

## Public Service of New Hampshire

SEABROOK STATION Engineering Office: 1671 Worcester Road Framingham, Massachusetts 01701 (617) - 872 - 8100

March 9, 183

SBN-487 T.F. B7.1.2

United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D. C. 20555

Attention:

Mr. George W. Knighton, Chief

Licensing Branch No. 3 Division of Licensing

References:

- (a) Construction Permits CPPR-135 and CPPR-136, Docket Nos. 50-443 and 50-444
- (b) "Applicants' Eighth Motion for Summary Disposition (Contention NECNP I.A.2)," filed February 11, 1983, by R. K. Gad III and T. G. Dignan Jr.

Subject:

PSNH Commitment to Qualify Class 1E Electric Valve Operators

Installed Inside Containment

Dear Sir:

In Reference (b), the Affidavit of John M. O'Connor on NECNP I.A.2 stated; "all Class 1E electric valve operators installed inside containment will be qualified per the guidance provided in Regulatory Guides 1.73 (Rev. 0, 1/74) and 1.89 (Rev. 0, 11/74) and NUREG-0588."

The purpose of this letter is to appraise you of our above commitment as it is pertinent to, what we expect will be an open item in the Safety Evaluation Report, namely, Environmental Qualification of Safety-Related Electrical Equipment.

Very truly yours,

YANKEE ATOMIC ELECTRIC COMPANY

David a. machand

J. DeVincentis

Project Manager

ALL/fsf

cc: Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Service List

8303150331 830309 PDR ADDCK 05000443

## ASLB SERVICE LIST

Rep. Beverly Hollingworth Coastal Chamber of Commerce 209 Winnacunnet Road Hampton, NH 03842

William S. Jordan, III, Esquire Harmon & Weiss 1725 I Street, N.W. Suite 506 Washington, DC 20006

E. Tupper Kinder, Esquire Assistant Attorney General Office of the Attorney General 208 State House Annex Concord, NH 03301

Roy P. Lessy, Jr., Esquire Office of the Executive Legal Director U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Robert A. Backus, Esquire 116 Lowell Street P.O. Box 516 Manchester, NH 03105

Philip Ahrens, Esquire
Assistant Attorney General
Department of the Attorney General
Augusta, ME 04333

Divid L. Lewis
Atomic Safety and Licensing
Board Panel
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Rm. E/W-439
Washington, DC 20555

Mr. John B. Tanzer
Designated Representative of
the Town of Hampton
5 Morningside Drive
Hampton, NH 03842

Roberta C. Pevear Designated Representative of the Town of Hampton Falls Drinkwater Road Hampton Falls, NH 03844

Mrs. Sandra Gavutis
Designated Representative of
the Town of Kensington
RFD 1
East Kingston, NH 03827

Edward J. McDermott, Esquire Sanders and McDermott Professional Association 408 Lafayette Road Hampton, NH 03842

Jo Ann Shotwell, Esquire
Assistant Attorney General
Environmental Protection Bureau
Department of the Attorney General
One Ashburton Place, 19th Floor
Boston, MA 02108

Ms. Olive L. Tash
Designated Representative of
the Town of Brentwood
R.F.D. 1, Dalton Road
Brentwood, NH 03833

Edward F. Meany Designated Representative of the Town of Rye 155 Washington Road Rye, NH 03870

Calvin A. Canney City Manager City Hall 126 Daniel Street Portsmouth, NH 03801