Docket Nos.: 50-443

and 50-444

OCT 6 1984

DISTRIBUTION

Docket File 50-443/444

NRC PDR Local PDR NSIC

PRC System

LB#3 Reading

NGrace EJordan ACRS(16)

Mr. Robinson J. Harrison President & Chief Executive Officer Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 330

Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

JLee VNerses

Attorney, OELD

RKirkwood RBosnak

Dear Mr. Harrison:

Subject: Use of ASME Code Case N-368 for the Seabrook Station Units 1 and 2,

Docket Nos. 50-443 and 50-444

In a request dated June 22, 1984, you requested authorization to use ASME Code Case N-368 for application in the pressure testing of piping associated with the discharge side of Code Classes 2 and 3 centrifugal pumps for Seabrook Station Units 1 and 2. In a response dated July 30, 1984 we approved the use of Code Case N-368 as conditionally acceptable.

Since the approval of Code Case N-368, we recently received a copy of a letter from Westinghouse (NS-EPR-2938) to NRC dated July 13, 1984 in which Westinghouse notified the NRC of a reportable item associated with the design of component cooling water systems supplied by Westinghouse. This item was reported under 10 CFR 21 as a Substantial Safety Hazard.

At this time we are not aware if there are similarities in the design of the component cooling water systems (CCWS) supplied by Westinghouse and those of Seabrook 1&2 such that it may be inappropriate to use Code Case N-368. We recommend that you assess the relevance of the Westinghouse notification to those fluid systems which will utilize Code Case N-368 and provide us the results of your assessment.

Questions or additional information regarding this matter, and specifically this letter, should be directed to the Seabrook Project Manager, Mr. Victor Nerses. (301) 492-7238.

Sincerely.

Original staned by: George W. Kalghton

8410150553 841006 PDR ADDCK 05000443

George W. Knighton, Chief Licensing Branch No. 3 Division of Licensing

cc: See next page

VNerses/yt no 13/84

GWKnAahton

Mr. Robert J. Harrison President and Chief Executive Officer Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 330 Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Thomas Dignan, Esq.
John A. Ritscher, Esq.
Ropes and Gray
225 Franklin Street
Boston, Massachusetts 02110

Mr. Bruce B. Beckley, Project Manager Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 330 Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Dr. Mauray Tye, President Sun Valley Association 209 Summer Street Haverhill, Massachusetts 01839

Robert A. Backus, Esq. O'Neil, Backus and Spielman 116 Lowell Street Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Ms. Beverly A. Hollingworth 7 A Street Hampton Beach, New Hampshire 03842

William S. Jordan, III Diane Curran Harmon, Weiss & Jordan 20001 S Street, NW Suite 430 Washington, DC 20009

Jo Ann Shotwell, Esq.
Office of the Assistant Attorney General
Environmental Protection Division
One Ashburton Place
Boston, Massachusetts 02108

D. Pierre G. Cameron, Jr., Esq. General Counsel Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 330 Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Regional Administrator - Region I U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 631 Park Avenue King of Prussia, Pennsylvania 19406 E. Tupper Kinder, Esq.
G. Dana Bisbee, Esq.
Assistant Attorney General
Office of Attorney General
208 State Hosue Annex
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Resident Inspector Seabrook Nuclear Power Station c/o US Nuclear Regulatory Commission Post Office Box 700 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Mr. John DeVincentis, Project Manager Yankee Atomic Electric Company 1671 Worchester Road Framingham, Massachusetts 01701

Mr. A. M. Ebner, Project Manager United Engineers & Constructors 30 South 17th Street Post Office Box 8223 Philadelphia, Pennsylvania 19101

Mr. Philip Ahrens, Esq. Assistant Attorney General State House, Station #6 Augusta, Maine 04333

Mr. Warren Hall
Public Service Company of
New Hampshire
Post Office Box 330
Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Seacoast Anti-Pollution League Ms. Jane Doughty 5 Market Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Mr. Diana P. Randall 70 Collins Street Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874 Mr. Calvin A. Canney, City Manager City Hall 126 Daniel Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Ms. Letty Hett Town of Brentwood RFD Daltcn Road Brentwood, New Hampshire 03833

Ms. Roberta C. Pevear Town of Hampton Falls, New Hampshire Drinkwater Road Hampton Falls, New Hampshire 03844

Ms. Sandra Gavutis Town of Kensington, New Hampshire RDF 1 East Kingston, New Hampshire 03827

Ms. Anne Verge, Chairman Board of Selectmen Town Hall South Hampton, New Hampshire 03842

Mr. Angie Machiros, Chairman Board of Selectmen for the Town of Newbury Newbury, Massachusetts 01950

Ms. Rosemary Cashman, Chairman Board of Selectmen Town of Amesbury Town Hall Amesbury, Massachusetts 01913

Honorable Richard E. Sullivan Mayor, City of Newburyport Office of the Mayor City Hall Newburyport, Massachusetts 01950

Mr. Donald E. Chick, Town Manager Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, New Hampshire 03823 Mr. Alfred V. Sargent, Chairman Board of Selectmen Town of Salisbury, MA 01950

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey U. S. Senate Washington, DC 20510 (Attn: Tom Burack)

Senator Gordan J. Humphrey 1 Pillsbury Street Concord, New Hampshire 03301 (Attn: Herb Boynton)

Mr. Owen B. Durgin, Chairman Durham Board of Selectmen Town of Durham Durham, New Hampshire 03824

Charles Cross, Esq. Shaines, Mardrigan and McEaschern 25 Maplewood Avenue Post Office Box 366 Portsmouth, NH 03801

Mr. Guy Chichester, Chaiman Rye Nuclear Intervention Committee c/o Rye Town Hall 10 Central Road Rye, New Hampshire 03870

Jane Spector
Federal Energy Regulatory
Commission
825 North Capital Street, NE
Room 8105
Washington, D. C. 20426