APR 2 9 1994 Docket No. 50-443 Mr. Ted C. Feigenbaum Senior Vice President and Chief Nuclear Officer North Atlar ic Energy Service Corporation Post Office Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874 Dear Mr. Feigenbaum: SUBJECT: NRC Security Inspection No. 50-443/94-07 (04/18-21/94) This letter refers to the above subject security inspection of Seabrook Station, Unit 1, by Messrs. R. J. Albert and G. C. Smith of this office. Areas examined during the inspection are described in the enclosed inspection report. Within these areas, the inspection consisted of security activity observations, interviews, and selective examinations of procedures and records. Our preliminary findings were discussed by Mr. Albert with Mr. W. DiProfio and other members of your staff at the conclusion of the inspection. We found that your physical security program was effective and directed toward assuring public health and safety. Continued excellent management support for the program was evident. No safety concerns or violations of regulatory requirements were identified. Thank you for your cooperation. Sincerely, Original Signed By; James H. Joyner James H. Joyner, Chief Facility Radiological Safety and Safeguards Branch Division of Radiation Safety and Safeguards Enclosure: NRC Region I Inspection Report No. 50-443/94-07 OFFICIAL RECORD COPY 9405090053

cc w/encl:

- B. L. Drawbridge, Executive Director of Nuclear Production
- W. DiProfio, Station Manager
- R. Hallisey, Director, Dept. of Public Health, Commonwealth of Massachusetts
- S. Woodhouse, Legislative Assistant
- T. Rapone, Massachusetts Executive Office of Public Safety
- D. Tefft, Administrator, Bureau of Radiological Health, State of New Hampshire

Public Document Room (PDR)

Local Public Document Room (LPDR)

Nuclear Safety Information Center (NSIC)

K. Abraham, PAO (2)

NRC Resident Inspector

State of New Hampshire, SLO

Commonwealth of Massachusetts, SLO Designee

Seabrook Service List

bcc w/encl:

Region I Docket Room (with concurrences)

J. Rogge, DRP

bcc w/encl (VIA E-MAIL):

V. McCree, OEDO

A. DeAgazio, PD I-4, NRR

J. Stolz, PD I-4, NRR

M. Shannon, NRR/ILPB

RI:DRSS R3A Albert 95/34/94 REDRSS Smith 6524/94

RI:DRSS Q McCabe 03/18/94 RI:DRSS Joyner 00/19/94

SEABROOK SERVICE LIST

Thomas Dignan, Esquire
John A. Ritscher, Esquire
Ropes and Gray
One International Place
Boston, Massachusetts 02110-2624

Mr. J. F. Opeka Northeast Utilities P. O. Box 270 Hartford, Connecticut 06141-0270

Mr. A. David Rodham, Director
Massachusetts Emergency Management Agency
400 Worchester Road, Box 1496
Framingham, Massachusetts 01701-0134
ATTN: Mr. James B. Muckerheide
State Nuclear Engineer

Robert Backus, Esquire
Backus, Meyer and Solomon
116 Lowell Street
Manchester, New Hampshire 03106

Mr. T. L. Harpster North Atlantic Energy Service Corporation Post Office Box 300 Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Seacoast Anti-Pollution League 5 Market Street Portsmouth, New Hampshire 03801

Mr. David W. Graham
Fuel Supply Planning Manager
Massachusetts Municipal Wholesale
Electric Company
P. O. Box 426
Ludlow, Massachusetts 01056

Gerald Garfield, Esquire
Day, Berry and Howard
City Place
Hartford, Connecticut 06103-3499

Diane Curran, Esquire Harmon and Weiss 2001 S Street, N.W. Suite 430 Washington, D.C. 20009

Regional Administrator, Region I U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 475 Allendale Road King of Prussia, Pennsylvania 19406

John P. Arnold, Attorney General
G. Dana Bisbee, Associate Attorney
General
Attorney General's Office
25 Capitol Street
Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Mr. R. M. Kacich Northeast Utilities Service Company P. O. Box 270 Hartford, Connecticut 06141-0270

Office of the Attorney General One Ashburton Place 20th Floor Boston, Massachusetts 02108

Town of Exeter 10 Front Street Exeter, New Hampshire 03823

Stephen G. Burns, Director
Office of Commission Appellate
Adjudication
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Board of Selectmen Town of Amesbury Town Hall Amesbury, Massachusetts 01913 Resident Inspector
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Seabrook Nuclear Power Station
Post Office Box 1149
Seabrook, New Hampshire 03874

Jane Spector
Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
825 North Capital Street, N.E.
Room 8105
Washington, D.C. 20426

Mr. George L. Iverson, Director New Hampshire Office of Emergency Management State Office Park South 107 Pleasant Street Concord, New Hampshire 03301

Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, D.C. 20555 Mr. Peter Brann Assistant Attorney General State House, Station #6 Augusta, Maine 04333

Adjudicatory File (2)
Atomic Safety and Licensing Board Panel
Docket
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, D.C. 20555

Mr. Jack Dolan
Federal Emergency Management Agency
Region I
J.W. McCormack Post Office and
Courthouse Building, Room 442
Boston, Massachusetts 02109