

Public Service of New Hampshire

SEABROOK STATION
Engineering Office:
1671 Worcester Road
Framingham, Massachusetts 01701
(617) - 873 - 8100

September 9, 1983 SBN- 560 T.F. B7.1.7

United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D. C. 20555

Attention:

Mr. George W. Knighton, Chief

Licensing Branch No. 3 Division of Licensing

References:

- (a) Construction Permits CPPR-135 and CPPR-136, Docket Nos. 50-443 and 50-444
- (b) PSNH Letter, dated December 28, 1982, "Request for Authorization to Utilize the Dayton Bar Grip System at Seabrook Station", J. DeVircentis to G. W. Knighton
- (c) USNRC Letter, dated July 8, 1983, "Request for Additional Information", G. W. Knighton to R. J. Harrison

Subject:

Withdrawal of Request to Utilize the Dayton Bar Grip System at Seabrook Station

Dear Sir:

We had a number of discussions with your staff in 1982 which culminated in our submittal of Reference (b), wherein we requested authorization to utilize the Dayton Bar Grip method of reinforcing bar splicing at Seabrook Station. In Reference (c), you forwarded several Requests for Additional Information which were responded to at a meeting with the Structural Engineering Branch and Division of Licensing representatives on July 12, 1983.

Given the currently advanced status of rebar splicing at Seabrook Station, we have determined that the time required to complete the engineering necessary to respond to remaining NRC concerns and the subsequent NRC review will not be accomplished soon enough to justify continued pursuit of this approval. Please discontinue all review activity related to the Public Service Company of New Hampshire request to utilize Dayton Bar Grip at Seabrook Station.

Very truly yours,

YANKEE ATOMIC ELECTRIC COMPANY

8309140087 830909 PDR ADDCK 05060443 A PDR

John DeVincentis Project Manager

John a Concertis

ALL/PI

cc: Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Service List

300'

William S. Jordan, III, Esquire Harmon & Weiss 1725 I Street, N.W. Suite 506 Washington, DC 20006

Roy P. Lessy, Jr., Esquire Office of the Executive Legal Director U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Robert A. Backus, Esquire 116 Lowell Street P.O. Box 516 Mancehster, NH 03105

Philip Ahrens, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Department of the Attorney General Augusta, ME 04333

Mr. John B. Tanzer Designated Representative of the Town of Hampton 5 Morningside Drive Hampton, NH 03842

Roberta C. Pevear Designated Representative of the Town of Hampton Falls Drinkwater Road Hampton Falls, NH 03844

Mrs. Sandra Gavutis
Designated R presentative of
the Town of Kensington
RFD 1
East Kingston, NH 03827

Jc Ann Shotwell, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Environmental Protection Bureau Department of the Attorney General One Ashburton Place, 19th Floor Boston, MA 02108

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey U.S. Senate Washington, DC 20510 (Attn: Tom Burack)

Diana P. Randall 70 Collins Street SEabrook, NH 03874

Donald E. Chick Town Manager Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, NH 03833 Brentwood Board of Selectmen RED Dalton Road Brentwood, New Hampshire 03833

Edward F. Meany Designated Representative of the Town of Rye 155 Washington Road Rye, NH 03870

Calvin A. Canney City Manager City Hall 126 Daniel Street Portsmouth, NH 03801

Dana Bisbee, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Office of the Attorney General 208 State House Annex Concord, NH 03842

Anne Verge, Chairperson Board of Selectmen Town Hall South Hampton, NH 03842

Patrick J. McKeon Selectmen's Office 10 Central Road Rye, NH 03870

David R. Lewis, Esquire Atomic Safety and Licensing Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Mr. Angie Machiros Chairman of the Board of Selectmen Town of Newbury Newbury, MA 01950

Maynard B. Pearson 40 Monroe Street Amesbury, MA 01913

Senator Gordon J. Humphrey 1 Pillsbury Street Concord, NH 03301 (Attn: Herb Boynton)

Richard E. Sullivan, Mayor City Kall Newburyport, MA 01950