

SEABROOK STATION Engineering Office: 1671 Worcester Road Framingham, Massachusetts 01701 (617) - 872 - 8100

June 29, 1984 SBN- 677 T.F. B4.2.99

United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D. C. 20555

Attention: Mr. George W. Knighton, Chief Licensing Branch No. 3 Division of Licensing

References:

- (a) Construction Permits CPPR-135 and CPPR-136, Docket Nos. 50-443 and 50-444
- (b) USNRC Letter, dated July 8, 1983, "Required Action Based on Generic Implications of Salem ATWS Events (Generic Letter 83-28)", D. G. Eisenhut to All Licensees of Operating Reactors, Applicants for Operating License, and Holders of Construction Permits
- (c) PSNH Letter, dated November 4, 1983, "Response to Generic Letter 83-28", J. DeVincentis to G. W. Knighton

H055

Subject: Revised Response to Generic Letter 83-28 (position 4.3); Shunt Trip Automation

Dear Sir:

7050271

840

In our response to Generic Letter 83-28 (Position 4.3) which required that Westinghouse and B&W reactors be modified by providing automatic reactor trip system actuation of the breaker shunt trip attachments, we committed to an automatic shunt trip modification (Class 1E qualified) similar to that described in the generic design package submitted to the NRC by Letter OG-101 on June 14, 1983.

We estimated that the plant-specific information requested by the Safety Evaluation Report forwarded by letter dated August 10, 1983, would be submitted by July 1984. We have yet to receive the Westinghouse prepared field change instructions and recommended test procedures which will provide the groundwork for our plant-specific response.

We expect our field change instructions in July of this year; however, recommended test procedures will not be available until November 1984.

United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Attention: Mr. George W. Knighton, Chief

June 29, 1984 Page 2

In light of the above schedules we will submit our plant-specific design and test information by December 31, 1984.

Very truly yours,

YANKEE ATOMIC ELECTRIC COMPANY

milel ty

Dohn DeVincentis Engineering Manager

JDV/kg

cc: Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Service List

Director, Office of Inspection and Enforcement U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555 William S. Jordan, III, Esquire Harmon & Weiss 1725 I Street, N.W. Suite 506 Washington, DC 20006

Roy P. Lessy, Jr., Esquire Office of the Executive Legal Director U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Robert A. Backus, Esquire 116 Lowell Street P.O. Box 516 Mancehster, NH 03105

Philip Ahrens, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Department of the Attorney General Augusta, ME 04333

Mr. John B. Tanzer Designated Representative of the Town of Hampton 5 Morningside Drive Hampton, NH 03842

Roberta C. Pevear Designated Representative of the Town of Hampton Falls Drinkwater Road Hampton Falls, NH 03844

Mrs. Sandra Gavutis Designated Representative of the Town of Kensington RFD 1 East Kingston, NH 03827

Jo Ann Shotwell, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Environmental Protection Bureau Department of the Attorney General One Ashburton Place, 19th Floor Boston, MA 02108

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510 (Attn: Tom Burack)

Diana P. Randall 70 Collins Street SEabrook, NH 03874

Donald E. Chick Town Manager Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, N3 03833 Brentwood Board of Selectmen RED Dalton Road Brentwood, New Hampshire 03833

Edward F. Meany Designated Representative of the Town of Rye 155 Washington Road Rye, NH 03870

Calvin A. Canney City Manager City Hall 126 Daniel Street Portsmouth, NH 03801

Dana Bisbee, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Office of the Attorney General 208 State House Annex Concord, NH 03301

Anne Verge, Chairperson Board of Selectmen Town Hall South Hampton, NH 03842

Patrick J. McKeon Selectmen's Office 10 Central Road Rye, NH 03870

Carole F. Kagan, Esq. Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Mr. Angle Machiros Chairman of the Board of Selectmen Town of Newbury Newbury, MA 01950

Town Manager's Office Town Hall - Friend Street Amesbury, Ma. 01913

Senator Cordon J. Humphrey 1 Pillsbury Street Concord, NH 03301 (Attn: Herb Boynton)

Richard E. Sullivan, Mayor Chiry Hall Newburyport, MA 01950