BEFORE THE COMMISSION

In the Matter of

METROPOLITAN EDISON COMPANY, ET AL.)

Docket No. 50-289 (Restart)

(Three Mile Island Nuclear Station,)
Unit No. 1)

NRC STAFF RESPONSE TO OPPORTUNITY TO COMMENT

James M. Cutchin IV Counsel for NRC Staff

Certified By

DESIGNATED ORIGINAL

December 30, 1982

*

8301030003 821230 PDR ADDCK 05000289 G PDR

*

BEFORE THE COMMISSION

In the Matter of

METROPOLITAN EDISON COMPANY, ET AL.)

Docket No. 50-289 (Restart)

(Three Mile Island Nuclear Station,) Unit No. 1)

NRC STAFF RESPONSE TO OPPORTUNITY TO COMMENT

James M. Cutchin IV Counsel for NRC Staff

December 30, 1982

BEFORE THE COMMISSION

In the Matter of)) METROPOLITAN EDISON COMPANY, ET AL.) (Three Mile Island Nuclear Station,) Unit No. 1)

Docket No. 50-289 (Restart)

NRC STAFF RESPONSE TO OPPORTUNITY TO COMMENT

By a Memorandum dated December 20, 1982 from Samuel J. Chilk, Secretary of the Commission, the transcript of the December 17th Commission meeting at which the Staff provided a briefing on Board Notification 82-118A, "TMI-1 Seismic Capability of the Auxiliary Feedwater System," was transmitted to representatives of the parties to the TMI-1 Restart Proceeding. Parties were allowed until December 30, 1982 to submit comments on the matters discussed at the December 17th Commission meeting.

The Staff has nothing to add to the comments that it made at the meeting.

Respectfully submitted,

James M. Cutchin IV Counsel for NRC Staff

Dated at Bethesda, Maryland this 30th day of December, 1982

BEFORE THE COMMISSION

In the Matter of

METROPOLITAN EDISON COMPANY, ET AL.)

Docket No. 50-289 (Restart)

(Three Mile Island Nuclear Station,) Unit No. 1)

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that copies of "NRC STAFF RESPONSE TO OPPORTUNITY TO COMMENT" in the above-captioned proceeding have been served on the following by deposit in the United States mail, first class, or, as indicated by an asterisk, by deposit in the Nuclear Regulatory Commission's internal mail system, this 30th day of December, 1982:

- *Samuel J. Chilk Secretary of the Commission U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555
- *Leonard Bickwit, General Counsel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555
- *Ivan W. Smith Administrative Judge Atomic Safety & Licensing Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

Dr. Walter H. Jordan Administrative Judge 881 W. Outer Drive Oak Ridge, Tennessee 37830

Dr. Linda W. Little Administrative Judge 5000 Hermitage Drive Raleigh, North Carolina 27612

*Gary J. Edles, Chairman Atomic Safety & Licensing Appeal Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

- *Christine N. Kohl Administrative Judge Atomic Safety & Licensing Appeal Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555
- *John H. Buck Administrative Judge Atomic Safety & Licensing Appeal Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

George F. Troworidge, Esq. Shaw, Pittman, Potts & Trowbridge 1800 M Street, NW Washington, DC 20036

Robert Adler, Esq. 505 Executive House P. O. Box 2357 Harrisburg, PA 17120

Mr. Thomas Gerusky Bureau of Radiation Protection Dept. of Environmental Resources P. O. Box 2063 Harrisburg, PA 17120 Gary L. Milhollin, Esq. 4412 Greenwich Parkway, NW Washington, DC 20007

Mr. Marvin I. Lewis 6504 Bradford Terrace Philadelphia, PA 19149

Mr. C. W. Smyth, Supervisor Licensing TMI-1 Three Mile Island Nuclear Station P. O. Box 480 Middletown, PA 17057

Ms. Marjorie Aamodt R.D. #5 Coatesville, PA 19320

Gail Phelps ANGRY/TMI PIRC 1037 Maclay Street Harrisburg, PA 17103

Allen R. Carter, Chairman Joint Legislative Committee on Energy Post Office Box 142 Suite 513 Senate Gressette Building Columbia, South Carolina 29202

Chauncey Kepford Judith Johnsrud Environmental Coalition on Nuclear Power 433 Orlando Avenue State College, PA 16801

Ms. Frieda Berryhill, Chairman Coalition for Nuclear Power Plant Postponement 2610 Grendon Drive Wilmington, Delaware 19808

Mr. Henry D. Hukill Vice President GPU Nuclear Corporation Post Office Box 480 Middletown, PA 17057

Michael McBride, Esq. LeBoeuf, Lamb, Leiby & McRae Suite 1100 1333 New Hampshire Avenue, NW Washington, DC 20036 Honorable Mark Cohen 512 D-3 Main Capital Building Harrisburg, PA 17120

William S. Jordan, III, Esq. Harmon & Weiss 1725 I Street, NW Suite 506 Washington, DC 20006

John Levin, Esq. Pennsylvania Public Utilities Comm. Box 3265 Harrisburg, PA 17120

Jordan D. Cunningham, Esq. Fox, Farr and Cunningham 2320 North 2nd Street Harrisburg, PA 17110

Louise Bradford Three Mile Island Alert 1011 Green Street Harrisburg, PA 17102

Ms. Ellyn R. Weiss Harmon & Weiss 1725 I Street, NW Suite 506 Washington, DC 20006

Mr. Steven C. Sholly Union of Concerned Scientists 1346 Connecticut Avenue, NW Dupont Circle Building, Suite 1101 Washington, DC 20036

*Dr. Lawrence R. Quarles Atomic Safety & Licensing Appeal Board U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

*Judge Reginald L. Gotchy
Atomic Safety & Licensing Appeal
Board
U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission
Washington, DC 20555

Ms. Jane Lee R.D. 3; Box 3521 Etters, PA 17319 David E. Cole Smith & Smith, P.L. Riverside Law Center 2931 N. Front Street Harrisburg, PA 17110

Michael W. Maupin, Esquire Hunton & Williams 707 East Main Street P. O. Box 1535 Richmond, VA 23212

*Docketing & Service Section Office of the Secretary U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555 *Atomic Safety & Licensing Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

*Atomic Safety and Licensing Appeal Board Panel U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555

James M. Cutchin IV Counsel for NRC Staff