Docket No. 50-443

Mr. Ted C. Feigenbaum President and Chief Executive Officer New Hampshire Yankee Division Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Dear Mr. Feigenbaum:

SUBJECT: NRC REGION 1 INSPECTION 50-443/92-05 (3/3/92 - 4/6/92)

This refers to the safety inspection findings of the resident inspectors at Seabrook station for the period noted. The inspection results are described in the enclosed report and were discussed with Mr. B. Drawbridge of your staff.

Overall, this inspection found that the facility was safely operated. However, we noted that there was a continuing failure to manage the use of overtime which has the potential to cause personnel errors. An apparent violation of NRC overtime requirements is cited in the enclosed Notice of Violation (NOV). Please respond to the apparent violation in accordance with the directions in the NOV.

Thank you for your cooperation.

Sincerely,

Original Signed By: James C. Linville

James C. Linville, Chief Projects Branch No. 3 Division of Reactor Projects

Enclosures:

1. Notice of Violation

2. NRC Region I Inspection Report 50-443/92-05

PDR ADOCK 05000443 PDR 110062 OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

Mr. Ted C. Feigenbaum

cc w/encls:

L. E. Maclathlin, Jr., President and Chief Executive Officer, PSNH Senior Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, NHY J. M. Peschel, Regulatory Compliance, NHY R. M. Kacich, Manager of Generation Facilities Licensing, NUSCO J. F. Opeka, Executive Vice President, NU B. L. Drawbridge, Executive Director of Nuclear Production G. Garfield, Esquire W. DiProfio, Station Manager, NHY T. Harpster, Director of Licensing Services R. Hallisey, Director, Dept. of Public Health, Commonwealth of Massachusetts S. Woodhouse, Legislative Assistant T. Rapone, Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety Public Document Room (PDR) Local Public Document Room (LPDR) Nuclear Safety Information Center (NSIC) K. Abraham, PAO (2 copies) NRC Resident Inspector State of New Hampshire, SLO Commonwealth of Massachusetts, SLO Designee Seabrook Service List

2

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

Mr. Ted C. Feigenbaum

bee w/encls: Region I Docket Room (with concurrences and IFS Forms) Management Assistant, DRMA (w/o encl) DRS SALP Coordinator DRSS SALP Coordinator W. Lazarus, DRP J. Linville, DRP N. Dudley, SRI - Seabrook (w/concurrences and IFS Forms) R. Lobel, OEDO G. Edison, NRR W. Butler, NRR

3

bcc w/Letter, Enclosure 1, and Executive Summary Only: T. Martin, RA W. Kane, DRA C. Hehl, DRP J. Wiggins, DRP R. Cooper, DRSS W. Hodges, DRS W. Lanning, DRS J. Durr, DRS L. Bettenhausen, DRS J. Joyner, DRSS

RI:DRP

RI:DRP Lazafug



Dudley/meo 4/13/92

> OFFICIAL RECORD COPY A:SB9205.MEO

SEABROOK SERVICE LIST

Thomas Dignan, Esquire John A. Ritscher, Esquire Ropes and Gray One International Place Boston, Massachusetts 02110-2624

Mr. J. F. Opeka Northeast Utilities P. O. Box 270 Hartford, Connecticut 06141-0270

Mr. A. David Rodham, Director
Massachusetts Emergency Management Agency
400 Worchester Road, Box 1496
Framingham, Massachusetts 01701-0134
ATTN: Mr. James B. Muckerheide
State Nuclear Engineer

Robert Backus, Esquire Backus, Meyer and Solomon 116 Lowell Street Manchester, New Hampshire 03106

Mr. Peter Brann Assistant Attorney General State House, Station #6 Augusta, Maine 04333

Mr. T. L. Harpster Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Seacoast Anti-Pollution League 5 Market Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, New Hampshire 03823 Diane Curran, Esquire Harmon and Weiss 2001 S Street, N.W. Suite 430 Washington, D.C. 20009

Regional Administrator, Region I U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 475 Allendale Road King of Prussia, Pennsylvania 19406

Barbara J. Saint Andres, Esquire
Kopel & Paige, P.C.
Counsel for Amesbury, Newburyport, and Salisbury
101 Arch Street
Boston, Massachusetts 02110

Ashod N. Amirian, Esquire 145 South Main Street P.O. Box 38 Bradford, Massachusetts 01830

Mr. Alfred Sargent Chairman Board of Selectmen Salisbury, Massachusetts 01950

Office of the Attorney General One Ashburton Place 20th Floor Boston, Massachusetts 02108

Durham Board of Selectmen Town of Durham Durham, New Kampshire 03824

Chairman, Board of Selectmen RFD 2 South Hampton, New Hampshire 03827

GFFICIAL RECORD COPY

Senbrook Service List

Gerald Garfield, Esquire Day, Berry and Howard City Place Hartford, Connecticut 06103-3499

Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Seabrook Nuclear Power Station Post Office Box 1149 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Mr. R. M. Kacich Northeast Utilities Service Company P. O. Box 270 Hartford, Connecticut 06141-0270

Jane Spector Federal Energy Regulatory Commission 825 North Capital Street, N.E. Room 8105 Washington, D.C. 20426

Mr. George L. Iverson, Director
New Hampshire Office of Emergency Management
State Office Park South
107 Pleasant Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Mr. Leon Maglathlin Public Service Company of New Hampshire 1000 Elm Street Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555 Board of Selectmen Town of Amesbury Town Hall Amesbury, Massachusetts 01913

R. Scott Hill-Whilton, Esquire
Lagoulis, Clark, Hill-Whilton and
Rotondi
79 State Street
Newburyport, Massachusetts 01950

Mr. Rob Sweeney Three Metro Center Suite 610 Bethesda, Maryland 20814

Adjudicatory File (2) Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Docket U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Mr. Jack Dolan Federai Emergency Management Agency Region I J.W. McCormack Post Office and Courthouse Building, Room 442 Boston, Massachusetts 02109

Mr. J. M. PeschelPublic Service Company of New HampshireP. O. Box 300Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Congressman Nicholas Mavroules U.S. House of Representatives 70 Washington Street Salem, Massachusetts 01970

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

2

Seabrook Service List

John P. Arnold, Attorney General G. Dana Bisbee, Associate Attorney General Attorney General's Office 25 Capitol Street Concord, New Hampshire 03301 Stephen G. Burns, Director
Office of Commission Appellate
Adjudication
U.S. Nucl. ir Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY