Docket No. 50-443

Public Service Company of New Hampshire
Attn: Mr. T. C. Feigenbaum, President
and Chief Executive Officer
New Hampshire Yankee Division
P. O. Box 300
Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Dear Mr. Feigenbaum:

SUBJECT: REQUALIFICATION PROGRAM EVALUATION REPORT NO. 50-443/92-06(OL-RQ)

On February 26, 1992, the NRC administered a retake of the walk-through segment of the requalification examination to an employee of your company. The evaluation addressed areas important to public health and safety and was conducted in accordance with Revision 6 to NUREG-1021, Operator Licensing Examiner Standards. At the conclusion of the examination, the preliminary findings were discussed with the members of your staff identified in the enclosed report.

In accordance with 10 CFR 2.790 of the Commission's regulations, a copy of this letter and the enclosure will be placed in the Public Document Room.

Should you have any questions regarding this examination, please contact Peter Eselgroth at 215-337-5211.

Sincerely,

Lee H. Bettenhausen, Chief

Operations Branch

Division of Reactor Safety

Enclosure: 1

Requalification Program Evaluation Report No.

50-443/92-06 (OL-RQ) w/Attachment 1

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY - K:SEARPT & A:SEARPT

3/25/92

9204060052 920526 PDR ADDOK 05000443

p 63 1

Attachment 1- New Hampshire Yankee letter dated February 27, 1992

cc w/encl:

L. E. Maglathlin, Jr., President and Chief Executive Officer, PSNH Senior Vice President and Chief Operating Officer, NHY

J. M. Peschel, Regulatory Compliance, NHY

R. M. Kacich, Manager of Generation Facilities Licensing, NUSCO

J. F. Opeka, Executive Vice President, NU

B. L. Drawbridge, Executive Director of Nuclear Production

G. Garfield, Esquire

W. DiProfio, Station Manager, NHY

T. Harpster, Director of Licensing Services

R. Hallisey, Director, Dept. of Public Health, Commonwealth of Massachusetts

S. Woodhouse, Legislative Assistant

T. Rapone, Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety

Public Document Room (PDR)

Local Public Document Room (LPDR)

Nuclear Safety Information Center (NSIC)

K. Abraham, PAO (2)

NRC Resident Inspector

State of New Hampshire, SLO

Commonwealth of Massachusetts, SLO Designee

Seabrook Service List

bcc w/encl:

Region I Docket Room (with concurrences and IFS Forms)

Management Assistant, DRMA (w/o encl)

L. Bettenhausen, DRS

P. Eselgroth, DRS

W. Lazarus, DRP

J. Linvilie, DRP

N. Dudley, SRI - Seabrook (w/concurrences and IFS Forms)

R. Lobel, OEDO

G. Edison, NRR

W. Butler, NRR

K. Ihnen, DRS

R. Temps, DRS

OL Facility File

DRS Files (3)

RI:DRS Ihnen/ajk/dmg RI-DBS Escheroth

03/25/92

RI:DRS Bettenhausen

6345/92

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY - K:SEARPT & A:SEARPT 3/25/92

SEABROOK SERVICE LIST

Thomas Dignan, Esquire
John A. Ritscher, Esquire
Ropes and Gray
One International Place
Boston, Massachusetts 02110-2624

Dr. Mauray Tye, President Sun Valley Association 209 Summer Street Haverhill, Massachusetts 01831

Mr. A. David Rodham, Director
Massachusetts Emergency Management Agency
400 Worchester Road, Box 1496
Framingham, Massachusetts 01701-0134
ATTN: Mr. James B. Muckerheide
State Nuclear Engineer

Robert Backus, Esquire Backus, Meyer and Solomon 116 Lowell Street Manchester, New Hampshire 03106

Mr. Peter Brann Assistant Attorney General State House, Station #6 Augusta, Maine 04333

Mr. T. L. Harpster Public Service Company of New Hampshire Post Office Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Seacoast Anti-Pollution League 5 Market Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, New Hampshire 03823 Diane Curran, Esquire Harmon and Weiss 2001 S Street, N.W. Suite 430 Washington, D.C. 20009

Regional Administrator, Region I U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 475 Allendale Road King of Prussia, Pennsylvania 19406

Barbara J. Saint Andres, Esquire Kopel & Paige, P.C. Counsel for Amesbury, Newburyport, and Salisbury 101 Arch Street Boston, Massachusetts 02110

Ashod N. Amirian, Esquire 145 South Main Street P.O. Box 38 Bradford, Massachusetts 01830

Mr. Alfred Sargent Chairman Board of Selectmen Salisbury, Massachusetts 01950

Office of the Attorney General One Ashburton Place 20th Floor Boston, Massachusetts 02108

Durham Board of Selectmen Town of Durham Durham, New Hampshire 03824

Chairman, Board of Selectmen RFD 2 South Hampton, New Hampshire 03827 Seabrook Service List

Gerald Garfield, Esquire Day, Berry and Howard City Place Hartford, Connecticut 06103-3499

Resident Inspector
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Seabrook Nuclear Power Station
Post Office Box 1149
Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Mr. R. M. Kacich Northeast Utilities Service Company P. O. Box 270 Hartford, Connecticut 06141-0270

Jane Spector
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
825 North Capital Street, N.E.
Room 8105
Washington, D.C. 20426

Mr. George L. Iverson, Director New Hampshire Office of Emergency Management State Office Park South 107 Pleasant Street Concord, New Hampshire (3301)

Mr. Leon Maglathlin
Public Service Company of
New Hampshire
1000 Elm Street
Manchester, New Hampshire 03105

Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555 Board of Selectmen
Town of Amesbury
Town Hall
Amesbury, Massachusetts 01913

R. Scott Hill-Whilton, Esquire
Lagoulis, Clark, Hill-Whilton and
Rotondi
79 State Street
Newburyport, Massachusetts 01950

Mr. Rob Sweeney Three Metro Center Suite 610 Bethesda, Maryland 20814

Adjudicatory File (2)
Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel
Docket
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Mr. Jack Dolan
Federal Emergency Management Agency
Region I
J.W. McCormack Post Office and
Courthouse Building, Room 442
Boston, Massachusetts 02109

Mr. J. M. Peschel
Public Service Company of
New Hampshire
I'. O. Box 300
Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Congressman Nicholas Mavroules U.S. House of Representatives 70 Washington Street Salem, Massachusetts 01970 John P. Arnold, Attorney General
G. Dana Bisbee, Associate Attorney
General
Attorney General's Office
25 Capitol Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Mr. J. F. Opeka Northeast Utilities P. O. Box 270 Hartford, Connecticut 06141-0270 Stephen G. Burns, Director
Office of Commission Appellate
Adjudication
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555