JAN 3 0 1992

Docket No. 50-298 License No. DPR-46

Nebraska Public Power District AiTN: Guy R. Horn Nuclear Power Group Manager P.O. Box 499 Columbus, NE 68602-0499

Gentlemen:

SUBJECT: NRC INSPECTION REPORT NO. 50-298/91-27

This refers to the inspection conducted by Messrs. W. C. Walker, R. V. Azua, R. A. Kopriva, and E. E. Collins of this office from December 7, 1991, through January 18, 1992. The inspection included a review of activities authorized for your Cooper Nuclear Station facility. At the conclusion of the inspection, the findings were discussed with Mr. J. M. Meacham and those members of the plant staff identified in the enclosed report.

Areas examined during the inspection are identified in the report. Within these areas, the inspection consisted of selective examination of procedures and representative records, interviews with personnel, and observations of activities in progress.

Within the scope of this inspection, no violations or deviations were identified.

In accordance with 10 CFR Part 2.790 of the NRC's "Rules of Practice," a copy of this letter and its enclosure will be placed in the NRC Public Document Room.

Should you have any questions concerning this inspection, we will be pleased to discuss them with you.

Sincerely, Original Signed By: A. B. BEACH A. Bill Beach, Director Division of Reactor Projects

TEOI

Enclosure: Appendix - NRC Inspection Report 50-298/91-27

cc: (see next page)

PE: DARAE C: ORPYO EECollins PHHanke 01/21/92 920209002 PDR ADOCK

Nebraska Public Power District

-2-

cc w/enclosure: Nebraska Public Prwer District ATTN: G. D. Watson, General Coursel P.O. Box 499 Columbus, Nebraska 68602-0499

Cooper Nuclear Station NTTN: John' Meacham, Division Manager, Nuclear Operations P.O. Box 98 Brownville, Nebraska 68321

Nebraska Department of Environmental Control ATTN: Randolph Wood, Director P.O. Box 98922 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-8922

Nemaha County Board of Commissioners ATTN: Larry Bohlken, Chairman Nemaha County Courthouse 1824 N Street Auburn, Nebraska 68305

Nebraska Department of Health ATTN: Harold Borchert, Director Division of Radiological Health 301 Centennial Mall, South P.O. Box 95007 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-5007

Kansas Radiation Control Program Director

bcc to DM3 (IEO1)

bcc distrib. by RIV: R. D. Martin Section Chief (DRP/C) DRSS-RPEPS RIV File RSTS Operator Senior Resident Inspector - River Bend Senior Resident Inspector - Fort Calhoun DRS

Resident Inspector Lisa Shea, RM/ALF MIS System Project Engineer (DRP/C) DRP

Nebraska Public Power District

cc w/erclosure: Nebraska Public Power District ATTN: G. D. Watson, General Counsel P.O. Box 499 Columbus, Nebraska 68602-0499

+2+

Cooper Nuclear Station ATTN: John M. Meacham, Division Manager, Nuclear Operations P.O. Box 98 Brownville, Nebraska 68321

Nebraska Department of Environmental Control ATTN: Randolph Wood, Director P.O. Box 98922 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-8922

Nemaha County Board of Commissioners ATTN: Larry Bohlken, Chairman Nemaha County Courthouse 1824 N Street Auburn, Nebraska 68305

Nebraska Department of Health ATTN: Harold Borchert, Director Division of Radiological Health 301 Centennial Mall, South P.O. Box 95007 Lincoln, Nebraska 68509-5007

Kansas Radiation Control Program Director

bcc to DMB (IE01)

bcc distrib. by RIV: R. D. Martin Section Chief (DRP/C) DRSS-RPEPS RIV File RSTS Operator Senior Resident Inspector - River Bend Senior Resident Inspector - Fort Calhoun DRS

Resident Inspector Lisa Shea, RM/ALF MIS System Project Engineer (DRP/C) DRP