

SEABROOK STATION
Engineering Office:
1671 Worcester Road
Framingham, Massachusetts 01701
(617) - 872 - 8100

May 16, 1984 SBN- 656 T.F. Q2.2.2

United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Region I 631 Park Avenue King of Prussia, PA 19406

Attention:

Mr. Richard W. Starostecki, Director

Division of Project and Resident Programs

References:

(a) Construction Permits CPPR-135 and CPPR-136, Docket Nos. 50-443 and 50-444

(b) Telecon of April 18, 1984, G. Tsouderos (YAEC) to

W. R. Borchardt (NRC, Region I)

Subject:

10CFR50.55(e) Report; Westinghouse Type SA-1 Differential Relays

Dear Sir:

On April 18, 1984, we reported a 10CFR50.55(e) deficiency [Reference(b)] regarding Westinghouse Type SA-1 differential relays. The following is our interim report concerning this subject.

## Description of Deficiency

IE Information Notices 83-63 and 83-63 Supplement 1 described the following deficiencies, identified in Westinghouse Type SA-1 differential relays:

- O Defective silicon-controlled rectifiers (SCR), manufactured by S. T. Semicon for Westinghouse. These defective SCRs could cause random trip-out.
- o Defective tantalum capacitors. These capacitors, which are part of a printed circuit module, could leak electrolyte, thus affecting integrity of other components in the module.
- o Insufficient Surge Withstand Capability (SWC). This insufficiency could make the relays susceptible to electrical noise with insipient incorrect trip signals.

## Safety Implications

This type of relay is used in the Seabrook Design and is part of the protection for the emergency diesel generators. The problems identified above could lead to either inadvertent operation of the relay, or malfunction of the relay if it is called to operate; the result could be degradation of the on-site emergency power supply.

8405300090 840516 PDR ADDCK 05000443 United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission May 16, 1984
Attention: Mr. Richard W. Starostecki, Director Page 2

Corrective Action

The relays used at Seabrook could potentially contain the defective tantalum capacitors, and could be susceptible to electric noise because of insufficient surge withstand capability.

The relays used at Seabrook do not have SCRs manufactured by S. T. Semicon, therefore, no corrective action is required for this deficiency.

We plan to correct the applicable deficiencies based on manufacturers' recommendations. Necessary replacement parts have been ordered, and preliminary information indicates long deliveries. Completion of the corrective action is estimated to be September of 1984.

This letter is being filed pursuant to the interim reporting provisions

Very truly yours,

YANKEE ATOMIC ELECTRIC COMPANY

J. DeVincentis Engineering Manager

GTs/kg

of 10CFR50.55(e)(3).

cc: Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Service List

Director, Office of Inspection and Enforcement U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

William S. Jordan, III, Esquire Harmon & Weiss 1725 I Street, N.W. Suite 506 Washington, DC 20006

Roy P. Lessy, Jr., Esquire Office of the Executive Legal Director U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Robert A. Backus, Esquire 116 Lowell Street P.O. Box 516 Mancehster, NH 03105

Philip Ahrens, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Department of the Attorney General Augusta, ME 04333

Mr. John B. Tanzer
Designated Representative of
the Town of Hampton
5 Morningside Drive
Hampton, NH 03842

Roberta C. Pevear
Designated Representative of
the Town of Hampton Falls
Drinkwater Road
Hampton Falls, NH 03844

Mrs. Sandra Gavutis
Designated Representative of
the Town of Kensington
RFD 1
East Kingston, NH 03827

Jo Ann Shotwell, Esquire
Assistant Attorney General
Environmental Protection Bureau
Department of the Attorney General
One Ashburton Place, 19th Floor
Boston, MA 02108

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510 (Attn: Tom Burack)

Diana P. Randall 70 Collins Street SEabrook, NH 03874

Donald E. Chick Town Manager Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, NH 03833 Brentwood Board of Selectmen RED Dalton Road Brentwood, New Hampshire 03833

Edward F. Meany Designated Representative of the Town of Rye 155 Washington Road Rye, NH 03870

Calvin A. Canney City Manager City Hall 126 Daniel Street Portsmouth, NH 03801

Dana Bisbee, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Office of the Attorney General 208 State House Annex Concord, NH 03301

Anne Verge, Chairperson Board of Selectmen Town Hall South Hampton, NH 03842

Patrick J. McKeon Selectmen's Office 10 Central Road Rye, NH 03870

Carole F. Kagan, Esq.
Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Mr. Angie Machiros Chairman of the Board of Selectmen Town of Newbury Newbury, MA 01950

Town Manager's Office Town Hall - Friend Street Amesbury, Ma. 01913

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey 1 Pillsbury Street Concord, NH 03301 (Attn: Herb Boynton)

Richard E. Sullivan, Mayor City Hall Newburyport, MA 01950

SECSIAED-REDIEN &