March 7, 1983

Helen Hoyt, Esq., Chairman Administrative Judge Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

Dr. Jerry Harbour
Administrative Judge
Atomic Safety and Licensing
Board Panel
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Dr. Emmeth A. Luebke Administrative Judge Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555

In the Matter of
PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY OF NEW HAMPSHIRE, et al.
(Seabrook Station, Units 1 and 2)
Docket Nos. 50-443 OL and 50-444 OL

Dear Administrative Judges:

Today the Staff is issuing its Safety Evaluation Report, NUREG-0896. Inasmuch as this Board orally granted NECKN's motion, dated March 3, 1983, (but received March 4, 1983) on March 4, 1983 which relates to the issuance of NUREG-0896, the Staff is issuing this document without a printed cover, which will save approximately one week in printing time. The document, however, is final.

In December of 1982, the parties were furnished with a copy of NUREG-0895, the Final Environmental Statement. A copy of this document is also enclosed for the Board's use.

The Staff requests the opportunity to file a response to "NECNP Motion for Deferral of Consideration of Motions for Summary Disposition or for Dismissal" filed March 4, 1983. At the same time, NECNP also filed a motion to stay its obligation to answer pending summary disposition motions, which motion

was orally granted by the Licensing Board prior to receipt of said motion by the Staff.

Sincerely,

Roy P. Lessy Deputy Assistant Chief Hearing Counsel

cc: Edward F. Meany
Sandra Gavutis
Jo Ann Shotwell
Nicholas J. Costello
Robert A. Backus, Esq.
Brian P. Cassidy
Lawrence M. Edelman, Esq.
Atomic Safety and Licensing
Appeal Panel
Jane Doughty
William S. Jordan, III, Esq.
Phillip Ahrens, Esq.
Edward J. McDermott, Esq.
Sen. Robert L. Preston
Letty Hett

Roberta C. Pevear
E. Tupper Kinder, Esq.
Beverly Hollingworth
Docketing and Service Section
Letty Hett
Wilfred L. Sanders, Esq.
Thomas G. Dignan, Jr., Esq.
Atomic Safety and Licensing
Board Panel
David R. Lewis
Ellyn R. Weiss, Esq.
Donald L. Herzberger, MD
Ann C. Thompson, Esq.
John B. Tanzer
Patrick J. McKeon

DISTRIBUTION

Lessy Perlis Patterson McDonald Reis Christenbury Murray Olmstead Lieberman 0ELD FF (2) NRC Docket File: PDR/LPDR G.Knighton 128 L.Wheeler 128 J. Sears EW-359 Chron (2)

			0307
OFC :OELD	:OELD	:	:
NAME :RLessy/dkw	:EReis CM	:	
DATE :03/ 7/83	:03/7/83	*	: