Arizona Public Service Company

1984 JUL 19 PH 1: 38

July 16, 1984 REGION VIGE ANPP-29971-TDS/TRB

U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Region V Creekside Oaks Office Park 1450 Maria Lane - Suite 210 Walnut Creek, CA 94596-5368

Attention: Mr. T. W. Bishop, Director Division of Resident

Reactor Projects and Engineering Programs

Subject: Time Extension For Report - DER 83-63

A 50.55(e) Potentially Reportable Deficiency Relating To HPSI Isolation Valves By Borg-Warner Failed To Open Against HPSI

'A' and 'B' Pump Flows. File: 84-019-026; D.4.33.2

Reference: (A) Telephone conversation between P. Narbut and R. Tucker on September 20, 1983

(B) ANPP-28072, dated October 24, 1984 (Interim Report)
(C) ANPP-28954, dated February 28, 1984 (Time Extension)

(D) ANPP-29131, dated March 22, 1984 (Final Report)

- (E) Telephone Conversation between P. Narbut and T. Bradish on April 2, 1984
- (F) ANPP-29395, dated April 30, 1984 (Interim Report, Rev. 1)

Dear Sir:

The NRC was notified of a potentially reportable deficiency in Reference (A), an Interim Report was transmitted by Reference (B) a Time Extension was requested by Reference (C), and a Final Report was transmitted by Reference (D).

The NRC was notified in Reference (E), that the corrective action specified in Reference (D) failed to correct the deficiency and the subject DER had been re-opened. subsequently, a revised Interim Report was transmitted by Reference (F).

Due to the extensive investigation and evaluation required and to ensure that the root cause of the problem is properly identified and corrected, a Time Extension is requested.

8408030240 840716 PDR ADOCK 05000528 PDR Mr. T. W. Bishop DER-83-63 Page Two

It is now expected a Final Report will be submitted by August 31 1984.

Very truly yours,

E. E. Van Brunt, Jr. APS Vice President Nuclear Production ANPP Project Director

EEVB/TRB:db

cc:

Richard DeYoung, Director Office of Inspection and Enforcement U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D. C. 20555

T. G. Woods, Jr.

D. B. Karner

W. E. Ide

D. B. Fasnacht

A. C. Rogers

L. A. Souza

D. E. Fowler

T. D. Shriver

C. N. Russo

J. Vorees

J. R. Bynum

J. M. Allen

J. A. Brand

A. C. Gehr

W. J. Stubblefield

W. G. Bingham

R. L. Patterson

R. W. Welcher

H. D. Foster

D. R. Hawkinson

L. E. Vorderbrueggen

R. P. Zimmerman

S. R. Frost

J. Self

D. Canady

T. J. Bloom

Records Center Institute of Nuclear Power Operations 1100 Circle 75 Parkway, Suite 1500 Atlanta, GA 30339