



## NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D. C. 20555

DOCKETED

May 29, 1984

\*84 JUN -1 A10:24

DOCKETING & SERVING BRANCH

Michael I. Miller, Esq. Isham Lincoln & Beale Three First National Plaza Chicago, IL 60602

Jane Whicher, Esq. 109 N. Dearborn Street Chicago, IL 60602

In the Matter of COMMONWEALTH EDISON COMPANY (Byron Station, Units 1 and 2) Docket Nos. 50-454 and 50-455

Dear Jane and Mike:

At our meeting in Chicago last Thursday, May 25, 1989, Jane asked that the Staff provide a list of all personnel who have been involved in the Byron reinspection program and a description of their involvement. I agreed to assemble and provide that information without the need for formal discovery.

The following information responds to Jane's request. There may be changes to this list as additional information is gathered; if so, I will provide any such changes promptly. With respect to the third column below, an individual is considered to have a role in the development of the reinspection program if: they helped formulate the NRC position; they provided comments or suggestions on proposed positions; or they reviewed and concurred in all or any part of the program. An individual is considered to have a role in the evaluation of the reinspection program if: they reviewed inspection results for technical adequacy, completeness and/or understandability; or they reviewed in whole or part drafts, interim or final reports of program results for technical content, accuracy, completeness and/or compliance to program requirements or commitments. An individual is considered to have a role in the implementation of the reinspection program if they conducted inspection to gather facts or to verify any part of the program requirements or commitments.

Name		Position	Role
A. B.	Davis	Deputy Regional Administrator	Development Evaluation
C. E.	Norelius	Director, Division of Project and Resident Programs (DPRP)	Development Evaluation
R. L.	Spessard	Director, Division of Engineering Programs (DE)	Development Evaluation

7501

J. M. Taylor	Deputy Director, Office of Inspection and Enforcement	Development
W. L. Belke	QA Engineer, Office of Inspection and Enforcement	Development
S. D. Richardson	Technical Assistant to Division of Reactor Programs (Now Section Chief, Operating Reactor Programs Branch)	Development
W. S. Little	Chief, Branch 2, DE	Development Evaluation
R. C. Knop	Chief, Branch 1, DPRP (Now Chief, Section IA, DPRP)	Development
S. W. Hayes	Chief, Section IB, DPRP	Development Implementation Evaluation
C. C. Williams	Chief, Plant Systems Section, DE	Development Evaluation
D. H. Danielson	Chief, Materials and Processes Section, DE	Development Evaluation
W. L. Forney	Senior Resident Inspection (SRI) Byron Station (Now Chief, Section 1A, DPRP)	Development Implementation Evaluation
J. M. Hinds	Projection Inspector, DPRP (Now SRI, Byron Station)	Development Implementation Evaluation
K. A. Connaughton	Resident Inspector, Byron Station, DPRP	Development Implementation Evaluation
J. Muffett	Reactor Inspector, DE	Implementation Evaluation
R. S. Love	Reactor Inspector, DE	Implementation Evaluation
J. F. Norton	Reactor Inspector, DE	Implementation Evaluation
W. J. Key	Reactor Inspector, DE	Implementation

K. D. Ward

Reactor Inspector, DE Evaluation

Implementation

D. E. Keating

Reactor Inspector

Implementation

T. Harpster

Chief, Quality Assurance

Development

Branch, I&E

(No longer employed by the NRC.)

Also at our meeting last week, I informed you that the Staff have identified William Little, D. Hayes and Kevin Connaughton as persons who will be witnesses in the remanded proceeding. We will identify additional witness as decisions are made on them.

Sincerely,

Richard J. Rawson Deputy Assistant Chief Hearing Counsel

cc: Joseph Gallo, Esq. Region III, U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Dr. Bruce von Zellen Ms. Pat Morrison Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel

Dr. A. Dixon Callihan

DISTRIBUTION: Reis/Rawson/Young/Gray Christenbury Murray 01mstead Lieberman B. Youngblood, 316 L.01shan,316 Chron(2) FF(2) NRC: PDR/LPDR

Docketing & Service Section Mrs. Phillip B. Johnson Ms. Diane Chavez Doug Cassel, Esq. Ivan W. Smith Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Board Panel Dr. Richard F. Cole

DS07

OFC : OELD	: OELD OBC :				:
NAME :RRaswon:1r					
DATE :05/29/84	:05/29/84	:	:	:	: