

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D. C. 20555

September 13, 1984

TO: THOSE ON ATTACHED LIST

In the Matter of LONG ISLAND LIGHTING COMPANY (Shoreham Nuclear Power Station, Unit 1) Docket No. 50-322-0L-3 (Emergency Planning)

Gentlemen and Mesdames:

This letter is being written at the direction of the Licensing Board Chairman in this proceeding, in lieu of the issuance of a Board Order.

A telephone conference call was held on September 12, 1984, with regard to the "NRC Staff's Motion for Extension of Time" filed on September 11, 1984, and responses thereto filed by LILCO and Suffolk County. Participating in the conference call were Administrative Judge James A. Laurenson, Licensing Board Chairman; Mr. Donald P. Irwin, for LILCO; Mr. Lawrence C. Lanpher, for Suffolk County (present with him, but not speaking, was Mr. Richard J. Zahnleuter, for the State of New York); and Mr. Sherwin E. Turk, for the NRC Staff.

The following proposal was advanced jointly by LILCO, Suffolk County, the State of New York, and the NRC Staff, with respect to the schedule for filing responses to "LILCO's Motion for Summary Disposition of Contentions 1-10 (The 'Legal Authority' Issues)," filed on August 6, 1984:

September 24, 1984

Responses to be filed by Suffolk County and the State of New York (to be received by the NRC Staff by 5:00 p.m.)

"84 SEP 20 P3:55

October 4, 1984

Response to be filed by the NRC Slaff

October 15, 1984

Reply to be filed by LILCO

The schedule proposed by the parties, as set forth herein, was considered and approved by the Licensing Board Chairman.

Sincerely,

Sherwin & Ture

Sherwin E. Turk Deputy Assistant Chief Hearing Counsel

8409210236 840913 PDR ADOCK 05000322 G PDR

11.00)

LIST OF ADDRESSEES

Jonathan D. Feinberg, Esq. Howard L. Blau, Esq. Cherif Sedkey, Esq. Herbert H. Brown, Esq. Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Karla Letsche, Esq. Edward M. Barrett, Esq. Marc W. Goldsmith Fabian G. Palomino, Esq. Hon. Peter Cohalan John F. Shea, III, Esq. James B. Dougherty, Esq. Stewart M. Glass, Esq. Ms. Nora Bredes Gerald C. Crotty, Esq. Chris Nolin James A. Laurenson, Chairman Dr. Jerry R. Kline Mr. Frederick J. Shon

Norman L. Greene, Esq. W. Taylor Reveley III, Esq. Stephen B. Latham, Esq. Eleanor L. Frucci, Esq. Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Board Panel Lawrence Coe Lanpher, Esq. Mr. Brian McCaffrey Martin Bradley Ashare, Esq. MHB Technical Associates Mr. Jay Dunkleberger Docketing and Service Section Ken Robinson, Esq. Spence Perry, Esq. Leon Friedman, Esq. Ben Wiles, Esq.