Docket No. 50-443

Mr. Ted C. Feigenbaum President and Chief Executive Officer New Hampshire Yankee Division Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Dear Mr. Feigenbaum:

SUBJET: NRC BULLETIN 88-01, "DEFECTS IN WESTINGHOUSE CIRCUIT BREAKERS" (TAC NO. M67721)

The purpose of this letter is to document our closure of the subject issue.

On February 5, 1988, NRC Bulletin 88-01 was issued and requested holders of operating licenses or construction permits to provide letters of confirmation to the NRC of the completion of specified inspections on Westinghouse DS series circuit breakers. Addresses who do not have DS series circuit breakers in Class 1E service were requested to provide a letter to the NRC stating this fact.

Your response dated March 30, 1988, confirmed that you have performed the requested inspections on all relevant circuit breakers and that corrective actions, when needed, have been or will be completed in accordance with the NRC Bulletin. NRC Inspection Report 50-443/88-06, dated June 16, 1988, documented your satisfactory implementation of corrective actions. Your response to Bulletin 88-01 is satisfactory, and no further reply is necessary. By this letter I am closing TAC No. #67721

Sincerely,

Gordon E. Edison, Senior Project Manager Project Directorate I-3 Division of Reactor Projects - I/II Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

cc: See next page

OFFICE	PDJ-3/LA	PDI-3/PM	(A)D: 01-3		
NAME	MRushbrock	GEdison:mw	TNepses		
DATE	5/12/92	5/12/92	5/1/92	1 1	1 / /

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY FILENAME: SEM67721.LTR

NRC FILE CENTER COPY

9205280002 920512 PDR ADOCK 05000443 Q PDR DISTRIBUTION:
Docket File 50-443
NRC & Local PDRs
PDI-3 Reading File
S. Varga
J. Calvo
V. Nerses
M. Rushbrook
G. Edison
ACRS(10)
J. Linville, Region I
R. Lobel
OGC
E. Jordan
B. Grimes

N. Dudley, Region I W. Lazarus, Region I

D. Hood

Mr. Ted C. Feigenbaum

cc:

Thomas Dignan, Esq.
John A. Ritsher, Esq.
Lopes and Gray
One International Place
Boston, Massachusetts 02110-2624

Dr. Mauray Tye, President Sun Valley Association 209 Summer Street Haverhill, Massachusetts 018.5

Barbara J. Saint Andres, Esquire Kopelman & Paige, P.C. Counsel for Amesbury, Newburyport & Salisbury 101 Arch Street Boston, Massachusetts 02110

Robert Backus, Esq.
Backus, Meyer and Solomon
116 Lowell Street
Manchester, New Hampshire 03106

Diane Curran, Esq. Harmon and Weiss 2001 S Street, N.W. Suite 430 Washington, DC 20009

Mr. Peter Brann Assistant Attorney General State House, Station #6 Augusta, Maine 04333

Secoast Anti-Pollution League 5 Market Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Resident Inspector
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Seabrook Nuclear Power Station
Post Office Box 1149
Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Seabrook

Mr. T. L. Harpster Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, New Hampshire 03823

Gerald Garfield, Esq. Day, Berry and Howard City Place Hartford, Connecticut 06103-3499

Mr. J. F. Opeka Northeast Utilities P.O. Box 270 Hartford, Connecticut 06141-0270

Mr. R. M. Kacich Northeast Utilities Service Company P. O. Box 270 Hartford, Connecticut 06141-0270

Jane Spector
Federal Energy Regulatory
Commission
825 North Capital Street, N.E.
Room 8105
Washington, D.C. 20426

Mr. Rob Sweeney Three Metro Center Suite 610 Bethesda, Maryland 20814

Mr. George! Iverson, Director
New Hampshir Office of Emergency
Mragement
State Office Park South
107 Pleasant Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Adjudicatory File (2)
Atomic Safety and Licensing Board
Panel Docket
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

£

Mr. Ted C. Feigenbaum

cc:

Regional Administrator, Region I U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 475 Allendale Road King of Prussia, Pennsylvania 19406

Ashod N. Amirian, Esq. 145 South Main Street P.O. Box 38 Bradford, Massachusetts 01830

Mr. Alfred Sargent Chairman Board of Selectmen Salisbury, Massachusetts 01950

Office of the Attorney General One Ashburton Place 20th Floor Boston, Massachusetts 02108

Durham Board of Selectmen Town of Durham Durham, New Hampshire 03824

Chairman, Board of Selectmen RFD 2 South Hampton, New Hampshire 03827

R. Scott Hill-Whilton, Esquire
 Lagoulis, Clark, Hill-Whilton
 & Rotondi
 79 State Street
 Newburyport, Massachusetts 01950

Board of Selectmen Town of Amesbury Town Hall Amesbury, Massachusetts 01913

Mr. Leon Maglathlin
Public Service Company
of New Hampshire
1000 Elm Street
Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Seabrook

Mr. Jack Dolan
Federal Emergency Management Agency
Region I
J.W. McCormack Post Office &
Courthouse Building, Room 442
Boston, Massachusetts 02109

Mr. J. M. Peschel Public Service Company of New Hampshire P.O. Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Stephen G. Burns, Director
Office of Commission Appellate
Adjudication
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Mr. David Rodham, Director Massachusetts Civil Defense Agency 400 Worcester Road P.O.Box 1496 Framingham Massachusetts 01701-031? ATTN: James Muckerheide

Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

John P. Arnold, Attorney General G. Dana Bisbee, Associate Attorney General Attorney General's Office 25 Capitol Street Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Congressman Nicholas Mavroules U. S. House of Representatives 70 Washington Street Salem, Massachusetts 01970

2