Docket No. 50-289

GPU Nuclear Corporation ATTN: Mr. H. D. Hukill Vice President and Director of TMI-1 P. O. Box 480 Middletown, Pennsylvania 17057

Gentlemen:

Subject: Inspection No. 50-289/84-22

This refers to the routine inspection conducted by Mr. E. H. Gray of this office on July 23 - 27, 1984, at Three Mile Island Nuclear Station, Unit 1, at Middletown, Pennsylvania, of activities authorized by NRC License No. DPR-50 and to the discussions of our findings held by Mr. E. H. Gray on July 26, 1984 with Mr. C. Smyth and Mr. P. C. Wen on July 27, 1984 with Mr. H. D. Hukill at the conclusion of the inspection.

Areas examined during this inspection are described in the NRC Region I Inspection Report which is enclosed with this letter. Within these areas, the inspection consisted of selective examinations of procedures and representative records, interviews with personnel, and observations by the inspector.

Within the scope of this inspection, no violations were observed.

In accordance with 10 CFR 2.790(a), a copy of this letter and the enclosure will be placed in the NRC Public Document Room unless you notify this office, by telephone, within ten days of the date of this letter and submit written application to withhold information contained therein within thirty days of the date of this letter. Such application must be consistent with the requirements of 10 CFR 2.790(b)(1). The telephone notification of your intent to request withholding, or any request for an extension of the 10-day period which you believe necessary, should be made to the Supervisor, Files, Mail and Records, USNRC Region I, at (215) 337-5223.

No reply to this letter is required. Your cooperation with us in this matter is appreciated.

Sincerely.

Original Signed By:

Lee Il. Betterhouses Thomas T. Martin, Director Division of Engineering and

Technical Programs

8410220211 840924 PDR ADOCK 05000289

DL50-289/84-22 - 0001.0.0 09/05/84



Enclosure: NRC Region I Inspection Report Number 50-289/84-22

cc w/encl:

R. J. Toole, Operations and Maintenance Director, TMI-1

C. W. Smyth, Manager, TMI-1 Licensing J. S. Wetmore, Manager, PWR Licensing

J. B. Liberman, Esquire
G. F. Trowbridge, Esquire
TMI-1 Hearing Service List (34)
Public Document Room (PDR)
Local Public Document Room (LPDR)

Nuclear Safety Information Center (NSIC)

NRC Resident Inspector Commonwealth of Pennsylvania

Ms. Mary V. Southard, Co-Chairman, Citizens for a Safe Environment (Without Report)

bcc w/encl:

Region I Docket Room (with concurrences)
P. J. Grant, Acting Deputy Program Director, TMI Program Office
J. Goldberg, OELD: HQ
Senior Operations Officer (w/o encls)
E. Conner, DPRP Section Chief, #1B
J. Van Vliet, PM. NRR

RI:DETP Wen/kl 9/6/84 PcW RI:DETP Gray 9/12/84 E/HG.

RI:DETP Manoly 9//0/84 RI:DETP Durr 9/12/84 RI:DETP Ebneter 924/84

TMI-1 Hearing Service List

Administrative Judge
Gary J. Edles, Chairman
Atomic Safety & Licensing
Appeal Board
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Administrative Judge John H. Buck Atomic Safety & Licensing Appeal Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Administrative Judge Christine N. Kohl Atomic Safety & Licensing Appeal Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Atomic Safety & L'ensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Docketing & Service Section (3) Office of the Secretary U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Mr. Henry D. Hukill Vice President GPU Nuclear Corporation Post Office Box 480 Middletown, PA 17057

Michael F. McBride, Esquire LeBouef, Lamb, Leiby & MacRae 1333 New Hampshire Avenue, N.W. Suite 1100 Washington, D.C. 20036

Ms. Louise Bradford TMI ALERT 1011 Green Street Harrisburg, PA 17102 Administrative Judge
Ivan W. Smith, Chairman
Atomic Safety & Licensing Board
U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Michael W. Maupin, Esquire Hunton & Williams 707 East Main Street Post Office Box 1535 Richmond, VA 23212

Administrative Judge Gustave A. Linenberger, Jr. Atomic Safety & Licensing Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Administrative Judge Sheldon J. Wolfe Atomic Safety & Licensing Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Atomic Safety & Licensing Appeal Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Jordan D. Cunningham, Esquire Fox, Farr & Cunningham 2320 North Second Street Harrisburg, PA 17110

Ellyn R. Weiss, Esquire (1) Harmon, Weiss & Jordan 2001 S. Street, N.W. Suite 340 Washington, D.C. 20009

Mr. Steven C. Sholly
Union of Concerned Scientists
1346 Connecticut Avenue, N-W.
Dupont Circle Bldg., Suite 1101
Washington, D.C. 20036

Ms. Marjorie Aamodt R.D. 5 Coatesville, PA 19320

Lynne Bernabei, Esquire Government Accountability Project 1555 Connecticut Avenue, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20009

George F. Trowbridge, Esquire Shaw, Pittman, Potts & Trowbridge 1800 M Street, N.W. Washington, D.C. 20036

Mr. Thomas Gerusky Bureau of Radiation Protection Department of Environmental Resources P.O. Box 2063 Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17120

Thomas Y. Au, Esquire Office of Chief Counsel Department of Environmental Resources P.O. Box 2063 Harrisburg, Pennsylvania 17120

Mr. Marvin I. Lewis 6504 Bradford Terrace Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19149

Mr. C. W. Smyth, Manager Licensing, TMI-1 Three Mile Island Nuclear Station P.O. Box 480 Middletown, Pennsylvania 17057 Chauncy Kepford Judith H. Johnsrud Environmental Coalition on Nuclear Power 433 Orlando Avenue State College, PA 16801

William S. Jordan, III, Esquire Harmon, Weiss & Jordan 2001 S Street, N.W. Suite 430 Washington, D.C. 20009

Ms. Frieda Berryhill, Chairman Coalition for Nuclear Power Plant Postponement 2610 Grendon Drive Wilmington, Delaware 19808

Judge Reginald L. Gotchy
Atomic Safety and Licensing
Appeal Board
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Dr. Lawrence R. Quarles
Atomic Safety and Licensing
Appeal Board
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

4s. Jane Lee RD 3, Box 3521 Etters, Pennsylvania 17319

Allen R. Carter, Chairman
Joint Legislative Committee on Energy
Post Office Box 142
Suite 513
Senate Gressette Building
Columbia, South Carolina 29202