

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION REGION II 101 MARIETTA STREET, N.W., SUITE 2900

ATLANTA, GEORGIA 30323-0199

FEB 1 5 1996

Mr. Ellis Godbee, Chairman Burke County Board of Commissioners P.O. Box 62 Waynesboro, GA 30830

Dear Mr. Godbee:

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC), as part of its responsibility of regulating nuclear power plants, periodically evaluates the performance of its licensees through a program called the Systematic Assessment of Licensee Performance (SALP). Through this program, we review and evaluate our licensees' performance in the four major categories of: Plant Operations. Maintenance, Engineering, and Plant Support. The Plant Support category includes an assessment of licensee performance with regard to emergency preparedness.

On March 14, 1996, representatives of the NRC will meet with the management of the Georgia Power Company to discuss the Vogtle Electric Generating Plant's performance over the past 18 months. You are invited to attend this meeting as an observer.

Subsequent to this meeting, we have scheduled time to meet with you, and other members of your staff as you deem appropriate, to discuss matters of mutual interest with regard to the regulation and performance of Vogtle.

This SALP meeting is scheduled to be conducted at 10:00 a.m. at the Administration Building at the Vogtle site. The proposed meeting with you and other local and State officials will be conducted at the Administration Building at the Vogtle site shortly after the conclusion of the SALP. Your schedule permitting, we look forward to meeting with you at that time. In the interim, please do not hesitate to contact me directly or other members of my staff if we can be of further assistance to you.

Sincerely.

Stewart D. Ebneter Regional Administrator

VOGTLE SALP INVITATION LIST

Mr. Ellis Godbee, Chairman Burke County Board of Commissioners P.O. Box 62 Waynesboro, GA 30830

Mr. Woodrow Harvey, Commissioner Burke County Board of Commissioners P.O. Box 62 Waynesboro, GA 30830

Mr. Frank Williams, Commissioner Burke County Board of Commissioners P.O. Box 62 Waynesboro, GA 30830

Mr. Herman Lodge Commissioner Burke County Board of Commissioners P.O. Box 62 Waynesboro, GA 30830

Mr. Jimmy Dixon Commissioner Burke County Board of Commissioners P.O. Box 62 Waynesboro, GA 30830

Mr. Earl Porterfield. Director Burke County Emergency Management Agency 277 Highway 24 S. Waynesboro, GA 30830

Mr. Henry Tinley
Operations Officer
Burke County Emergency
Management Agency
277 Highway 24 S.
Waynesboro, GA 30830

Mr. C. W. Hooper Burke County Manager P.O. Box 62 Waynesboro, GA 30830

Mr. William Shepherd Aiken County Administrator 828 Richland Avenue W. Aiken, SC 29801

Mr. Bobby Mauney Coordinator, Aiken County Emergency Preparedness Division 828 Richland Avenue W. Aiken, SC 29801

Mrs. Jan Bradley Clerk to Barnwell County Council Rm 105 County Office Building Barnwell, SC 29812

Mr. Joseph E. Hair, Jr.
Coordinator, Barnwell County
Disaster Preparedness Agency
Barnwell County Courthouse
Barnwell, SC 29812

Ms. Norvia R. Walker
Interim Director
Allendale County Emergency
Preparedness Agency
P.O. Box 507
Allendale, SC 29810

Mr. H. W. Priester. Jr. Interim Administrator Barnwell County P.O. Box 678 Allendale, SC 29810 Dr. Mario P. Fiori, Manager Savannah River Field Office U.S. Department of Energy P.O. Box A Aiken, SC 29802

Mr. Mike Sherberger Director, Georgia Emergency Management Agency P. O. Box 18055 Atlanta, GA 30316

Mr. Ronald W. Kinney, Director Division of Waste Assessment and Emergency Response Department of Health and Environmental Control 2600 Bull Street Columbia, SC 29201

Mr. James Setser, Chief Program Coordination Branch Environmental Protection Division Department of Natural Resources 205 Butler St., Suite 1152 E. Tower Atlanta. GA 30334

Mr. Stanley M. McKinney South Carolina Emergency Preparedness Division 1429 Senate Street Columbia, SC 29201

Mr. Virgil R. Autry
Director, Division of Radioactive
Waste Management
Department of Health and
Environmental Control
2600 Bull Street
Columbia, SC 29201

Mr. Kenneth D. Hutchison Regional Director Federal Emergency Management Agency, Region IV 1371 Peachtree Street, NE Atlanta, GA 30309