RELATED CORRESPONDENCE

329

August 22, 1984

Business and Professional People for the Public Interest 109 North Dearborn Street, Suite 1300 . Chicago, Illinois 60602 . Telephone: (312) 641-5570

"84 AGO 27 AT1 :38

DOCKETING & SERVIN BRANCH

DOCKETED USNRC

Mr. Peter Crane United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of the General Counsel Washington D. C. 20555

> Re: Northern Indiana Public Service Company (Bailly Unit 1) 0 Docket No. 50-367 (fee petition)

Dear Peter:

As you know, BPI filed an application for fees and expenses under the Equal Access to Justice Act on June 4, 1982, well over two years ago. I was informed that the Commission was waiting to act on that petition until receipt of advice by the Comptroller General of the United States. That advice was received by you nearly one year ago, on September 29, 1983.

While I have written the NRC a number of times in the past two years asking for resolution of our petition, no such resolution has been forthcoming. Our last contact was a telephone call from Beverly Segal in early March stating that she was unclear whether there was a way for the NRC to make payment.

We believe payment is clearly authorized by 5 USC §504(d)(1), and that there ought to be no issue in this regard. Accordingly, there ought to be no impediment to the Commission's grant of our petition.

There comes a time when an agency's failure to act becomes an act in itself, and, in our view, reasonable time has long since passed for the NRC to take action on this matter.

8408280194 840822 PDR ADOCK 05000367

Direc 'ors

James W Ashiey President

Julian L. Berman Richard P. Kiphart Dora Williams Vice Presidents

Charles M Hill, Sr. Treasurer

Sylvia R. Scheinfeld Secretary

James M Alter Lucy B Ascoli Roland C. Baker Barbara T Bowman Dougrass W Cassel, Jr. Frank Cicero Marilyn D Clancy George Cohan Donaid R Dann Leon M. Despres Carol Y Farwell Steve Fifter Leon D. Finney

PDR

Staunton O. Flanders Herbert B. Fried Bernard Gordon Ronald Grzywinski Martin C. Hausman Christie Helner Peter Hunt Arnold B. Kanter Joseph Keilman Eiliot Lehman Robert B. Litton Michael D. Maltz E Hoy McConneil II John L. McKnight

Byron S. Miller Elena B. Mulcahy Eugene Pekow Alexander Polikoff Jeremy Warburg Russo Alan Saks Bettylu K. Saitzman Dianne L. Sautter Bill Singer Cecil J. Troy Robert J. Vollen Jamos O. Webb Morton Weisman Wayne W. Whalen

Staff

Alexander Polikoff Executive Director Douglass W. Cassel, Jr. General Counsel John R. Hamme'l Mary Galloway James Elizabeth L. Lassar Howard A. Learner Jane M. Whicher Altorneys

Julie M. Kuzera Director of Development

Jeanne L. Yeidel Administrative Assistant Past Presidents

Gordon B. Sherman Eiliot Lehman Robert B. Lifton

Mr. Peter Crane United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission August 22, 1984 Page Two

Would you please contact me concerning how we can most expeditiously bring this matter to a resolution?

Very truly yours,

-Joo M. Whichor

Jane M. Whicher

JMW/lds

cc/

- 1 .

Herbert Grossman, Esq.

Dr. Robert L. Holton

Dr. Kenneth McCollum

Ms. Ann Hodgen

Mr. Maurice Axelrad

William P. Schultz, Esq. Dr. George Schultz

Mr. Mike Olszanski

Mr. William H. Eichorn

Ms. Anne Rapkin

Mr. Samuel J. Chilk, Secretary of the Commission

Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Board Panel Docketing and Service Section

٠,