

## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D. C. 20555

RELATED CORRESPONDENCE

August 7, 1984

DOCKETED

\*84 AGO -8 P12:19

OFFICE OF SECRETARY SERVICE

James A. Laurenson, Chairman Administrative Judge Atomic Safety and Licensing Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Mr. Frederick J. Shon Administrative Judge Atomic Safety and Licensing Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555 Dr. Jerry R. Kline Administrative Judge Atomic Safety and Licensing Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

In the Matter of
LONG ISLAND LIGHTING COMPANY
(Shoreham Nuclear Power Station, Unit 1)
Docket No. 50-322-0L-3 (Emergency Planning)

Dear Administrative Judges:

The purpose of this letter is to advise that the NRC staff has no objection to the following motions recently filed with the Licensing Board.

- "LILCO's Motion to Admit Revised Testimony on Phase II Emergency Planning Contentions 24.0, 74 and 75 (Relocation Centers)" - dated July 30, 1984.
- "Suffolk County's Motion to Admit Proposed Modified Emergency Planning Contention 88 and Suffolk County's Revised Testimony on Emergency Planning Contentions 85 and 88" - dated August 1, 1984.

With respect to the Suffolk County "Motion to Compel LILCO to Produce Frank M. Rasbury, A LILCO Witness, For Deposition," the Staff as in the past

DSOT

takes no position as to this motion since it involves a discovery dispute between other parties to this proceeding.

Sincerely,

Bernard M. Bordenick Counsel for NRC Staff

cc: Jonathan D. Feinberg, Esq.
Howard L. Blau, Esq.
Cherif Sedkey, Esq.
Herbert H. Brown, Esq.
Atomic Safety and Licensing
Board Panel
Karla Letsche, Esq.
Edward M. Barrett, Esq.
Marc W. Goldsmith
Fabian G. Palomino, Esq.
Hon. Peter Cohalan
John F. Shea, III, Esq.
James B. Dougherty, Esq.
Stewart M. Glass, Esq.
Ms. Nora Bredes
Gerald C. Crotty, Esq.
Chris Nolin

Norman L. Greene, Esq.
W. Taylor Reveley III, Esq.
Stephen B. Latham, Esq.
Eleanor L. Frucci, Esq.
Atomic Safety and Licensing
Appeal Board Panel
Lawrence Coe Lanpher, Esq.
Mr. Brian McCaffrey
Martin Bradley Ashare, Esq.
MHB Technical Associates
Mr. Jay Dunkleberger
Docketing and Service Section
Ken Robinson, Esq.
Spence Perry, Esq.
Leon Friedman, Sq.
Ben Wiles, Esq.