1. (Non-Proprietary).
- 2. One (1) copy of Affidavit AW-76-60 (Non-Proprietary). 11 Pool Charge: LPOR Wan POR POR Pup NTIS Santa

8412040110 841129 PDR ADUCK 0500044

1000 Elm St., P.O. Box 330, Manchester, NH 03105 • Telephone (603) 669-4000 • TWX 7102207595

United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Attention: Mr. George W. Knighton

Page 2

Our responses provide the Seabrook specific information requested and the results of the RCS Flow Measurement Uncertainty calculations which verify that the + 2% uncertainty assumed in the Technical Specifications is valid for Seabrook.

As the enclosure to this letter contains information proprietary to Westinghouse Electric Corporation, it is supported by an affidavit signed by Westinghouse, the owner of the information. The affidavit sets forth the basis on which the information may be withheld from public disclosure by the Commission and addresses with specificity the considerations listed in paragraph (b)(4) of Section 2.790 of the Commission's regulations.

Accordingly, it is respectfully requested that the information which is proprietary to Westinghouse be withheld from public disclosure in accordance with 10CFR Section 2.790 of the Commission's regulations. Correspondence with respect to the proprietary aspects of the Application for Withholding or the supporting Westinghouse affidavit should reference CAW-84-84 and should be addressed to R. A. Wiesemann, Manager, Regulatory and Legislative Affairs, Westinghouse Electric Corporation, P.O. Box 355, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15230.

Very truly yours,

John Rechants J. DeVincentis, Director

Engineering and Licensing

Enclosure

cc: Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Service List - Non-Proprietary Information Only

William S. Jordan, III Diane Curran Harmon, Weiss & Jordan 20001 S Street N.W. Suite 430 Washington, D.C. 20009

Robert G. Perlis Office of the Executive Legal Director U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Robert A. Backus, Esquire 116 Lowell Street P.O. Box 516 Mancehster, NH 03105

Philip Ahrens, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Department of the Attorney General Augusta, ME 04333

Mr. John B. Tanzer Designated Representative of the Town of Hampton 5 Morningside Drive Hampton, NH 03842

Roberta C. Pevear Designated Representative of the Town of Hampton Falls Drinkwater Road Hampton Falls, NH 03844

Mrs. Sandra Gavutis Designated Representative of the Town of Kensington RFD 1 East Kingston, NH 03827

Jo Ann Shotwell, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Environmental Protection Bureau Department of the Attorney General One Ashburton Place, 19th Floor Boston, MA 02108

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510 (Attn: Tom Burack)

Diana P. Randall 70 Collins Street SEabrook, NH 03874

Donald E. Chick Town Manager Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, NH 03833 Brentwood Board of Selectmen RED Dalton Road Brentwood, New Hampshire 03833

Edward F. Meany Designated Representative of the Town of Rye 155 Washington Road Rye, NH 03870

Calvin A. Canney City Manager City Hall 126 Daniel Street Portsmouth, NH 03801

Dana Bisbee, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Office of the Attorney General 208 State House Annex Concord, NH 03301

Anne Verge, Chairperson Board of Selectmen Town Hall South Hampton, NH 03842

Patrick J. McKeon Selectmen's Office 10 Central Road Rye, NH 0387C

Carole F. Kagan, Esq. Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Mr. Angie Machiros Chairman of the Board of Selectmen Town of Newbury Newbury, MA 01950

Town Manager's Office Town Hall - Friend Street Amesbury, Ma. 01913

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey 1 Pillsbury Street Concord, NH 03301 (Attn: Herb Boynton)

Richard E. Sullivan, Mayor City Hall Newburyport, MA 01950