Docket No. 50-298 License No. DPR-46

Nebraska Public Power District ATTN: Guy R. Horn, Nuclear Power Group Manager P.O. Box 499 Columbus, Nebraska 68602-0499

Gentlemen:

Enclosed is a letter from Dennis Kwiatkowski of the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) dated November 20, 1991, transmitting to NRC the FEMA Region VII report for the July 24-25, 1991, emergency exercise at Cooper Nuclear Station. The States of Iowa, Missouri, and Nebraska; the counties of Atchison and Nodaway in Missouri; and Nemaha and Richardson in Nebraska participated in the exercise. A copy of the report has been forwarded by FEMA to the States of Iowa, Missouri, and Nebraska.

The FEMA report dated October 24, 1991, identified no deficiencies nor were any inadequacies identified for the State of Iowa. There were, however, 22 areas requiring corrective action identified including 13 for the State of Nebraska and affected counties and 9 for the State of Missouri and affected counties. You are requested to followup with offsite officials on the areas requiring corrective action.

Based on the results of the July 24-25, 1991, exercise, emergency response plans and preparedness for the Cooper Nuclear Station are adequate to provide reasonable assurance that appropriate measures can be taken offsite to protect the health and safety of the public in the event of a radiological emergency at the site.

No response to NRC is required. If you have any further questions, please contact Dr. D. Blair Spitzberg at (817) 860-8191.

Sincerely.

Original signed by

A. Bill Beach, Director
Division of Reactor Projects

Enclosure: As stated

cc: (see next page)

RIV:FIPS DBSpitzberg:nh Z/18/92

C:FIPS N BMurray 4 6/92 D:DRSS Lucalian 248/92 AI 92-058

D/DSP Abbeach 2/19/92

9202270084 920220 PDR ADDCK 05000298 FDR 18 1E35

ca w/o enclosure: Nebraska Public Power District ATTN: G. D. Watson, General Counsel P.O. Box 499 Columbus, Nebraska 68602-0499

Cooper Nuclear Station
ATTN: John M. Meacham, Division
Manager, Nuclear Operations
P.O. Box 98
Brownville, Nebraska 68321

Nebraska Department of Environmental Control ATTN: Randolph Wood, Director P.O. Box 98922 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-8922

Nemaha County Board of Commissioners ATTN: Larry Bohlken, Chairman Nemaha County Courthouse 1824 N Street Auburn, Nebraska 68305

Nebraska Department of Health
ATTN: Harold Borchert, Director
Division of Radiological Health
301 Centennial Mall, South
P.O. Box 95007
Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-5007

Kansas Radiation Control Program Director

Program Manager FEMA Region 7 911 Walnut Street, Room 200 Kansas City, Missouri 64106

Director Nebraska Civil Defense Agency 1300 Military Road Lincoln, Nebraska 68508 bcc to DMB (A045)

bcc distrib. by RIV w/report:
Resident Inspector
B. Murray, FIPS
D. B. Spitzberg, FIPS
RSTS
FIPS File
RIV File

bcc w/o report:
R. Martin, RA
J. Callan, DRSS
J. Jaudon, DRSS
Project Engineer DRP/E. Collins
DRP
MIS System
C. A. Hackney, SLO
R. Erickson, NRR

## bcc to DMB (A045)

bcc distrib. by RIV w/report:
Resident Inspector
B. Murray, FIPS
D. B. Spitzberg, FIPS
RSTS
FIPS File
RIV File

bcc w/o report:
R. Martin. RA
J. Callan, DRSS
J. Jaudon, DRSS
Project Engineer DRP/E. Collins
DRP
MIS System
C. A. Hackney, SLO
R. Erickson, NRR