Docket Nos.: 50-443 and 50-444

Mr. Robert J. Harrison President & Chief Executive Officer Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 330 Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Dear Mr. Harrison:

SUBJECT: SEABROOK OA PROGRAM CHANGES

Public Service Company of New Hampshire (PSNH) submitted Amendment 50 to the FSAR modifying certain portions of the Chapter 17, Operational OA Program. In addition to the amendment, PSNH's letter of August 31, 1984 provides the staff information regarding the establishment of a new division within PSNH called New Hampshire Yankee (NHY) with prime responsibility for the construction, operation, maintenance and refueling of Seabrook Station, Units 1 and 2. Accordingly, the staff has reviewed this material as it affects the Safety Evaluation Report (SER),

The staff has completed the review of the new organization as it pertains to the SER including additional information provided at our request in PSNH's letter of October 31, 1984. Since the reorganization was within PSNH, the staff review focused on the continued acceptability of the "Quality Assurance Program" and its implementation. The staff has completed its review and as stated in the Enclosure 1, finds Amendment 53 including the newly established NHY organization acceptable. The revised SER material in Enclosure 2 will be included in a future Supplement to the Seabrook Nuclear Station SER (NUREG-0896).

Questions or additional information regarding this matter should be directed to the Seabrook Project Manager, Mr. V. Nerses.

Sincerely,

Original signed by Darrell G. Eisenbut

Darrell G. Eisenhut, Director Division of Licensing

Local PDR

Enclosures: As stated

cc: See next page

DISTRIBUTION: Docket File LB#3 Reading EJordan DL:LB#3

485

NGrace thee/

JGilray.

NRC PDR JLee

VNerses ACRS(16

NSIC DL:AD/ TMMovak 1/30/85 PRC System Attorney, OELD

Mr. Robert J. Harrison President and Chief Executive Officer Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 330 Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Thomas Dignan, Esq. John A. Ritscher, Esq. Ropes and Gray 225 Franklin Street Boston, Massachusetts 02110

Mr. Bruce B. Beckley, Project Manager Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 330 Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Dr. Mauray Tye, President Sun Valley Association 209 Summer Street Haverhill, Massachusetts 01839

Robert A. Backus, Esq. O'Neil, Backus and Spielman 116 Lowell Street Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Ms. Beverly A. Hollingworth 7 A Street Hampton Beach, New Hampshire 03842

William S. Jordan, III Diane Curran Harmon, Weiss & Jordan 20001 S Street, NW Suite 430 Washington, DC 20009

Jo Ann Shotwell, Esq.
Office of the Assistant Attorney General
Environmental Protection Division
One Ashburton Place
Boston, Massachusetts 02108

D. Pierre G. Cameron, Jr., Esq. General Counsel Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 330 Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Regional Administrator - Region I U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 631 Park Avenue King of Prussia, Pennsylvania 19406 E. Tupper Kinder, Esq.
G. Dana Risbee, Esq.
Assistant Attorney General
Office of Attorney General
208 State Hosue Annex
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Resident Inspector Seabrook Nuclear Power Station c/o US Nuclear Regulatory Commission Post Office Box 700 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Mr. John DeVincentis, Director
Engineering and Licensing
Yankee Atomic Electric Company
1671 Worchester Road
Framingham, Massachusetts 01701
Mr. A. M. Ebner, Project Manager
United Engineers & Constructors
30 South 17th Street
Post Office Box 8223
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19101

Mr. Philip Ahrens, Esq. Assistant Attorney General State House, Station #6 Augusta, Maine 04333

Mr. Warren Hall
Public Service Company of
New Hampshire
Post Office Box 330
Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Seacoast Anti-Pollution League Ms. Jane Doughty 5 Market Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Mr. Diana P. Randall 70 Collins Street Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874 Mr. Calvin A. Canney, City Manager City Hall 126 Daniel Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Ms. Letty Hert Town of Brentwood RFD Dalton Road Brentwood, New Hampshire 03833

Ms. Roberta C. Pevear Town of Hampton Falls, New Hampshire Drinkwater Road Hampton Falls, New Hampshire 03844

Ms. Sandra Gavutis
Town of Kensington, New Hampshire
RDF 1
East Kingston, New Hampshire 03827

Ms. Anne Verge, Chairman Board of Selectmen Town Hall South Hampton, New Hampshire 03842

Mr. Angie Machiros, Chairman Board of Selectmen for the Town of Newbury Newbury, Massachusetts 01950

Ms. Rosemary Cashman, Chairman Board of Selectmen Town of Amesbury Town Hall Amesbury, Massachusetts 01913

Honorable Richard E. Sullivan Mayor, City of Newburyport Office of the Mayor City Hall Newburyport, Massachusetts 01950

Mr. Donald E. Chick, Town Manager Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, New Hampshire 03823

Mr. William B. Derrickson Senior Vice President Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 700, Route 1 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874 Mr. Alfred V. Sargent, Chairman Board of Selectmen Town of Salisbury, MA 01950

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey U. S. Senate Washington, DC 20510 (Attn: Tom Burack)

Senator Gordan J. Humphrey 1 Pillsbury Street Concord, New Hampshire 03301 (Attn: Herb Boynton)

Mr. Owen B. Durgin, Chairman Durham Board of Selectmen Town of Durham Durham, New Hampshire 03824

Charles Cross, Esq. Shaines, Mardrigan and McEaschern 25 Maplewood Avenue Post Office Box 366 Portsmouth, NH 03801

Mr. Guy Chichester, Chaiman Rye Nuclear Intervention Committee c/o Rye Town Hall 10 Central Road Rye, New Hampshire 03870

Jane Spector
Federal Energy Regulatory
Commission
825 North Capital Street, NE
Room 8105
Washington, D. C. 20426

Mr. R. Sweeney
New Hampshire Yankee Division
Public Service of New Hampshire
Company
7910 Woodmont Avenue
Betnesda, Maryland 20814