DCRO16

Docket Nos. 50-313 and 50-368

Mr. John M. Griffin, Vice President Nuclear Operations Arkansas Power and Light Company P. O. Box 551 Little Rock, Arkansas 72203

Dear Mr. Griffin:

Distribution Docket File Reading File NRC PDR ORNSTEIN L PDR OELD ACRS 10 RLee Gray Files GVissing JMiller ORB#3 Rdq JSto1z DEisenhut JTaylor PKreutzer RIngram EJordan

The NRC staff is currently addressing a Commissioner's comments concerning the Emergency Operations Facility (EOF) for Arkansas Nuclear One (ANO). Specifically, we are addressing the feasibility and cost of upgrading the primary EOF for ANO to a radiation protection factor (PF) of 5.

As discussed with members of your staff, the Commission is reviewing the proposed staff approval of your position concerning the PF of the primary EOF and the location of the backup EOF for ANO. Our assessment of the feasibility and cost of upgrading the primary EOF for ANO will be one of the major factors considered by the Commission in deciding whether it agrees with the staff approval of your position concerning the EOF. We are requesting your assistance in this matter. Your response is requested no later than March 2, 1984, in order to expedite the NRC review.

The reporting and/or recordkeeping requirements contained in this letter affect fewer than ten respondents; therefore, OMB clearance is not required under P.L. 96-511.

Please contact your Project Managers, G. Vissing or R. Lee, if you have any questions concerning this request.

Sincerely,

John F. Stolz, Chicf Operating Reactors No. 4 Division of Licensing

James R. Miller, Chief Operating Reactors No. 3 Division of Licensing

cc: See next page

ORB#4:DL PKadambi 02/ /84 ORD#3:02 RSLee 02/1/#84 ORB#4:DL GV#ssing;ef 02/8 /84

JStold 02//0/84 ORB#3:DL JMiller 02/1/84 Arkansas Power & Light Company

cc w/enclosure(s):

Mr. John R. Marshall Manager, Licensing Arkansas Power & Light Company P. O. Box 551 Little Rock, Arkansas 72203

Mr. James M. Levine General Manager Arkansas Nuclear One P. O. Box 608 Russellville, Arkansas 72801

Mr. Leonard Joe Callan U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission P. O. Box 2090 Russellville, Arkansas 72801

Mr. Robert B. Borsum
Babcock & Wilcox
Nuclear Power Generation Division
Suite 220, 7910 Woodmont Avenue
Bethesda, Maryland 20814

Mr. Nicholas S. Reynolds Bishop, Liberman, Cook, Purcell & Reynolds 1200 17th Street, NW Washington, DC 20036

Honorable Ermil Grant Acting County Judge of Pope County Pope County Courthouse Russellville, Arkansas 72801

Regional Radiation Representative EPA Region VI 1201 Elm Street Dallas, Texas 75270

Mr. John T. Collins, Regional Administrator U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Region IV 611 Ryan Plaza Drive, Suite 1000 Arlington, Texas 76011

Mr. Frank Wilson
Director, Division of Environmental
Health Protection
Department of Health
Arkansas Department of Health
4815 West Markham Street
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201

cc:

Mr. John Marshall Manager, Licensing Arkansas Power & Light Company P. O. Box 551 Little Rock, Arkansas 72203

Mr. James M. Levine General Manager Arkansas Nuclear One P. O. Box 608 Russellville, Arkansas 72801

Mr. Robert B. Borsum
Babcock & Wilcox
Nuclear Power Generation Division
Suite 220
7910 Woodmont Avenue
Bethesda, Maryland 20814

Nicholas S. Reynolds, Esq. c/o Bishop, Liberman, Cook, Purcell & Reynolds 1200 Seventeenth Street, N.W. Washington, D. C. 20036

Mr. Charles B. Brinkman
Manager - Washington Nuclear
Operations
C-E Power Systems
7910 Woodmont Avenue
Bethesda, Maryland 20814

Regional Administrator (2)
Nuclear Regulatory Commission, Region IV
Office of Executive Director for Operations
611 Ryan Plaza Drive, Suite 1000
Arlington, Texas 76011

Mr. J. Callan U.S. NRC P. O. Box 209C Russellville, Arkansas 72801 U.S. Environmental Protection Agency Region VI Office ATTN: Regional Radiation Representative 1201 Elm Street Dallas, Texas 75270

Mr. Frank Wilson
Director, Division of Environmental
Health Protection
Arkansas Department of Health
4815 West Markman Street
Little Rock, Arkansas 72201