July 26, 1984

D(R 016

Docket No. 50-313

Mr. John M. Griffin, Senior Vice President of Energy Supply Arkansas Power & Light Company P. O. Box 551 Little Rock, Arkansas 72203

Dear Mr. Griffin:

DISTRIBUTION
Docket File
NRC PDR
L PDR
ORB#4 Rdg
DEisenhut
OELD
EJordan
JNGrace

ACRS-10

EB1ackwood

HOrnstein RIngram GVissing Gray File

We have completed our review of your responses to Generic Letter 81-14, "Seismic Qualification of Auxiliary Feedwater Systems" dated February 10, 1981, for Arkansas Nuclear One, Unit No. 1 (ANO-1). We note that you have identified certain portions of the Emergency Feedwater (EFW) initiation/control system which are not presently seismically qualified and that these portions will be upgraded to Seismic Category 1 criteria during your next refueling outage. We conclude that upon implementation the EFW system upgrade during the next refueling outage that the EFW system at ANO-1 will have sufficient seismic capability to withstand a safe shutdown earthquake and accomplish its safety function. Our associated Safety Evaluation Report is enclosed.

Sincerely,

George W. Rivenbark, Acting Chief Operating Reactors Branch #4 Division of Licensing

Enclosure: Safety Evaluation

cc w/enclosure: See next page

ORB#4:DL GVissing;cf 7/20/84 ORBAN:DL GRivenbark 7/2/84 MILY ASB: DSL OPARR 7/3484 cc w/enclosure(s):

Mr. John R. Marshall Manager, Licensing Arkansas Power & Light Company P. O. Box 551 Little Rock, Arkansas 72203

Mr. James M. Levine General Manager Arkansas Nuclear One P. O. Box 608 Russellville, Arkansas 72801

Mr. W. D. Johnson U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission P. O. Box 2090 Russellville, Arkansas 72801

Mr. Robert B. Borsum
Babcock & Wilcox
Nuclear Power Generation Division
Suite 220, 7910 Woodmont Avenue
Bethesda, Maryland 20814

Mr. Nicholas S. Reynolds Bishop, Liberman, Cook, Purcell & Reynolds 1200 17th Street, NW Washington, DC 20036

Honorable Ermil Grant Acting County Judge of Pope County Pope County Courthouse Russellville, Arkansas 72801

Regional Radiation Representative EPA Region VI 1201 Elm Street Dallas, Texas 75270

Mr. John T. Collins, Regional Administrator U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Region IV 611 Ryan Plaza Drive, Suite 1000 Arlington, Texas 76011

Mr. Frank Wilson
Director, Division of Environmental
Health Protection
Department of Health
Arkansas Department of Health
4815 West Markham Street
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201