June 20, 1984

Docket No. 50-333

Mr. J. P. Bayne Executive Vice President. Nuclear Generation Power Authority of the State of New York 123 Main Street White Plains, New York 10601

DISTRIBUTION Docket File NRC PDR Local PDR ORB#2 Reading DEisenhut OELD SNorris HAbelson. ELJordan JNGrace ACRS (10) Gray File

Dear Mr. Bayne:

Your letter dated January 26, 1984 requested a temporary exemption from the requirements of the licensed operator staffing rule (10 CFR 50.54(m)(2)) for the James A. FitzPatrick Nuclear Power Plant. Specifically, it was requested that licensed operator staffing be reduced from two SROs per shift as required by the rule, to one SRO per shift for the period until June 1985. On March 22, 1984 we met with members of your staff to discuss this matter in detail.

Based on our review, we believe that your request for an exemption is premature in that the Commission has not established final criteria for qualifications of personnel serving in dual-role positions as SRO/STAs. For the reasons stated in the enclosed Safety Evaluation, we are denying your exemption request for continued operation for a 15-month period with only one SRO on each shift.

Sincerely,

Frank Managlia

Darrell G. Eisenhut, Director Division of Licensing Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Enclosure: As stated

cc w/enclosure: See next page



8407110075 840 PDR ADOCK 05000333 PDR

DL **TRB#2** DVassallo 06/5 /84

OELD DL:AB-OR GLainas 06/15/84 06/11)

/84

Mr. J. P. Bayne Power Authority of the State of New York James A. FitzPatrick Nuclear Power Plant

cc:

Mr. Charles M. Pratt Assistant General Counsel Power Authority of the State of New York 10 Columbus Circle New York, New York 10019

U. S. Environmental Protection Agency Region II Office Regional Radiation Representative 26 Federal Plaza New York, New York 10007

Mr. Corbin A. McNeill, Jr. Resident Manager James A. FitzPatrick Nuclear Power Plant Post Office Box 41 Lycoming, New York 13093

Mr. J. A. Gray, Jr. Director - Nuclear Licensing - BWR Power Authority of the State of New York 123 Main Street White Plains, New York 10601

Mr. Robert P. Jones, Supervisor Town of Scriba R. D. #4 Oswego, New York 13126

Mr. Leroy W. Sinclair Power Authority of the State of New York 10 Columbus Circle New York, New York 10019 Mr. Jay Dunkleberger Division of Policy Analysis and Planning New York State Energy Office Agency Building 2 Empire State Plaza Albany, New York 12223

Resident Inspector's Office U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Post Office Box 136 Lycoming, New York 13093

Mr. A. Klausman Vice President - Quality Assurance Power Authority of the State of New York 10 Columbus Circle New York, New York 10019

Mr. George Wilverding, Chairman Safety Review Committee Power Authority of the State of New York 123 Main Street White Plains, New York 10601

Mr. M. C. Cosgrove Ouality Assurance Superintendent James A. FitzPatrick Nuclear Power Plant Post Office Box 41 Lycoming, New York 13093

Thomas A. Murley Regional Administrator Region I Office U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 631 Park Avenue King of Prussia, Pennsylvania 19406